No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wortley Hall

4Visit England Assessed Self Catering Ratings explained
WORTLEY HALL, WORTLEY VILLAGE , SHEFFIELD, S35 7DB
Stay at Wortley Hall Bed & Breakfast and relax within 26 acres of formal garden and woodland. Within the grounds there is a small lake
an abundance of wildlife and pleasant walks in a very peaceful environment.
The bar lounges provide a comfortable atmosphere for relaxing in the evenings with free wifi available. Food is available from 12 noon until 8.45pm every day. Our popular Restaurant is open Tuesday to Saturday.

Wortley Hall Ltd is a company in its own right, a member of the Co-operative Union and with the Registry of Friendly Societies.
Established as an Education / Recreation Centre in 1951 and since that time has operated on co-operative principles.
Any operating surplus is spent on the Hall either in maintenance or development. Wortley Hall offers B&B, Conferences, Weddings & Self Catering Cottage facilities.
Picture of Wortley Hall , SHEFFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean, comfortable accommodation in an attractive and interesting building set in beautiful grounds. Excellent breakfast and very good value.

Reviewed by
david camp

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wortley Hall
Accommodation is very basic for the price tag! Breakfast was bland and only just warm.

Reviewed by
david g

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
very interesting venue enjoyed our visit

Reviewed by
t wilson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is not 4-star accommodation ... beware! 2-star at best
We arrived thinking that from the look of both the website and the photos on laterooms.com, we were expecting a quality four star hotel. Instead, once we'd past the beautiful facade of the exterior and the neutral reception area - we were left with a room that felt more like a prison cell than a hotel room.
Even when I complained, they said they were only a three-star hotel, even though they boasted four star plaques everywhere. How they got four stars, I have no idea.
The most important sentence from the establishment was that "they are not a hotel, but guest accommodation". Do not trust any "online rating"!
We even had to pay an extra £20 to check out at midday, instead of 10am one Sunday. We didn't experience breakfast as it finished at 9.30am...
This "guest accommodation" as they called it, was essentially a wedding factory that wanted people in and out as quick as possible.
Don't be fooled by any good review, which will be fake, or any photo which will purely be showing the single good room they have.
We paid £65 in total in the end... but even this was far too much.

Reviewed by
D McLean

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find. This nicely quirky hotel is a refreshing change from the chains
I liked this hotel very much. You are in a peaceful setting after a busy day, which helps recharge your batteries. It is excellent value and I thought the food was excellent; unpretentious and wholesome food well cooked. Best steak I've had in a while!
My single room was a bit cramped and cell like but clean and with a good bed. First night was a bit grueling with a snorer on the other side of the plasterboard but thankfully silent the rest of the week. I'm sure there are better rooms at a different rate.
All in all I would go back without hesitation

Reviewed by
James M

From Rothesay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
Beautiful building with lovely staff. Even though we were staying over at a wedding reception, the hotel was very quiet and easy to sleep. The room wasn't very big but the bathroom was. Bathroom definitely needed updating. Very clean but dated. The flooring in the bathroom akin to hospital flooring! The bed and pillows extremely comfortable and had a lovely sleep. Down side was only enough coffee and tea for 1 drink each. Really needed more tea/coffe and maybe a bottle of water would be nice. Overall lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Janet A

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base for 2 nights
Wortley Hall was a good base for my recent visit for a family wedding held nearby. I was delighted to be given a room with such a great view since single rooms are often at the backs of hotels with a very limited or not very pleasant outlook.
The fact that weddings were also being held in Wortley Hall made for a very full dining room at breakfast on the Sunday morning and it really wasn't clear where you should go or what the procedure for breakfast was. The second morning the dining room was practically empty and I was asked what my room number was whereas no-one checked my room number the first morning when I may well have been the only non-wedding guest - that said both breakfasts were fine in terms of choice and quality of food.

Reviewed by
Carol M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar and restaurant staff were exceptional. All needs met . brilliant price paid for room.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wortley hall is set in acres of beautiful well kept gardens and in a quiet location with beautiful views . I found my single room to be spacious and quiet, i slept well on a clean comfortable bed . Breakfast was very pleasant with hot and cold options and as a vegetarian i had plenty to choose from ! I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends .

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad I Didn't Pay Full Price!
Title says it all really. I'm still not happy I paid the reduced price either to be honest! I know the place has over 500 years of history and it is great to see that but the rooms and corridors are in serious need of an update! Wallpaper and decor are very old fashioned as well as aged, paper peeling off the walls. Smells quite badly in certain areas and it is like a maze trying to find the rooms! Can't say I'd be happy to stay again. The only thing good about this place are the amazing gardens

Reviewed by
Kirsty C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next