No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durley Dean Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
28 West Cliff Road , Bournemouth, BH2 5HE
This Victorian townhouse offers bright, modern rooms, located just 5 minutes’ walk from Bournemouth’s award-winning beach. With a restaurant and lounge bar, there is also free High Speed WiFi and limited free parking with additional on road parking close by.

The hotel has just completed its final phase of refurbishment with all bedrooms fully refurbished and a £100k refurbishment of the hotels Leisure |Club

The Durley Dean’s rooms boast contemporary design, and each features a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a work area. All rooms also have a private bathroom with a hairdryer.

The hotel is well-placed, 0.3 miles from the bars and shops of the town centre. 10 minutes’ walk brings guests to Bournemouth International Centre and Bournemouth Pier.

Residents have free use of the swimming pool, gym, sauna & steam room that make up the hotel Leisure Complex. There is also a golf club within 5 minutes’ drive.

The menu of British cuisine is made using local produce, and served in the stylish No. 28 restaurant. The Durley’s bar offers Dorset Cream teas, beverages and snacks during the day.
Picture of Durley Dean Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value for money, and a short walk to the seafront. Room was clean and well presented

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durley Dean
The hotel was very old and run down. Our room was unreasonably small and would have been far too small for anyone taller than 5ft 8! The bed was a very small double bed and was like a slide! Verty uncomfortable and in need of a new mattress! Very noisy lots of hen and stag parties here. Wouldn't recommend it.

Reviewed by
Gillian C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasently Surprised

Reviewed by
adam cliffe

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at a lovely hotel
The durley dean is a fantastic hotel for families. We are a family of five. The room we had was superb. The beds were comfortale and the decor of the room was of a high standard. We used theeisure facilities in the morning and again this was fantastic. The children loved the pool. Overall we all had a great stay at the durley dean and we would not hesitate in using this hotel again or recommending it to all our friends. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Casey Waldock

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shah
Good hotel 🏨

Reviewed by
j shah

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value considering it was airshow weekend. Small room but comfortable bed (very important) breakfast was really good and would definitely go back to check out the rest of the hotel.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Efficient staff, pleasant room, although a little dark as we were (I guess) in one of the top rooms and the window was small. Also very warm, but a fan is provided. The only downside was the WiFi, very flakey and didn't seem to work for more than a 10-15 minutes at a time.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here - Staff rude
I never write reviews but feel the need to warn others. We booked six rooms for a family trip for one night in Bournemouth. From the start staff made us feel unwelcome.
- We were arrived at 12 and understood our rooms would not be available until 2 but asked to complete the paperwork for rooms as reception staff and we were free. Told to come back at 2pm but by then there was a long queue and wait.
- Then we were made to pay for the rooms upfront. Never been asked to do that in any hotel.
- Also asked to pay for breakfast before sitting down, even though the hotel had card details.
- Staff were rude when asked for key to access the pool
- Night manager was rude.
- At 11am the length of hotel corridors had piles of towels and bedding everywhere.
- One member of bar staff and one lady at reception were helpful, rest seemed determined to make us feel as unwelcome as possible.
Would never stay here again. Many better hotels in Bournemouth.

Reviewed by
T Johal

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in a vey good position to nearby town.

Reviewed by
julie h

From Guildford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday experience
We only managed a night at the hotel but it catered well for out needs. The children loved having their own room with bathroom and tv. All in all we had a nice experience and would visit again.
The room was good value...it's a pity breakfast wasn't included.

Reviewed by
Margaret C

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next