Masons Arms

4

Branscombe, Seaton, EX12 3DJ

Price From 286.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C J W

  • April 2015

Far from the Madding Crowd

A special place.

Good in many ways. Friendly staff. To be a strong local pub, a top quality restaurant, and a high class guest house all at the same time is quite a challenge, particularly given the "off the beaten track" location. The food was ok, but not as good value for money as hoped.

  • philip mason

  • March 2015

weekend break

No clear reception area upon arrival is confusing, For a hotel I was surprised there was no room service, when combined with very limited food serving hours - I was left travelling several miles for lunch after my arrival.

Accommodation described as Superior - a Broken Window handle, mediocre quality towels toiletries not replenished, floors not vacuumed when the room was serviced. Standard free view TV channels combined with slow and patchy WiFi reception left you wondering what the high cost actually provided. The restaurant food is good quality with attentive staff. The gas pumped beer has the same acidic fizz as the lager - which is a shame as the selection is good. Overall - very disappointing.

  • D WEBBER

  • March 2015

ALL THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT.

THE ONLY COMPLAINT WE HAD WAS THE ROOM WAS TOO HOT!!. THE AREA WAS PERFECT. WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR STAY AND THERE WAS BUILDING WORK BEING CARRIED OUT BUT IT DID NOT BOTHER US AT ALL. THE ADDITIONAL ROOMS LOOKED VERY NICE.

  • M Langdon

  • December 2014

Get away from it break

First and foremost the service and ambiance of the pub is superb.

We were upgraded to a Mason room which was a huge bonus - loved it.

Divided on the food. My wife was 100% - the mussels, better than in France. Me, a fish lover, I wish the sole and bream was cooked for a few minutes less. Where we were agreed....breakfast, FANTASTIC.

  • K Abingdon

  • December 2014

Beautiful location, exceptionally friendly staff and great food!

Just stayed for a quiet weekend in Dec before the mad Christmas rush.

Branscombe is a lovely little village with easy access to some great walks along the cliffs. Staff were fantastic, without exception and the food was lovely, local after and reasonably priced. The modules were amazing.

Our room was in the 'cottages' next to the pub. It was clean and comfortable. My only (very small) complaint would be that if fellow guests are in the room above you, the floorboards are very creaky. Overall though, well worth the visit.

  • P Randall

  • November 2014

Masons Arms

Fantastic accommodation, great food and customer service.

Only thing that was a little bit strange was a lovely open fireplace which was lit, and the entrance to the pub was open so a bit of a draft, but to be fair we sat in the main bar and not the restaurant.

  • Andrew Tanner

  • November 2014

A magical night away on the devon cosst

The Masons arms is a charming throwback to another era.

Tucked on the Devon coastline it hinted at an olde worle experience which it delivered. As we walked into the bar area, the huge old fireplaces belched out warmth that shook the autumnal chill out of our bones. Sitting by the fire, supping cask conditioned ales, we were transported back to a time when life was slower, simpler and far more leisurely. Our cottage type accomodation, annexed to the Masons arms did not dissapoint either. A beautifully presented room with a piping hot shower eased the stress from our bones. Supper at the Masons was also superb. Locally caught fish being our choice. We sat by the fire. . . Again. . . .after supper before a peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was a traditional English affair. . . Served with a smile and efficient service. We left on the windy road out of Branscombe plotting our treturn over the Christmas period. A wonderful 24 hours spent in yesteryear.

  • Anne M

  • August 2014

Bijou location

Access to Branscombe challenging if not used to Devon country lanes.

Check in at bar as main reception closed. Small room in pub building but adequate for one night. Could have done with an extra bedside table but problem would be where to put it in such a tight space.Bed comfortable and en suite excellent with lashings of hot water and a plentiful supply of toiletries. Restaurant meal was fantastic, lobster and salmon cooked to perfection. Breakfast same. Definitely stay again.

  • G Jack

  • August 2014

Just perfect!!!

Excellent accommodation in a perfect location, only 5 min walk from the beach surrounded by beautiful scenery.

Customer service brilliant with all staff friendly and welcoming, food great too. Hubby and I really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

  • Anne M

  • July 2014

Heavenly little place.