No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Michaels Manor

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Fishpool Street , St Albans, AL3 4RY
This beautiful country manor house 4 star hotel is set in a well manicured private garden including a lake and is a short walk from the city centre of St Albans - yet only 20 minutes from London by train. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled with award winning dining in a 110 seat conservatory-style restaurant overlooking the five acre garden. The hotel is perfect for dining/functions/banquets and weddings with an additional two private function rooms. St Michaels Manor has been owned by the Newling Ward family since 1965 who converted the property into an hotel. Since then it has been run by grandfather father and son with the family still taking an active role in the management refurbishment and continual improvement of the property. With a combination of modern and classical decor the family has created a relaxed and individual ambiance with the focus on excellent service. The current building dates back to 1530 and was laid on medieval foundations that can be traced back to the 11th century. The hotel is located in the historic Roman district of St Albans with its 70 listed buildings/old inns/mills and with the famous abbey/cathedral and Roman museum and amphitheatre only 10 minutes walk away. The magnificent hotel and gardens are perfectly positioned locally and provide the perfect backdrop for a relaxing and comfortable stay. With the two rosette Lake Restaurant popular with regular diners you will be in good and reputable company.
Picture of St Michaels Manor, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Very attractive location within easy walking distance of main features of interest and quiet.
Slightly spoilt by ghastly cheesy musak in restaurant which was totally unnecessary.

Reviewed by
David Huskisson

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting
Lovely hotel and fabulous grounds. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Only complaint was the hoovering of stairs outside the room at 8 o'clock in morning! But it didn't spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
Fran C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good City Centre Location & Amazing Grounds.
Hotel Good, with amazing grounds. Food good but Slow service for breakfast both mornings we stayed, waited 30 mins for order to be taken, despite two requests.
Still gave a 4 for Customer Service because Reception & Housekeeping staff excellent.

Reviewed by
G Stephenson

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant
Accommodation good. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Room lovely-clean, comfortable.
Breakfast. Oh dear. This is the second time we have stayed here and we thought the same last time. We did not complain then, but we did this time. We had 4 guests for breakfast. We waited to be seated while others were being shown to their table-no explanation or apology. When we eventually were seated we went up to the breakfast bar. No fruit juice, no glasses, no bowls. Quality of food poor for that standard of hotel We gave up waiting for things to be improved and went down into St. Albans, where we had a lovely breakfast costing less than our guests would have paid for theirs at St. Michael's Mount. The food certainly lets them down. We did get £20 off our bill.

Reviewed by
Joyce Edgell

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent retreat from the hustle and bustle of London
Great room and restaurant, friendly staff. Just outside the M25, outside busy London but close enough as well.

Reviewed by
F Bhojani

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient break
Mostly good report. Buffet breakfast was poor. Buffet selection was very limited. Cooked breakfast good. Some staff a little surly. Nevertheless we would stay there again as it is convenient for what we want. Water wouldn't exit the bath without completely removing the plug. No idea how to turn on the towel rail. Amused by the notice saying the towel rail might be hot!!

Reviewed by
Joyce Edgell

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
JULIE M

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay Review
The staff could not have done anymore to make my stay more pleasurable. They were warm, friendly, helpful and courteous. The hotel itself is a real treasure: charming both outside and in.
I was delighted with my room and would definitely book again.

Reviewed by
A Mcdonald

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful.
couldn't have been better

Reviewed by
j davies

From London colney, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a beautiful setting in a quiet and beautiful part of St Albans. The hotel itself is attractively laid out and very well maintained. The staff are attentive and polite. Breakfast is excellent and dinner is extremely good value. the bedrooms are attractive and comfortable. My only criticism is that the bathrooms in the cheaper rooms are small and do not have baths.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next