Reviews - Wortley Hall



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (71)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • a wilson

  • October 2015

Lots of character in a fantastic location

We needed somewhere within the area to stay and were not disappointed, great location within area and service was lovely, room was spacious and very practical.


  • Carol S

  • August 2015

Short stay

It would have been good to have an anti-slip mat in the bathroom, somewhere to put the soap when showering and a grab rail - even people in their late sixties can stumble getting out of the bath!

  • D Jarvis

  • August 2015

Great ambience and beautiful surroundings

Great venue for both weddings and the casual visitor.

A grand setting with lovely grounds and views. Plently of local walks both within the grounds and locally. Very comfortable accommodation and friendly service.

  • James Nimmo

  • August 2015

Excellent and Peaceful situation, convenient and yet secluded.

  • Shakeel A

  • August 2015

Wortley Hall

Fine for what wanted.

Good price.

  • Martin Moore

  • August 2015


The problem on my last two visits has been wedding receptions at the hotel.

It would be useful if one wing or section of the hotel was reserved for the wedding and the associated guests and other parts for business or travellers. Once again I was near the throbbing music of the evening event and of course the wedding party take over the hotel.

Food lacking in comparison with past visits.

  • martin curry

  • July 2015

Alternative to Travelodge

Hotel had real character and was in a fantastic location but might be a bit draughty in the winter months

  • chris h

  • June 2015

beautiful surroundings with average rooms.

We were literally using this as a hotel as the usual chains were full, whereas to me this is more of a function accommodation.

The room doesn't reflect the price, you are clearly paying for the property and grounds.

It would be worth staying here for weddings etc.

  • Rachael D

  • May 2015

Top marks for garden and breakfast

Wonderful stately building with panoramic views and gardens.

The rhododendrons brought a mass of vibrant colour to the garden in May. Our room was clean, smart and had been fairly recently refurbished with modern wooden furniture and an unusual choice of garish carpet. The room would once have been a lot larger in its day. It was spacious enough but the shape felt like it had been sliced in half. The bed was comfortable with crisp white duvet and pillow cases. The bathroom had old plumbing which meant that every time the toilet was flushed we could hear loud, strange pipe noises for minutes afterwards. The shower was small but with a good flow of hot water. The guests next door let their door bang (perhaps in response to our plumbing!) which made our windows rattle several times during the evening. A slow release door mechanism would have been appreciated. The corridors leading to our room had seen better days and could have done with a spruce up. We ate in the bar which was very comfortable and quiet at 7pm, bar the piped music. The fish and chips were very good, so was the pie of the day. Our daughter chose a burger and chips which arrived without a bread bun which I thought a little odd. I offered to ask for one but she was quite happy without. Veltins served on draught pleased my partner. Prices were very reasonable and the staff were friendly and courteous. The buffet style breakfast, served in a wood panelled room with decorated ceiling, was delicious. Sausages, bacon and eggs were locally sourced and there was plenty of choice. The hotel staff took three attempts to confirm my booking correctly by email, however during our stay they were all professional and friendly. The positives outweighed the smaller negatives during our visit and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Alison T

  • May 2015

Not what I envisaged

The Hall stands in magnificient gardens which are truly beautiful but the interior of the building is tired and in need of refurbishment.

First impressions not great as I walked from the car to reception I could see a mouse sitting on the main steps. The Reception staff are friendly and welcoming. My room was a considerable walk from reception and the layout of the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren to find your way around. I dont know if there are any lifts, I didn't see any. The spiral staircase is a bit of a challenge with a suitcase etc. The room was adequate in size but the mattress was ancient and very uncomfortable and the towels old and worn. I couldn't use the lounge as a large group of people were having a lecture, so I spent the evening in my room. Breakfast doesn't start till 7.30am, I needed to leave early so was offered a breakfast bag to take away. I asked what that would contain, and was told probably a yogurt, water and a sandwich and this would be left in the dining room under the heat lamps. Yoghurt - heat lamps ?. It didn't have the feel of a regular hotel. The rate was about the same as a city centre hotel and honestly I wish I had opted for that.