No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lord Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
ABBEY FOREGATE , SHREWSBURY, SY2 6AX
The Lord Hill Hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Shrewsbury Town Centre and has a Restaurant, Bar, Comfortable Rooms and Free Car Parking.

The Hotel has good road links and is near the A5, which connects to the M54.

Some bedrooms are in an adjoining Lodge.
Picture of Lord Hill, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very good nice and clean and a bonus was we could open the windows.breakfast was good but a little to large.we would stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
gail w

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired, but character and service more than make up for it
Booked in for a weekend stay at the end of August 2013. Violet Rose Vintage (local shop, well worth a visit) had organised an afternoon fair and 70's night at the hotel, which was great fun and ran smoothly. My wife is pregnant and the hotel had accomodated our request for a room with the minimum of background noise, plus were very helpful in storing our bags when we arrived early at the hotel. The hotel is looking a little tired in places (e.g. some carpets and furniture in communual areas) but this is more than made up for by the communual rooms themselves – pretty and full of history. It is a similar story in the rooms themselves – they haven’t had a refurb recently but are pretty, with some good antiques and the bed was very comfortable. So, overall, far from faultless but far from bland as well. We’ll certainly be back again.

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in Shrewsbury
The scrambled egg that my wife was served at breakfast could have been used to repair a tyre puncture, my full English breakfast was not much better. The tea served at breakfast was the worst my wife had ever been served, she could only drink half a cup. The three teabags in the room tasted as if they were of poorest quality.

Reviewed by
Artuur F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality service
I enjoyed my stay, staff were helpful and rooms were clean and tidy etc. A comfortable bed for the night. I would happily stay here again as the rooms are reasonably priced for a tourist area.

Reviewed by
Chrissie B

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean
staff very friendly and helpful
room very clean but small
bed very hard and uncomfortable

Reviewed by
gerard kelly

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money the breakfast was poor because of cheaper materials

Reviewed by
john d

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable break
Room clean and comfortable. Could have done with a fan in the room as weather was very hot. Breakfast good value and quality. This was our 2nd visit and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
David M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very professional and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Spacious room, tv reception not very good though and would have liked a more powerful shower. Overall very happy, ideal position with easy walk into Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
S Dowey

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Staff very friendly and helpful at this hotel which has well-appointed and large rooms. Stayed only one night but dinner and breakfast both very good and bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
James Flanagan

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, nice breakfast, would benefit from a little common sense
We stayed for one night, and were given a room in the Lodge, behind the main building. Parking was fine, check in was fine. The young man on reception at check in was superb, can't fault him at all. However, he proved to be an exception rather than the normal level of care.
The first floor room itself was fine, nice decor and a lovely comfy bed. The shower was a mixer-tap style shower, and as a result there was very little water pressure - the water trickled out rather than being a proper shower. Not great.
Before going out for the evening, we'd popped back to the reception at around 6pm and requested a taxi for 7.15pm. We then went back to the room to get ready, and headed back to reception for 7.15pm. At this point we were told by the lady on reception that she hadn't been able to book a taxi for us until 7.45pm. Now whilst this was outside of her control, surely we could have received a quick phone call to our room to let us know?
We were still in bed in the morning when the cleaner gave a knock on the door so quiet that we thought it was the room next door, and then unlocked to door and came in before hastily retreating. It was nowhere near check out time at this point!
Breakfast was an interesting experience. The cooked food was excellent, but there was no staff member by the door to greet or seat us on arrival. The instructions on the menu said that staff would take orders for cooked breakfasts, but then after finding a seat we were then told that it was a buffet style breakfast and to help ourselves. No problem with this, but the info conflicted what was said on the menu.
Finally, at check out, we were asked by the receptionist (a different staff member to the others before) if we had any problems with our stay, we said yes but a couple of minor ones. Her response was simply "have you filled in a comments card?", to which we replied that we hadn't seen any. "Is there a feedback section on the hotel website?" I asked. Her reply: "Well, you could use Trip Advisor"...

Reviewed by
Richard A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next