No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Masons Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Branscombe , Seaton, EX12 3DJ
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain’s most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, Masons Arms Hotel.
With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset’s Jurassic Coast.
Our restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings; and our award winning bar menu includes fish specialities including locally caught Lobster and Crab, as well as joints of meat spit roasted over the open fire in the bar. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world.

We only accept well-behaved dogs but only in selected cottages. You must contact reception if you would like to bring your dog with you so we can ensure you are allocated a dog friendly room. Please note there is an additional charge for dogs.
Picture of Masons Arms, Seaton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heavenly little place.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Plaistow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Devonshire village Inn
Lovely old village inn nice and clean with good food and a selection of cornish real ales, the staff are nice and friendly and the location is beautiful with the south west coast path close by.

Reviewed by
carol c

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
We knew when we booked that our room was going to be small so no problem there. Bathroom was immaculate and quality of shampoo etc was excellent. The only niggle we had was that there was only one bedside light and no valance cover on the divan bed leaving it exposed. We were only there for 2 nights so lived with it. When paying the bill at reception ŵe mentioned this and we're told that the room was due to be refurbished in October and should have been told this when shown to our room and they were very apologetic that this was not the case so were satisfied with their responce.

Reviewed by
Stuart Moon

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mason arms stay
The food is excellent and good choice on menu The staff very helpful pleasant and service delivered with a smile which made out stay so much more enjoyable we were a little disappointed with the room very cramped could not pass each other round the bottom of the bed and only one bedside table /lamp but was clean we would stay again without doubt but would like a less cramped room

Reviewed by
sandra a

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Break
Lovely building in a great, quiet, location with lots of walking opportunities from the door. Room was superb, but servicing not so good - rubbish in bin on arrival and bits of mud on the carpet which we caused were not cleaned up. General areas were a little 'tired' and there was usually some dirt on the stair carpets. Staff were friendly but a little dis-organised. Food was great, both breakfasts and evening meals. It was a wonderful 3 day stay for our wedding anniversary. We will certainly return in the future.

Reviewed by
Mike F

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location, good food
Set a preety village location, 10 mins walk to the beach, quality food and ales.
rooms are set in converted cottages with thachet roof. great change from large faceless hotels I usually use. will definately be back for liesure next time.

Reviewed by
Lee C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub in a lovely location
Lovely pub in a great location only a few minutes walk or drive from the beach. Plenty of seaside towns to visit within a short drive & the nearby Donkey Sanctuary is a must for childeren & animal lovers.
We had a lovely spacious room (25) with a HUGE bed & sizable en-suite.
Evening Food was good but not quite as good as the price suggested. Breakfast was just the job apart from the cardinal sin of cold toast one morning but that's just being picky & I'm sure they would have changed it if I'd asked.
Overall very pleased & would recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Sean K

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful over night stay
We really cannot fault our stay, which was for one night. Our room was classed as standard but we believe it was one of the best quality rooms we have stayed in. It was clean, warm and tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfortable. Evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was delicious, with very efficient service. Thank you very much Masons Arms we had a very memorable stay and will definately be back.

Reviewed by
D Jewkes

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could have done better
This was the last night of a touring trip and as I had spotted this in reviews, I was hoping to spend the last 2 nights of our trip there, but alas there was only availability for 1 night. On arrival we found our way to the bar to check in and this was carried out by a young waitress/bar person, who was a little vague to say the least and it was only with prompting that she actually showed us where the room was! The room was compact to say the least but as we had booked last minute, I was prepared for this. On going down for dinner, which I had booked with the young lady at check in (at my request) we found that she had forgotten to write it down and we were very lucky that we remembered the number of the table she had mentioned that was free, as it was the last in the whole place, which was extremely busy. During dinner we discovered that nearly all the staff were foreigners gaining experience and although the service waiting service couldn't be faulted, it did lack the personal touch and trying to find out what time check out was when we were having breakfast was a laugh a minute, as all the waitress kept telling me was that reception was now open so I could check out now......not really what I was trying to discover! Couldn't have a Baileys coffee after dinner as they discovered that they had forgotten to deliver it, which for a brewery owned pub was disappointing :-(
The whole handle fell off the shower at 3 in the morning, which did give me a slight fright and rendered it unusable for that morning....but hey ho, these things happen I suppose. Reception were apologetic when we checked out in the morning, but all in all its a lovely place that could do with a little more of a personal touch or better management / staff training.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden Gem off the main route
Except for the address being shown as Seaton which was very confusing particularly when the postcode provided by laterooms did not direct us to Branscombe causing my stopping to ask several people, the stay at the Mason Arms was extremely enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Ron Coburn

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next