No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Charlecote , Stratford Upon Avon, CV35 9EW
Nestled alongside Charlecote Park the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel is an idyllic rural retreat. This beautiful estate is comprised of attractively converted farm buildings and two acres of landscaped grounds. We are perfectly situated for exploring Warwick, Leamington Spa and Cotswold villages as well as Stratford Upon Avon, the birth place of the great William Shakespeare.

While staying at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Charlecote Restaurant choosing from our Table d'Hôte or À La Carte menus, enjoy and relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar. Our leisure facilities include a tennis court and children's play area.

We also cater for the hosting of special occasions such as Weddings, Corporate Events, Conferences and Social Gatherings.

So whether you’re looking for the perfect setting for that special day or just a relaxing countryside getaway, you’re assured of a warm welcome, friendly service and an enjoyable stay at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel.
Picture of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, Stratford Upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing breakfast
The room was lovely and the hotel's setting very nice--and convenient for a day out in Stratford. The breakfast, however, was very disappointing for a hotel of this price/reputation. Service finishes at 10am and we arrived at 9.15am, thinking this would be plenty of time to eat. However, it ended up being a rushed and unpleasant experience. A waitress visited us three times, before finally taking the order for hot food at 9.55am. First, she took a tea/coffee/toast order, telling us "we'll put your [food] order in soon". She then returned, some time later, to ask if anyone had taken our food order. When we said no one had, she replied that someone would come soon; she didn't take the order herself. The same waitress returned a third time, asking if we'd been served yet. We hadn't. She apologised that she had lost her order pad (perhaps this was the reason she hadn't taken an order earlier?), but took a verbal order. The food subsequently arrived (10am), leaving little time to eat and enjoy a breakfast, before we had to return to the room to collect our bags ahead of a 10.30am checkout. (We ended up checking out about twenty minutes late, but weren't charged, so perhaps the reception knows about the issues with the breakfast service.) Yes, it was busy when we arrived at 9.15am, but it quietened quickly: the problem wasn't the number of customers (surely they are used to a busy service on a Sunday morning?), but there seemed to be no system for keeping track of hot-food orders. The staff weren't rude (and our server apologised for the delay), just incompetent.
The food, when it arrived, was mediocre in terms of quality and quantity. The smoked salmon was OK, but the meat in the 'full English' was not particularly good. The choice/quality of the cold 'help yourself' buffet was also disappointing. There were a few cereals, two types of fruit and porridge. There were no yoghurts, pastries etc. I don't know if you were supposed to ask your server for cold items in addition to the limited offerings of the buffet? But the service was such that there'd have been little point in doing so.

Reviewed by
Gemma C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic last minute escape

Reviewed by
Jessica S

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The hotel is situated near to Charlecote Park National Trust property in a quiet parkland. The spacious room was comfortable, with coffee making facilities, large comfortable bed, TV and good sized bathroom. Breakfast included cereals, full cooked breakfast with juices, tea or coffee. A very enjoyable stay - 5 miles from Stratford-upon-Avon.

Reviewed by
M Swift

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed here before, rooms are excellent , but I found that the breakfast quality had now fallen below an exceptable standard, and needs imediate remedy

Reviewed by
colin a

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent

Reviewed by
C Otty

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay made special by the staff
We got a good late price for the 2 nights. The hotel is startingto look as though it is due for a renovation, although we were in the block across the car park. However, the attitude of the staff made the stay very pleasant - they were helpful, cheerful and always efficient. We had a small problem with a missing handle in the bathroom, but this was quickly fixed. Being told that our hotel key card would also get us half-price admission to Charleco te Park was a bonus.

Reviewed by
Chris A

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
excellent
book through late rooms very good deal
large room
good bed
good curtains
no AC but fan provided
food excellent even though we did not decide to eat until late
sentimental as I remember this as a farm where my dad worked
easy to get to but quite village

Reviewed by
J O'Donnell

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly,helpful reception staff,went an extra mile to accomodate us for an extra night when we were tired and wanted to stay.Food excellent with friendly service.

Reviewed by
veronica bessey

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big Room but nothing special and the food was average
Fantastic looking hotel from the outside. I stayed in 105 which is a premier room but nothing special at all. was quite large wth nice velux windows but nothing much else. Bathroom had cracked plaster and insice the windows needed a clean. Was nice and I would go back but wouldnt pay the extra for the room. Breakfast wasnt great either. Dinner was alright but again nothing special.

Reviewed by
Matthew Reid

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Hygiene
Hotel stuck in lovely countryside location. Superior room was comfortable and quiet although not overly clean. Almost like a little apartment. On the downside, we were led to our breakfast table only to have to brush away the crumbs from the previous occupants. Also, my wife ordered a medium boiled egg. It arrived soft. We ordered a harder boiled egg and the next one came back even softer. Surely a boiled egg is not too much to ask. Reasonable value for money but won't stay again knowing the Hygiene Food rating is 4.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next