Wortley Hall

4

WORTLEY HALL, WORTLEY, SHEFFIELD, S35 7DB

Price From 100.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (78)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • peter s

  • January 2015

Stately home meets socialist worker

A bizarre place - massive stately home with beautiful grounds, the public rooms are spectacular but contrast this with corridors full of union and soviet style posters - Morning star even available at reception.

Amazing value at £39 inc breakfast. Bedrooms are noisy if you are unlucky to be near a firedoor - as firedoors bang when closing (surely that could be rectified easily!). Bedrooms are tired and window lock ceased to work years ago - on balance an unusual good place to stay .

  • Michael D

  • January 2015

Unusual place to stay in the country

An old country mansion with an interesting history and large reception rooms well renovated.

It mainly seems to be a conference centre for the trade union movement. The staff ware pleasant and attentive, and catering good. Room was OK, a bit dated, but warm and well supplied.

  • mandy F

  • December 2014

Mother daughter break

Beautiful building and grounds.

Very peaceful. Staff were extremely helpful. Lovely breakfast. Would stay there again.

  • david camp

  • November 2014

Nice clean, comfortable accommodation in an attractive and interesting building set in beautiful grounds.

Excellent breakfast and very good value.

  • t wilson

  • November 2014

excellent

very interesting venue enjoyed our visit

  • david g

  • November 2014

Wortley Hall

Accommodation is very basic for the price tag.

Breakfast was bland and only just warm.

  • D McLean

  • October 2014

This is not 4-star accommodation ... beware! 2-star at best

We arrived thinking that from the look of both the website and the photos on laterooms.com, we were expecting a quality four star hotel.

Instead, once we'd past the beautiful facade of the exterior and the neutral reception area - we were left with a room that felt more like a prison cell than a hotel room.

Even when I complained, they said they were only a three-star hotel, even though they boasted four star plaques everywhere. How they got four stars, I have no idea. The most important sentence from the establishment was that "they are not a hotel, but guest accommodation". Do not trust any "online rating". We even had to pay an extra £20 to check out at midday, instead of 10am one Sunday. We didn't experience breakfast as it finished at 9.30am... This "guest accommodation" as they called it, was essentially a wedding factory that wanted people in and out as quick as possible. Don't be fooled by any good review, which will be fake, or any photo which will purely be showing the single good room they have. We paid £65 in total in the end... but even this was far too much.

  • James M

  • October 2014

A great find. This nicely quirky hotel is a refreshing change from the chains

I liked this hotel very much.

You are in a peaceful setting after a busy day, which helps recharge your batteries. It is excellent value and I thought the food was excellent; unpretentious and wholesome food well cooked. Best steak I've had in a while. My single room was a bit cramped and cell like but clean and with a good bed. First night was a bit grueling with a snorer on the other side of the plasterboard but thankfully silent the rest of the week. I'm sure there are better rooms at a different rate. All in all I would go back without hesitation

  • Janet A

  • October 2014

Nice stay

Beautiful building with lovely staff.

Even though we were staying over at a wedding reception, the hotel was very quiet and easy to sleep. The room wasn't very big but the bathroom was. Bathroom definitely needed updating. Very clean but dated. The flooring in the bathroom akin to hospital flooring. The bed and pillows extremely comfortable and had a lovely sleep. Down side was only enough coffee and tea for 1 drink each. Really needed more tea/coffe and maybe a bottle of water would be nice. Overall lovely stay.

  • Kevin S

  • October 2014

Bar and restaurant staff were exceptional.

All needs met . brilliant price paid for room.