No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ambers Guest House Gatwick

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
7 Vicarage Lane Horley, Gatwick, RH6 8AR
The Ambers Guest House Gatwick is ideally located just 8 minutes' drive from London Gatwick airport, in the town of Horley. Central London is just 30 minutes away on the Gatwick Express or 45 minutes by commuter train from Horley.

Although The Ambers Guest House is very close to Gatwick Airport, it is not under the flight path therefore aircraft noise is not a problem as the guest house is situated on a quiet side road.

The guest house is situated near the centre of Horley with 15 guest rooms ranging from single, twin, double and family rooms all with en-suite bathrooms.

The guest house has recently been refurbished to an extremely high standard, and offers all the facilities you would expect including tea & coffee making facilities, confectioneries and colour televisions in all rooms. Free wi-fi connection is available. Ironing board, hair-dryers, cots and many other services are available on request. We pride ourselves on offering you a warm welcome, be it for one night or longer, and on making sure your stay with us is stress-free. A free full English breakfast (between 7.30-9.30am/8-9.30am at weekends) or a Continental breakfast for early departures are included in the price. The Ambers also provides free priority airport transfers to and from Gatwick Airport or Horley mainline BR station for your convenience. This complimentary guest service is available between 9am - 10.45am and 4pm - 6.45pm, by prior arrangement.

When booking, please advise us of your arrival time and if you are checking-in after 7pm please telephone (+(0)1293 785649) for our late check-in procedure before the day of your arrival - many thanks.

The Ambers Guest House can also accommodate parking on-site for when you are away, at very reasonable rates. Please ask for details.
Picture of The Ambers Guest House Gatwick, Gatwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the room wasn't very big is was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was buffet style with eggs cooked to order, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff I met were very helpful and polite. No complaints.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite as good as I expected
No real problems, but after reading the reviews I expected a lot more. Customer service via email prior to and after stay was first class, but I just didn't feel welcome whilst I was there. Manager/owner was more interested in making telephone calls than checking me in, and I had to wait several minutes while he finished. Breakfast was self service and average, but again, the man overseeing breakfast was a little too keen to have me out of my room.

Reviewed by
C JONES

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very close to Gatwick but couldn't hear the planes which was nice. Arrived when it was dark and sat nav sent me to the wrong place so had to look for the hotel which was not lit but once found it was easy and pleasant. Single room had everything you could need, clean and comfy. Breakfast was really nice and good choice to choose from. Very friendly and helpful, would recommend but don't arrive at night!

Reviewed by
W Bradford

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant 1 night stay
Upon arrival, I was greeted on a first name basis, quite a nice touch, seemed to make it homely from the start . My single room was comfortable, clean and had some nice homely touches. The ensuite was clean, had plenty of towels and had a good shower. My only criticism is that the breakfast seemed a litte disjointed it was self service but the poached egg took a long time arriving. Would I stay again, yes

Reviewed by
Graham C

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 room apt - great location & perfect for short stay
We stayed (2 adults, 3 children aged 3-7) for a night before flying out of Gatwick. It was clean, plenty of space and all the equipment we required.

Reviewed by
Sian K

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff and owner and very helpful in fulfilling my needs arrived late but no problems.

Reviewed by
Matt Goodley

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night before flight
Good accommodation close to the airport, practical

Reviewed by
Ian M

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quality
I stayed fro a week and cold not fault either the room, the quality of service of the food which was easily up to the standard of a small hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The Ambers is very professionally run and it shows.

Reviewed by
A Moody

From Bromsgrove, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for Gatwick Airport , Great service , Out of hours check in , Free Wifi, Parking Onsite Proprietors very helpful ,Superb fresh & cooked selection for breakfast. fully secured & CCTv throughout .Airport transport service If your looking for a value for money good clean B&B experience this does the job hands down .

Reviewed by
s walker

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smart guesthouse, efficiently run.
Clean modern room, spotless shower room. Plenty of towels. Close to Gatwick yet amazingly peaceful. Did not hear any aircraft even though I had all 3 windows wide open all night (7pm-8am) Appreciated the offer of a room fan as very warm August day. Efficiently run with a homely atmosphere. Clive and staff make a good english breakfast with a practical combination of self service and individually cooked -to- order eggs etc. So you can breakfast at your own pace. I had to eat and run to get on my journey but would have loved to linger in the friendly ambience of the dining room. A smart guesthouse, well run.

Reviewed by
caroline D

From Warwick, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.