No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Masons Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Branscombe , Seaton, EX12 3DJ
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain’s most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, Masons Arms Hotel.
With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset’s Jurassic Coast.
Our restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings; and our award winning bar menu includes fish specialities including locally caught Lobster and Crab, as well as joints of meat spit roasted over the open fire in the bar. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world.

We only accept well-behaved dogs but only in selected cottages. You must contact reception if you would like to bring your dog with you so we can ensure you are allocated a dog friendly room. Please note there is an additional charge for dogs.
Picture of Masons Arms, Seaton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub/hotel. Odd restaurant seating!
Our room was upgraded, which was wonderful! The site was lovely, with good options for walking. We were puzzled as to why I was told it would be 'Inconvenient' if I were to sit on a chair in the nearly empty restaurant. I was told to sit on a narrow window seat where a windowsill made it impossible to sit back. We had made reservations six weeks in advance. Most uncomfortable! When unable to eat, I moved to the chair despite instructions. Very strange! Great Eggs Benedict at breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Greenwald

From Sykesville, USA
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub/hotel. Odd restaurant seating!
Our room was upgraded, which was wonderful! The site was lovely, with good options for walking. We were puzzled as to why I was told it would be 'Inconvenient' if I were to sit on a chair in the nearly empty restaurant. I was told to sit on a narrow window seat where a windowsill made it impossible to sit back. We had made reservations six weeks in advance. Most uncomfortable! When unable to eat, I moved to the chair despite instructions. Very strange! Great Eggs Benedict at breakfast.

Reviewed by
R Greenwald

From Sykesville, USA
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely for one or two nights. Our room was cozy but great for the price. Have to have a car or want to stay very local to the hotel as tiny village and very rural settling. Staff were lovely.

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay but!
Arrived great room, great weather
then the kettle didn't work, but we changed it for one outside the room, what do they check when the staff service the room!
then the tv needed retuning, err no instructions, fortunately great weather and I read my book in the garden about Ismbard Kingdom Brunel built railways and bridges and his attention to detail
Finally, someone needs to explain to the cleaners that they need to clean the doors, ie toilet, wardrobe
Sorry in I stay most of my life in hotels and I judge their cleanliness by the dirt on the toilet door, room door and wardrobe doors, out of 10 err 5
However I would happily stay there again

Reviewed by
p fletcher

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Lovely !
We had a lovely two day break at The Masons Arms. Not only is this establishment a good hotel but has a wonderful pub serving many real ales and all very well kept too. Despite only staying a couple of days we found the whole place as we would have wished. The room wasn't the biggest in the world however this was our choice and we had paid less for it. There were many nice touches throughout of full size hospitality shanpoo, conditioner, body wash and many more freebies which is a first for us. The staff were lovely, friendly attentive with good communication skills and couldn't do enough, frequently asking if everything was to our liking . Excellent food too with fine dining available in their retaurant or bar food if you choose. Fantastic breakfasts, so many good things about this place and I haven't even touched on the beautiful area in which the hotel is located - we will be back.!

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredibly beautiful and absolutely divine village, beach, inn, food, people and experience..
We were overjoyed by the amazing time spent here from the gentleman that welcomed us in the street (a local resident) to our amazing cottage room (number 8) the breath taking tranquil and beautiful views of the village, valley and sea. The cleanliness, the professionalism and compassion by all staff, the wonderful food, the amazing village, tidiness, quality of care and food, views, and on and on... This was a 5 star feel in a 4 star place from start to finish! Thank you Mason's Arms, thank you, Branscome beautiful beach and sea, thank you weather and Thank you Branscome village : )

Reviewed by
L Dunbar

From Wotton Under Edge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay here: room was lovely and spacious. It was slightly too warm overnight, and the windows were limited opening, but that was the only minor bad point. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and it was nice to see the same faces serving us for dinner and the following morning at breakfast.

Reviewed by
b w

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and pretty
Two days' sunshine in this lovely place. Cottage accommodation very pretty and quite, full of character with nice antique furniture. Window seat!! Gardens exceptionally attractive. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Jill B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful accommodation in a delightful location
The Mason Arms was perfect for our requirements. A superb location with picturesque countryside yet so close to the beach.

Reviewed by
eleanor homer

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
A larger bed would have been more comfortable. Even though the room was compact it was very comfortable and well organised.

Reviewed by
E Walker

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next