Lord Hill

3

ABBEY FOREGATE, SHREWSBURY, SY2 6AX

Price From 100.62 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (67)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nicholas M

  • March 2015

Exceptional,very spacious room with a feeling of luxury.

2 televisions, wow!

  • julie stotton

  • March 2015

Lovely clean friendly hotal

Very happy with the service we got the staff was very friendly n room very clean and tidy.

Would deffo come again n recommend to my family n friends

  • p jones

  • January 2015

Lord Hill

We enjoyed our stay and would go again soon.

  • Helen F

  • January 2015

Average Accommodation

There was a funeral wake going on immediately in the reception area of the hotel when we arrived so it felt as though we were intruding on a private function as we had to walk through the guests.

There was no clear signage to show where the reception was and the receptionist seemed distracted, presumably because of the wake, so didn't give her full attention. When in the room, it was noted that there was heavy dust on the skirting boards and pictures and the paintwork on the walls and skirting boards needed refreshing. For one night's stay this isn't a huge deal to us but thought it is worth pointing out as the room generally appeared quite tired looking. The batteries in the TV remote weren't working and this was reported to the receptionist who didn't seem too bothered. We also tried calling reception from the room to arrange a taxi for that evening, followed the instructions in the hotel manual, but our call wasn't answered. The bed was quote comfy that night which was the main need of our stay but overall not impressed. However, the breakfast the next day was lovely and the lady running the restaurant was extremely attentive and efficient - a huge contract to the receptionist.

  • gordon wooldridge

  • December 2014

Happy

Just thought that the hotel was great, we did have the suite.....

  • Sandra M

  • December 2014

Christmas Break

Quick check in.My husband and myself we're staying for 2 nights visiting family .Lovely twin room comfortable beds.Good full English Breakfast.15 minute walk into town centre.

  • S Tilbury

  • December 2014

Take a bikini!

I was staying in the Lodge and although it has been fitted out in the usual executive hotel style, look a little closer and there is chipped paintwork, worn carpet and generally a tired feel.

This extends into the corridors as well giving a poor first impression. The first thing I did when I entered the room was (as usual) to turn off the radiator, however it soon became clear why there was a large fan standing in the corner of the room as the temperature stayed roasting hot throughout the night. As I was on the ground floor I couldn't throw open the window (and was discouraged from doing this anyway by a "health and safety" notice) so I had to have the fan on all night just to be able to sleep. Far far too hot. Otherwise, OK for a one night stay but somewhat overpriced.

  • f payne

  • November 2014

Excellent Personal Service and support form The Lord Hill Hotel

Having arriving early we was allowed to enter our room early.

This was very helpful as I wished to speak to the hotel management for a special personal request to have wedding photos taken for my girlfriend as her father is dying and would not be around to see the real thing. The manager was very helpful and upgraded us to the Abbey suite (bridal suite ) at no cost to us . The hotels rooms are excellent and clean . We was so grateful for the hotels help and support during a very personal and difficult time for us. This made our day very special and it felt like a real wedding. We would like to thank personally Jenny and Mark at the Lord Hill. Excellent food and service . Thank you.

  • Dave Hedley

  • October 2014

Quality of Accomodation

I was located in the lodge not the hotel, which was a disapointment.

The overall accomodation was OK, however the shower in the bath was poor as it did not have much of a head of water. The TV was small considering the distance from the bed.

  • s shakespeare

  • October 2014

OMG Awesome Words fail us

We go all over the UK in hotels and that this one is definitely in our top 5.

The Suite was spacious and the facilities were good and we would certainly return again and recommend this hotel to other persons.