No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barton Cross Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Barton Cross Hotel, Huxham, Stoke Cannon, Exeter, EX5 4EJ
The Barton Cross Hotel is a harmonious blend of seventeenth century charm with twenty-first century luxury. This delightful character property set under a thatched roof with beamed ceilings, old stone inglenook fireplaces and a stunning galleried restaurant, offers large modern letting bedrooms with all the facilities the tourist or business executive could ask for.The Hotel is set in glorious Devon countryside ,yet is less than 4 miles from the centre of the historic city of Exeter.The Restaurant at the Barton Cross is renown throughout Devon and has rossette awards from the AA and recommendations from both the Good Food and Michelin Guides.
Picture of The Barton Cross Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and comfortable
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our twin room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped with a small dressing area. We dined here on 2 nights and the food was great. Would like to return in the future.

Reviewed by
Sandy M

From Coulsdon, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barton Cross Hotel
Used as a one night stop-over so my review is limited. Hotel is positioned in a very small quiet village which is fine for one night but would be restrictive for a longer stay. We only had sandwiches to eat which we thought ok but a little overpriced as they were very basic. Good sized bedroom with en-suite

Reviewed by
A Gould

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with old world charm
A beautiful 17th century thatched cottage with charming, spacious rooms - this hotel was a pleasant surprise as we only booked just after midnight for the next day's accommodation . Laterooms was easy and efficient.
Despite this quaint, cottage with beautifully clean rooms and a charming welcome, the highlight was the evening meal. All meals were cooked from scratch and these well-presented, delicious meals were served in gorgeous, candle-lit dinning room.
The only criticism we had was the slow service - but the food was worth the wait!

Reviewed by
Jean Kingham

From Surrey, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing too much for Bryan
All in all an excellent stay and experience

Reviewed by
graham lawrence

From benfleet, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds were a bit too hard

Reviewed by
Sue Smith

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay
pleasent hotel, comfortable and clean. Would stay again...

Reviewed by
Eddie Brooker

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay - thankyou
Really enjoyed our stay here, Brian the owner could not have done more to be helpful. Food was full of great flavours and was most welcome on our trip from scotland. Staff were pleasant and efficient so we will return next year.

Reviewed by
grant willoughby

From Dingwall, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review
The hotel was ideal for those seeking a quiet and peaceful country location. The food and service were excellent.

Reviewed by
Roger J

From Altrincham, England
Who stayed in May 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.