No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wortley Hall

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
WORTLEY HALL, WORTLEY VILLAGE , SHEFFIELD, S35 7DB
Stay at Wortley Hall Bed & Breakfast and relax within 26 acres of formal garden and woodland. Within the grounds there is a small lake
an abundance of wildlife and pleasant walks in a very peaceful environment.
The bar lounges provide a comfortable atmosphere for relaxing in the evenings with free wifi available. Food is available from 12 noon until 8.45pm every day. Our popular Restaurant is open Tuesday to Saturday.

Wortley Hall Ltd is a company in its own right, a member of the Co-operative Union and with the Registry of Friendly Societies.
Established as an Education / Recreation Centre in 1951 and since that time has operated on co-operative principles.
Any operating surplus is spent on the Hall either in maintenance or development. Wortley Hall offers B&B, Conferences, Weddings & Self Catering Cottage facilities.
Picture of Wortley Hall , SHEFFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wortley hall is set in acres of beautiful well kept gardens and in a quiet location with beautiful views . I found my single room to be spacious and quiet, i slept well on a clean comfortable bed . Breakfast was very pleasant with hot and cold options and as a vegetarian i had plenty to choose from ! I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends .

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad I Didn't Pay Full Price!
Title says it all really. I'm still not happy I paid the reduced price either to be honest! I know the place has over 500 years of history and it is great to see that but the rooms and corridors are in serious need of an update! Wallpaper and decor are very old fashioned as well as aged, paper peeling off the walls. Smells quite badly in certain areas and it is like a maze trying to find the rooms! Can't say I'd be happy to stay again. The only thing good about this place are the amazing gardens

Reviewed by
Kirsty C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisurely stay
The hotel was very pleasant and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. The layout of the hotel made it a challenge to find our room but we got there eventually.
We had booked an evening meal and the food was excellent and the choice of food was good. I have to say after reading some reviews we were looking forward to breakfast. Unfortunately this was a big disappointment .The selection of food at breakfast was good but most of the food was cold.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big rooms and extremely clean
The bed was very big and the cleanliness of the room was outstanding. Staff were very helpfull.

Reviewed by
Bradley R

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The building was all it said it would be great amounts of character from the wood panelling to the grand stairs in the hallway. The grounds were wonderfull and the staff very friendly. The only negative comment I could make, is that we ordered a meal at the bar and it took an inordinate amount of time to arrive. We new there was a wedding on and the staff were busy with that but when you pay money to stay away somewhere you expect a decent level of service. All in all I would still stay here again very nice.

Reviewed by
t lowe

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy stay
Great hotel in a great location.

Reviewed by
Ryan B

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compton Organ Installation team member - Barugh Green
An ideal venue to act as base for business. Once the protect is complete I look forward to using Wortley Hall for leisure stays. Assuming the figures remain good. Its very good value for single rooms.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charmingly Original
A grand old country house run by a cooperative, in a beautiful rural setting, just minutes away from the Peak District. The rambling corridors are covered in memorabilia of the Union movement, and the building exudes heaps of character - particularly the Pankhurst Library if you can sneak a peak. The rooms are modern but not charmless. Take the time to explore the beautiful grounds. The service was very helpful- swapping me to a quieter room away from a wedding party without quibble. Its nice to see an hotel cater for single travellers rather than trying to charge the "full' room rate.

Reviewed by
H Twite

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strange place!
An amazing find; a stately home run as a great hotel but on very cooperative principles; almost like a luxury interpretation of a communist state's accommodation.
Excellent value for money, lovely rooms (perhaps more suited to conference and function guests than business or "luxury" travellers), great breakfast and wonderful surroundings.

Reviewed by
Alex W

From West Kilbride, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and good location
This is not a top flight hotel and it does not pretend to be - the rooms are clean and comfortable, the surroundings are pleasant and very peaceful, the staff are approachable and helpful, the food is good and everything is freshly cooked. The bathrooms, although small, are fully equipped and spotlessly clean . It is conveniently located for Sheffield, Barnsley, etc.
The decor shows signs of wear in some of the public areas and some areas need some refurbishment, but this is a listed building, being run on a "not for profit" basis to preserve the heritage. Every time someone stays here it enables them to improve.
I enjoyed my stay and will stay again - if you want a modern city hotel, try the Premier or Ramada Encore, etc complete with road noise.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next