No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Charlecote , Stratford Upon Avon, CV35 9EW
Nestled alongside Charlecote Park the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel is an idyllic rural retreat. This beautiful estate is comprised of attractively converted farm buildings and two acres of landscaped grounds. We are perfectly situated for exploring Warwick, Leamington Spa and Cotswold villages as well as Stratford Upon Avon, the birth place of the great William Shakespeare.

While staying at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Charlecote Restaurant choosing from our Table d'Hôte or À La Carte menus, enjoy and relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar. Our leisure facilities include a tennis court and children's play area.

We also cater for the hosting of special occasions such as Weddings, Corporate Events, Conferences and Social Gatherings.

So whether you’re looking for the perfect setting for that special day or just a relaxing countryside getaway, you’re assured of a warm welcome, friendly service and an enjoyable stay at the Charlecote Pheasant Hotel.
Picture of The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, Stratford Upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant surprise and the pheasant
booked this hotel blind-had not used laterooms before. was expecting a four poster as shown with an executive booking and was surprised (if not disappointed)when we arrived to find it was a normal bed. however, the bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. the room itself was amazing-absolutely huge, warm and just wonderful. the shower room was large also and had individual smellies(which i like!!). extra supplies of coffee were easily obtainable. customer service was acceptable-didnt really need anything apart from more coffee and everyone was friendly. we didn't dine at the hotel as there wasn't really anything suitable to our taste or requirements(we are quite fussy eaters) and have to be honest-the breakfast was tasty but not so much choice/amount. however, we had a great stay and are hoping to return in the future.

Reviewed by
h cox

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable rooms with all the amenities you would expect. Hotel mainly for holidaymakers as full breakfast not served until 8.00 am which is too late for anyone staying on business

Reviewed by
Peter S

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, excellent staff, excellent food a pleasure to stay here

Reviewed by
H Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
We stayed in Room 103 an alleged Superior room for a romantic break. Unfortunately we both found the photos on Late Rooms to be a little "glossy". The room size was good and spacious with lots of storage, and had a separate seating area and largish TV. The furnishings were sparse and the lighting was terrible - halogen bulbs in the ceiling light and wall lights. The dimmer switch didn't do an awful lot to help the ambience of the room.
The carpets were originally a beige colour, but were heavily stained. So much so that neither of us dared to walk on it in bare feet.
The bathroom was large, though the bath with shower enclosure were miniscule. The bath had a large chip in it at the top end.
The tea and coffee making facilities were OK, though somewhat mean on the amounts of sachets provided. I must admit to not liking the pods of milk / creamer supplied in many hotels and was disappointed that this hotel provided them. Reception did give us more when we asked for some though.
We gave having evening meals a miss as the prices were dear and seemed to be of the "ping cuisine" genre.
The bed was probably the most uncomfortable I've ever had the misfortune to have slept in - really soft and unsupportive.
Noise from an air conditioning fan nearby kept me awake most of both nights (I am quite a light sleeper though).
Breakfasts were mean on quantities. We opted for the Full English breakfast on both mornings we stayed at the hotel, which consisted of a spoonful of baked beans, a small sausage, an emaciated rasher of soggy bacon and an overcooked fried egg. Luckily toast and jams were in plentiful supply. The service wasn't what you'd call speedy on both mornings so do be prepared for a prolonged breakfast.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The room we stayed in was in a separate block about 100 yards from the main hotel and a bit of a trek too and fro especially in the rain.
The heating in the room didn't come on until after 7.00 pm and was quite chilly before then.
Noise of aircraft landing and taking off from the nearby airfield was a bit of an annoyance unless you are into "plane spotting".
All in all the hotel was mediocre, but I suppose you get what you pay for; £80 per night.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Thetford, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, nice reception & bar, average room, food not great
Managed to get a good low rate for a last minute 2 night stay, considerably less that the standard price. Good location in Charlecote with the pleasant Charlecote Manor accross the road, nice for a walk and imagine great for a picnic in the summer. Hotel first impressions were very good at reception but the room was average, generally clean, looking a little dated, cold until we found the radiator had been turned off. Comfy bed, good shower, small TV (would benefit from a stand as a little low when watching in bed). Food in restuarant was over priced and not very good, had to send a steak back as had been undercooked when asked for well done. Manager was apologetic and did refund the next day. Cooked breakfast was not the best but filled us up ready for the day. Generally OK and fine for the money paid, would not pay full price.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
The TV in the room is tiny otherwise I can't fault the place. It seems to specialise in coach tours so there was no late night disturbance from the other guests!

Reviewed by
Warren D

From Derby, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value. Friendly staff. My only query was the very early closure of the restaurant (7.15pm final orders). Otherwise a very good stay and I will book again.

Reviewed by
M Wood

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay for couple
Nice, clean and spacious; good customer care; room facilities as it is promised in website; totally satisfied.

Reviewed by
Enamul Omam

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience
This was a late booking and I was a little unsure what to expect given the mixed reviews this hotel has received. However everything was absolutely fine. We were checked in quickly, given a spacious room, the towels were soft and we had a good nights sleep. The service at breakfast was good and the cooked breakfast tasty. Parking was easy and near the room. The only problem was well intentioned, but incorrect info on the bus (18, X18) to Stratford which goes from right outside the hotel which meant we spent too long waiting in the cold when we could have been having a cuppa inside. This is a good bus to take (last one back at 23.27) if you don't want to drive - but it would help if the hotel kept copies of the bus timetable and familiarised themselves with it. Apart from that a thoroughly good experience and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Cosy Place to stay

Reviewed by
N HEVERON

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next