No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wortley Hall

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
WORTLEY HALL, WORTLEY VILLAGE , SHEFFIELD, S35 7DB
Stay at Wortley Hall Bed & Breakfast and relax within 26 acres of formal garden and woodland. Within the grounds there is a small lake
an abundance of wildlife and pleasant walks in a very peaceful environment.
The bar lounges provide a comfortable atmosphere for relaxing in the evenings with free wifi available. Food is available from 12 noon until 8.45pm every day. Our popular Restaurant is open Tuesday to Saturday.

Wortley Hall Ltd is a company in its own right, a member of the Co-operative Union and with the Registry of Friendly Societies.
Established as an Education / Recreation Centre in 1951 and since that time has operated on co-operative principles.
Any operating surplus is spent on the Hall either in maintenance or development. Wortley Hall offers B&B, Conferences, Weddings & Self Catering Cottage facilities.
Picture of Wortley Hall , SHEFFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place good value

Reviewed by
paul t

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor reception for wifi and hence could not use internet.

Reviewed by
S Budithi

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wortley hall review
Beautiful hotel with superb gardens. Enjoyed our stay. The only negative point was that our room wasn't cleaned or bed made.

Reviewed by
SHARON T

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre break
The hotel is based in an old stately home which is very attractive and set in lovely grounds. It also has an interesting history as a trades union holiday facility/conference centre. Only had breakfast, which was very good. Only slight negative is the decor is a little tired which is a shame as the building, I think, warrants better. This did not detract from our enjoyment.
Reception staff were very polite, courteous and helpful. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ian Bowring

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wortley Hall - not a great experience
Room - tired, wallpaper peeling off, carpet seen better days, plaster falling off walls around windows and behind shutters, central heating stuck on tepid. Lack of power points, no wardrobe.
Bathroom - patched linoleum flooring, used toiletries not replaced after first night, heating as above.
Self-service breakfast - warming plates / lights inadequate resulting in cold inedible congealed greasy presentation of food in those serving dishes that weren't already empty.
Rude bar staff and reception staff couldn't direct us to the lift, when asked. No reception staff at 11pm when attempting to retrieve room key.
Only positives are the location, the external structure, beautiful gardens and the magnificent views from the terrace.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb food
Enjoyed a lovely stay, view from window was beautiful. The food at the restaurant was excellent, had the duck and asparagus for starters, the cheeky pig and rump steak with blue cheese sauce for mains and cheese board and choc brownie for desserts. The only downside was we couldn't find our room and the restaurant easily so better signage.

Reviewed by
z riordan

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sons Wedding
We stopped over on the 23rd May for our sons wedding, we found it to be a excellent hotel and very well organised right from the time we arrived, all through the wedding, excellent food, all rooms very clean with everything you would require. Fantastic place.

Reviewed by
B Purvis

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Was ok but wouldn't rush back

Reviewed by
richard c

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great surroundings
Worley hall is a lovely place to stay, magnificent gardens a great stately home, theroomwas a bit tired and in need of updating, the hotel is in need of some work, but much to be expected given the potential costs of upkeep as it is a listed building. The gardens are extensive and well looked after. The only down side is that it is a popular wedding venue, and this results in music till late and young kids / girls running up and down the corridors screaming and having no respect for other guests.

Reviewed by
Seane Wilkinson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wortley hall hotel, fantastic value, friendly, clean and comfortable
Friendly staff, great building, lovely clean room, excellent value for money, would well recommend a stay

Reviewed by
V Slack

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next