No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Woodlands Country House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Ireby , IREBY, CA7 1EX
First rate accommodation in a beautiful Victorian Country House. Beautiful rural location, away from the crowds. Why not escape from the pressures of life and let good company, excellent home-cooked food and fine wines and a warm and friendly atmosphere create a special holiday break for you. Please note that evening meals should be booked 24 hours in advance. The Northern Fells and lakes are awe inspiring with much to do and many beautiful places to visit. We are less than 5 miles drive from Bassenthwaite Lake and within half an hour's drive of Keswick and Cockermouth. Pets accepted in some ground floor rooms only for a £15 extra charge per stay. Ground floor rooms are suitable for wheelchair users, for the room with a walk-in shower, please see room description below.
Picture of The Woodlands Country House, IREBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We were welcomed warmly on arrival and this remained the case for our whole stay of 6 nights. The food was great and the breakfast menu offered a wide choice with beautifully prepared food. Evening meals were also excellent. One of the most enjoyable weeks we have ever had.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Woodlands
A warm and engaging environment with a very helpful host in a traditional setting, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
K Sullivan

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet break
We were met by Judith who instantly made us feel very much at home by providing tea and home made cake on our arrival, set out in a very pleasant lounge. The hotel was comfortable, in a very remote and quiet location, way off the beaten track, which was exactly what we were looking for but, being some distance away from the more popular Windermere area of the Lake Districtict, may not suit everyone. Judith's choice of menu's for the evening meals and the quality of the food was very good, as were the breakfasts - we will certainly go back there should we find ourselves in that area in the future.

Reviewed by
Edward M

From WHITLEY BAY, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location ideal for a relaxing retreat

Reviewed by
Sarah Curry

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best of everything
Judith gave us a warm welcome on a cold, wet day! She couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The room was spacious and very pleasant with a massive bed that was comfort itself! Because we had our dog with us we spent most of our time in our room with her, which was a shame because the rest of the house looked lovely. Our evening meal was delicious and the breakfasts were excellent. An excellent spot for bird watchers, surrounded by large trees. We would highly recommend Woodlands Country House to anyone wishing to stay in the Ireby area.

Reviewed by
G Pickford

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay.
So peaceful and quiet.
Amazing food and wines.
It would be nice to see the fires lit in the rooms downstairs at night (for added atmosphere)

Reviewed by
L Redpath

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely friendly and comfortable. Excellent food.

Reviewed by
William Johnston

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little off the beaten track but a lovely welcome when you arrive.

Reviewed by
Janet O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
Fantastic stay. Thank you. This proprietor takes the utmost pride in her hotel. Every attention to detail. If you are hesitating about booking ... don't! Andrew R

Reviewed by
Andrew Russell

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel (Was a Vicarage) , very comfortable and the proprietor has thought of everything. Food very good, although we did not eat in the evening as we were going to the theatre in Keswick.
A bit too far to Keswick, but that is our fault for not realising it takes 30 mins to get there.

Reviewed by
N ELLIS

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next