No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
19 to 21 Sadler Street, Wells, BA5 2RR
The White Hart Hotel is a fantastic hotel that was built in the 15th century, which maintains many of its original features yet has been modernised without losing any of its character or charm. The 15 bedrooms are situated at the rear of the hotel, giving you peace and quiet, yet you are still in the heart of England's smallest city. Our acclaimed bedrooms are individually decorated whilst still featuring some of the more interesting historical features of the building. Located in the centre of Wells, it is close to all major tourist attractions. Wells Cathedral is opposite the hotel and the popular Bishops Palace & Vicars Close are in close proximity. Wookey Hole Cave is just 2 miles away and the world famous Cheddar Gorge is only 5 miles away. The spiritual Glastonbury is also just 5 miles away. The historic city of Bath is just a 45 minute drive. We are located on the West & East Mendip Way making us an ideal stay for walkers and cyclists alike. This family owned and managed accommodation is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful county of Somerset. Cycling and walking breaks can be arranged with help from the friendly staff. The hotel prides itself on excellent customer care and offers a warm welcome and superb service.
Picture of The White Hart Hotel, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Weekend break with interesting parking!
Lovely character hotel near the Cathedral . Parking limited and involved manoeuvring round the back of the hotel (old coaching inn), but at least there was some parking available - not to be recommended for large vehicles!

Reviewed by
john t

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at The White Hart was fine because of the lovely staff.
We were given a room overlooking the courtyard which was ok with us as we could cope with the fairly steep metal stairs up to the walkway which gave access to the rooms. (We were surprised that,at the point of booking or at the very least as we checked in, a reassurance from us was not sought that this would not be a problem. The bedroom and bathroom was certainly well cleaned and the bed was ok but the whole thing seemed tired. The modernisation mentioned on the website was probably done last in the 1980s and judging by the furniture and the mould around the bath, it is ready for another. Our bathroom door was unable to be closed properly and was good in squeak noise which took on mega proportions in the middle of the night! The staff were excellent - very willing to please which was especially evident during the very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Ford

From Lydbury North, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart Hotel, Wells
The annexe room was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and kind enough to allow us to leave our car in the hotel car park after we had checked out on Sunday morning. We had an superb dinner at the restaurant in the sister hotel opposite.

Reviewed by
Robert K

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room, the only slight drawback were the stairs leading to our room in the courtyard as
I was travelling with my elderly mother, but we were aware there were stairs when we booked. Car parking was a little awkward.

Reviewed by
L Buckler

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Friendly Hotel

Reviewed by
J Lambert

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

:)
Lovely friendly staff, very homely feel. Love the original features of the place, it's a unique place, and has kept hold of it's history... Fairly rare to come by nowadays with new builds etc! Bit expensive, but the level of detail with cleanliness made up for it. I can understand the price because of the location though.
Lush :)

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay booked for elderly relatives
I booked the room for my parents, as our son and his wife to be were holding their informal wedding reception at the White Hart. The staff were most obliging, kind, considerate , discreet; I was impressed. The accommodation was on the ground floor but was not adapted for disabled people although there was a ramp into the small hall. The car-park is uneven as it is cobbled.There was a resident staff member next door to their room, which was reassuring. The buffet lunch provided was very good and the bar food, enjoyable. I had a meal with my parents, the first evening and my gluten-free diet was catered for (with advanced warning).
There is no outdoor play space for children and no garden but the Cathedral Green is directly opposite, over a small one-way street. I would not recommend staying here with young children.
I am going back there for my BIG birthday party at the end of the month!

Reviewed by
Nikki E

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eat with care
It's shabby round the edges but ok. Room 10 is above car park turn so worked up by drivers revving engines.
Room service food looked great but made me very ill.

Reviewed by
bill l

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have to say that the whole of the upstairs smelt of old cooking fat. It permeated the room and was really horrible.
On a more postive note - the food in the restaurant was absolutely lovely. Well cooked and presented. As with breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
Linda C

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Wells
I've stayed a few times in The White Hart. It couldn't be more central and convenient for the lovely city centre of Wells. The B&B rate was rather more expensive this time than I remember for previous visits but I suppose that is supply and demand - Wells doesn't have many hotels and there was a big concert in the cathedral that night. So perhaps a bit costly but still a pleasant experience which met my needs.

Reviewed by
Tom S

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next