You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Wortley Hall

4

WORTLEY HALL, WORTLEY, SHEFFIELD, S35 7DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • l hedges

  • April 2016

Wortley Hall

Impressive grounds, comfy bed, rooms a little tired but some rooms have been refurbed so work in progress visited for a family wedding so was not an issue we had a room which hadn't been refurbed but was clean and had lovely views to make up for the tired decor.

  • kim b

  • April 2016

Wortley Hall

We were at wortley hall for a friend's wedding.

The wedding itself was excellent, as we're the staff who catered for us during the event and the food that was served for the wedding breakfast. However the room was not in my opinion worth £97 and had I not been a wedding guest, would not have chosen to stay here. The facilities in the room were lacking, with a tiny ancient hairdryer, cheap old pine units and a TV that didn't stand up straight. I also found the bathroom to be very dusty in obvious places ie along the tops of the tiles, which were within eye height. The room was very warm, and even with the window open it seemed stuffy and difficult to sleep. All in all, I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you're a wedding/function guest, and even then would consider the hotel 5 minutes down the road for more up to date facilities for the cost.

  • s brown

  • March 2016

Terrible place to stay, go to nearby hotel for a better nights sleep

They didn't tell me when I booked that they had a wedding reception on the Friday and another on the Saturday night of my 3 night stay, they then gave me a room above the reception venue and above the smoking courtyard so when all the party guests were smoking and drinking the noise right under my window was crazy.

I complained to the night receptionist and he just said they were full and couldn't change my room. No customer service here and I started each day tired, the main reason for a hotel is to give its guests a good nights rest. You don't get that at this hotel. There are hotels nearby, I will stay there in future.

  • Geoff Palmer

  • March 2016

Top Class

We booked a room in order to stay after a wedding reception.

The room was excellent, very clean and a very comfortable bed. Would stay again

  • Sadie H

  • February 2016

Lovely accommodation

Good price through LateRooms very nice accommodation and food

  • David H

  • February 2016

Wortley Hall

The hotel is in a fantastic setting with a generally good service and plenty of original features to add to the charm of the property, our room appeared recently decorated but quality of finish relatively poor, a patch on the wall had been painted over but not prepared properly and was blistered and uneven, new sockets behind TV (still visible) had plaster and paint all over them.

However, this did not distract from an overall good experience, the restaurant doesn't open Mondays so ate in local pub which was excellent, breakfast was okay but nothing special, similar to Beefeater /Harvester self serve. Would happily stay again.

  • David T

  • November 2015

Very Disappointing

Only Ensuite rooms listed as available on Laterooms; only on arriving found the venue graded rooms as premium and standard although our room was barely standard and definitely not 4 star quality and not as represented in the gallery images.

The room was small and very tired in its decor, e.g. lampshades were buckled and light bulbs mismatched, bed creaked, curtains bleached by sun, wallpaper marked, window frames covered with condensation molds, the television did not work and there was no bath only a shower. The common parts are very tired and often grubby. At breakfast the food that was available was adequate but not of exceptional quality and the range of cereals was limited with only tinned grapefruit and no yoghurts set out; again not representative of a "four star" establishment. Only staying one night and not in the hotel except to sleep so let things go but would have complained in other circumstances but did point out some defects on departure. Staff were generally friendly but lacked awareness of our stay arrangements asking for payment on departure although this had been settled in advance. At £97 a night most definitely not value for money.

  • Michael Payne

  • November 2015

Set within stunning views the initial impression was good.

Friendly staff met us at reception. The room was functional with out much flare. The bed was comfortable and the room warm enough.

We went for a drink at the bar, once again friendly staff but there was an underlying smell in the lounge, think it could have been the drains.

Overall a pleasant enough stay.

  • a wilson

  • October 2015

Lots of character in a fantastic location

We needed somewhere within the area to stay and were not disappointed, great location within area and service was lovely, room was spacious and very practical.

recommended

  • Carol S

  • August 2015

Short stay

It would have been good to have an anti-slip mat in the bathroom, somewhere to put the soap when showering and a grab rail - even people in their late sixties can stumble getting out of the bath!