No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lord Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
ABBEY FOREGATE , SHREWSBURY, SY2 6AX
The Lord Hill Hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Shrewsbury Town Centre and has a Restaurant, Bar, Comfortable Rooms and Free Car Parking.

The Hotel has good road links and is near the A5, which connects to the M54.

Some bedrooms are in an adjoining Lodge.
Picture of Lord Hill, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality service
I enjoyed my stay, staff were helpful and rooms were clean and tidy etc. A comfortable bed for the night. I would happily stay here again as the rooms are reasonably priced for a tourist area.

Reviewed by
Chrissie B

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean
staff very friendly and helpful
room very clean but small
bed very hard and uncomfortable

Reviewed by
gerard kelly

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money the breakfast was poor because of cheaper materials

Reviewed by
john d

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable break
Room clean and comfortable. Could have done with a fan in the room as weather was very hot. Breakfast good value and quality. This was our 2nd visit and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
David M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very professional and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Spacious room, tv reception not very good though and would have liked a more powerful shower. Overall very happy, ideal position with easy walk into Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
S Dowey

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Staff very friendly and helpful at this hotel which has well-appointed and large rooms. Stayed only one night but dinner and breakfast both very good and bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
James Flanagan

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, nice breakfast, would benefit from a little common sense
We stayed for one night, and were given a room in the Lodge, behind the main building. Parking was fine, check in was fine. The young man on reception at check in was superb, can't fault him at all. However, he proved to be an exception rather than the normal level of care.
The first floor room itself was fine, nice decor and a lovely comfy bed. The shower was a mixer-tap style shower, and as a result there was very little water pressure - the water trickled out rather than being a proper shower. Not great.
Before going out for the evening, we'd popped back to the reception at around 6pm and requested a taxi for 7.15pm. We then went back to the room to get ready, and headed back to reception for 7.15pm. At this point we were told by the lady on reception that she hadn't been able to book a taxi for us until 7.45pm. Now whilst this was outside of her control, surely we could have received a quick phone call to our room to let us know?
We were still in bed in the morning when the cleaner gave a knock on the door so quiet that we thought it was the room next door, and then unlocked to door and came in before hastily retreating. It was nowhere near check out time at this point!
Breakfast was an interesting experience. The cooked food was excellent, but there was no staff member by the door to greet or seat us on arrival. The instructions on the menu said that staff would take orders for cooked breakfasts, but then after finding a seat we were then told that it was a buffet style breakfast and to help ourselves. No problem with this, but the info conflicted what was said on the menu.
Finally, at check out, we were asked by the receptionist (a different staff member to the others before) if we had any problems with our stay, we said yes but a couple of minor ones. Her response was simply "have you filled in a comments card?", to which we replied that we hadn't seen any. "Is there a feedback section on the hotel website?" I asked. Her reply: "Well, you could use Trip Advisor"...

Reviewed by
Richard A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/a
N/a

Reviewed by
R James

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrekin suite
We stopped in the wrekin suite on sat 21st april while attenting a wedding reception at the hotel . . The room was clean and spacious just a few bits of fluff on the bed, food at the wedding was really lovely and breakfast was great too . .drinks very expensive in the bar but the staff was friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
carl s

From Telford, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Good value for money in one of the lodge rooms.
Breakfast was advertised as being served till 10am however when we went down at 9.30 we had to side step our way past waiters putting tables away and obviously wanting the guests out asap.
Self service cooked breakfast which had obviously been there since the start of service. Nowhere to put lids off hot dishes when dishing out food and same spoon had to be used for baked beans and mushrooms.
Definitely not a lazy sunday breakfast.
very good coffee though.

Reviewed by
Linda Connor

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next