No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Acorn Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
4 Radcliffe Road , Nottingham, NG2 5FW
Conveniently situated in Nottingham and just two hundred yards from Trent Bridge & The River Trent, the Acorn Hotel offers a friendly welcome with the added touches that come from a family-run business.

We offer guests clean and comfortable en-suite rooms. The Acorn also has a private car park. The Acorn Guest House has a number of regular visitors who return frequently to enjoy the excellent value accommodation.

We are conveniently located for International & County cricket at Trent Bridge, football at Nottingham Forest and Notts County, the National Watersports Centre and Nottingham City Centre and The Arena.

Picture of Acorn Hotel, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Value for money is great. I wanted a room with a comfy bed and safe and warm. It's what I got. Happy with what I got. Don't expect too much

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and functional hotel
Friendly service, functional rooms, has everything you would normally need, just a good functional no frills hotel with very friendly service.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
David Y

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acorn Hotel West Bridgford
Spacious clean room with comfortable bed - bathroom immaculate - recently developed and not quite finished but excellent value for money - friendly service. Very quiet at night despite situation on main road

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
I don't normally leave a negative review, but we were disappointed with our stay. We chose the Acorn as it was close to the venue we were going to for my daughter's wedding. There was no one to greet us, had to call a mobile number on door to get in at 3 in the afternoon, took us a while to find the 2nd room. Building works in progress, a door or something similar was stuck opposite our room, down the corridor the floorboards were us, which we discovered while trying to locate the other room. Rooms rather tired, which normally would not really have bothered us. The gentleman was friendly and pleasant. Breakfast was 7 - 8.30 and he came to see us at 8am to say that he had to go out so would we mind helping ourselves to the continental breakfast (which composed of a small choice of cereals, toast and jam tea and instant coffee). The builders were in the kitchen while we had our breakfast. Wouldn't stay here again, and definitely not worth the money we paid, and I think they might be better off closing during the refurbishment or at least charging much less per night for the inconvenience. Sorry to make a bad review, but felt it was worth mentioning these points..

Reviewed by
isabel b

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
The hotel is nice. Room was adequate. Bed was extremely comfortable wanted to take it home. Only things which were a let down was the room was a little cold as heating does not go on till 6pm. Water was cold. But that was down to boiler fault. Staff were extremely friendly would stay again. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
n fisk

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acorn hotel - basic
Had a single room. No shower, only had toilet with sink and the room. Bed and the room was ok. Nothing special at all. I realised that i would have to share a shower, but nobody at check in had pointed out where it was. So had no idea. Not pleased with that. Wifi not working and so only noticed that when i saw the sign on the front door! Not pleased bout that either. Other than that it was ok. Food i didn't end up having as I had to shoot out quickly so not really sure about wether or not the food was good. x

Reviewed by
Natalie L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin!
Can't fault this for location, welcome or value - Trent Bridge Cricket Ground on the doorstep, Town Centre half an hours walk in, rooms were clean, beds comfortable and our hosts friendly and available with advice. I'd go again quite happily.

Reviewed by
K Benson

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better Than Expected
Having read some of the other reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. I was met with a warm welcome and well looked after. The room was basic but did the job. Would certainly consider staying again.

Reviewed by
James L

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find
We stayed in the associated apartment and found it to be very spacious and well suited to our needs. The staff were exceedingly friendly and the rooms were very clean and tidy .

Reviewed by
Gemma M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bates Hotel of Nottingham
I was directed by the national water sports centre to stay here this hotel and am disabled 6ft,4 serviceman injured from Afghanistan and once I got my key I was told my room was at the back of the hotel on the third floor where the owner and his Friend watch me walk off with my two bags and walking sticks.
The stairs have hand rails half way up the stairs and once I got to my room I was in an attic room where the room sloped down bearing in mind am 6ft,4 once I got myself in to bed all I could hear was the beat of so music from an other building Behind the hotel
.And on the way down the stairs they are steep I struggled on the way down
This hotel was very sub standard and should be avoided and treated like a firework at arms distance

Reviewed by
Mark H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next