No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lord Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
ABBEY FOREGATE , SHREWSBURY, SY2 6AX
The Lord Hill Hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Shrewsbury Town Centre and has a Restaurant, Bar, Comfortable Rooms and Free Car Parking.

The Hotel has good road links and is near the A5, which connects to the M54.

Some bedrooms are in an adjoining Lodge.
Picture of Lord Hill, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take a bikini!
I was staying in the Lodge and although it has been fitted out in the usual executive hotel style, look a little closer and there is chipped paintwork, worn carpet and generally a tired feel. This extends into the corridors as well giving a poor first impression. The first thing I did when I entered the room was (as usual) to turn off the radiator, however it soon became clear why there was a large fan standing in the corner of the room as the temperature stayed roasting hot throughout the night. As I was on the ground floor I couldn't throw open the window (and was discouraged from doing this anyway by a "health and safety" notice) so I had to have the fan on all night just to be able to sleep. Far far too hot. Otherwise, OK for a one night stay but somewhat overpriced.

Reviewed by
S Tilbury

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Personal Service and support form The Lord Hill Hotel
Having arriving early we was allowed to enter our room early. This was very helpful as I wished to speak to the hotel management for a special personal request to have wedding photos taken for my girlfriend as her father is dying and would not be around to see the real thing. The manager was very helpful and upgraded us to the Abbey suite (bridal suite ) at no cost to us . The hotels rooms are excellent and clean . We was so grateful for the hotels help and support during a very personal and difficult time for us. This made our day very special and it felt like a real wedding. We would like to thank personally Jenny and Mark at the Lord Hill. Excellent food and service . Thank you.

Reviewed by
f payne

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of Accomodation
I was located in the lodge not the hotel, which was a disapointment. The overall accomodation was OK, however the shower in the bath was poor as it did not have much of a head of water. The TV was small considering the distance from the bed.

Reviewed by
Dave Hedley

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OMG Awesome Words fail us
We go all over the UK in hotels and that this one is definitely in our top 5.
The Suite was spacious and the facilities were good and we would certainly return again and recommend this hotel to other persons.

Reviewed by
s shakespeare

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad

Reviewed by
K BAL

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what I wanted - good accommodation, great staff and a delicious breakfast
I could not fault this hotel. From the moment we got there:
An attentive and professional receptionist.
A spacious, comfortable and well appointed room and good desk space (and a great shower).
When you get a bright and cheerful response from the lady vacuuming the lobby - you know this is a place that works well!
Young barman at the counter, late in the evening, was very personable and gave excellent service.
Breakfast: really nice staff - relaxed but attentive and effortlessly courteous. The grill was tasty and very good value.
The two lovely ladies (house staff) who made us feel we were important to them.
All round, excellent value in all areas. First time I've stayed in Shrewsbury and we found it a very friendly place - The Lord Hill was a terrific part of our visit.

Reviewed by
Len C

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the very best in the world
This is an excellent hotel, and the staff kind, courteous and professional. My partner and I were given an excellent room and the super facilities included a bath and separate shower, plenty of power points and herbal teas in the beverage making facility. The decor was very good and although the views were of the road and over the car park, there were plenty of trees (whose leaves had not yet fallen!) We liked the choice of having a bar meal or Restaurant. and enjoyed the emphasis on healthy and well cooked locally sourced food rather than large portions. My only small gripe was the dyed kipper fillet but coming from a fishing town, I missed the usual 'battle' with a fish knife! Heartily recommended, accessible by public transport . Oh yes very good wifi also, (not yet mentioned on Laterooms site). Thank you Lord Hill

Reviewed by
John W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very good nice and clean and a bonus was we could open the windows.breakfast was good but a little to large.we would stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
gail w

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in an expensive-for-tourists city
Only problem was bar and restaurant monopolised by a wedding party. Otherwise fine.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Tindall

From Twyford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired, but character and service more than make up for it
Booked in for a weekend stay at the end of August 2013. Violet Rose Vintage (local shop, well worth a visit) had organised an afternoon fair and 70's night at the hotel, which was great fun and ran smoothly. My wife is pregnant and the hotel had accomodated our request for a room with the minimum of background noise, plus were very helpful in storing our bags when we arrived early at the hotel. The hotel is looking a little tired in places (e.g. some carpets and furniture in communual areas) but this is more than made up for by the communual rooms themselves – pretty and full of history. It is a similar story in the rooms themselves – they haven’t had a refurb recently but are pretty, with some good antiques and the bed was very comfortable. So, overall, far from faultless but far from bland as well. We’ll certainly be back again.

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next