No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lord Hill

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
ABBEY FOREGATE , SHREWSBURY, SY2 6AX
The Lord Hill Hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Shrewsbury Town Centre and has a Restaurant, Bar, Comfortable Rooms and Free Car Parking.

The Hotel has good road links and is near the A5, which connects to the M54.

Some bedrooms are in an adjoining Lodge.
Picture of Lord Hill, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lord Hill
We enjoyed our stay and would go again soon.

Reviewed by
p jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Accommodation
There was a funeral wake going on immediately in the reception area of the hotel when we arrived so it felt as though we were intruding on a private function as we had to walk through the guests. There was no clear signage to show where the reception was and the receptionist seemed distracted, presumably because of the wake, so didn't give her full attention. When in the room, it was noted that there was heavy dust on the skirting boards and pictures and the paintwork on the walls and skirting boards needed refreshing. For one night's stay this isn't a huge deal to us but thought it is worth pointing out as the room generally appeared quite tired looking. The batteries in the TV remote weren't working and this was reported to the receptionist who didn't seem too bothered. We also tried calling reception from the room to arrange a taxi for that evening, followed the instructions in the hotel manual, but our call wasn't answered. The bed was quote comfy that night which was the main need of our stay but overall not impressed. However, the breakfast the next day was lovely and the lady running the restaurant was extremely attentive and efficient - a huge contract to the receptionist!

Reviewed by
Helen F

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Break
Quick check in.My husband and myself we're staying for 2 nights visiting family .Lovely twin room comfortable beds.Good full English Breakfast.15 minute walk into town centre.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy
Just thought that the hotel was great, we did have the suite.....

Reviewed by
gordon wooldridge

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take a bikini!
I was staying in the Lodge and although it has been fitted out in the usual executive hotel style, look a little closer and there is chipped paintwork, worn carpet and generally a tired feel. This extends into the corridors as well giving a poor first impression. The first thing I did when I entered the room was (as usual) to turn off the radiator, however it soon became clear why there was a large fan standing in the corner of the room as the temperature stayed roasting hot throughout the night. As I was on the ground floor I couldn't throw open the window (and was discouraged from doing this anyway by a "health and safety" notice) so I had to have the fan on all night just to be able to sleep. Far far too hot. Otherwise, OK for a one night stay but somewhat overpriced.

Reviewed by
S Tilbury

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Personal Service and support form The Lord Hill Hotel
Having arriving early we was allowed to enter our room early. This was very helpful as I wished to speak to the hotel management for a special personal request to have wedding photos taken for my girlfriend as her father is dying and would not be around to see the real thing. The manager was very helpful and upgraded us to the Abbey suite (bridal suite ) at no cost to us . The hotels rooms are excellent and clean . We was so grateful for the hotels help and support during a very personal and difficult time for us. This made our day very special and it felt like a real wedding. We would like to thank personally Jenny and Mark at the Lord Hill. Excellent food and service . Thank you.

Reviewed by
f payne

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of Accomodation
I was located in the lodge not the hotel, which was a disapointment. The overall accomodation was OK, however the shower in the bath was poor as it did not have much of a head of water. The TV was small considering the distance from the bed.

Reviewed by
Dave Hedley

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OMG Awesome Words fail us
We go all over the UK in hotels and that this one is definitely in our top 5.
The Suite was spacious and the facilities were good and we would certainly return again and recommend this hotel to other persons.

Reviewed by
s shakespeare

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad

Reviewed by
K BAL

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what I wanted - good accommodation, great staff and a delicious breakfast
I could not fault this hotel. From the moment we got there:
An attentive and professional receptionist.
A spacious, comfortable and well appointed room and good desk space (and a great shower).
When you get a bright and cheerful response from the lady vacuuming the lobby - you know this is a place that works well!
Young barman at the counter, late in the evening, was very personable and gave excellent service.
Breakfast: really nice staff - relaxed but attentive and effortlessly courteous. The grill was tasty and very good value.
The two lovely ladies (house staff) who made us feel we were important to them.
All round, excellent value in all areas. First time I've stayed in Shrewsbury and we found it a very friendly place - The Lord Hill was a terrific part of our visit.

Reviewed by
Len C

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next