No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hollies Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Kenilworth Road , Solihull, B92 0LW
Welcome to The Hollies, a friendly Guest House providing lovely B&B accommodation very near the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and Birmingham International Train Station (close to junction 6 of the M42). It is ideal for visitors, exhibitors and contractors at the NEC and the perfect place to stay before you fly from Birmingham International Airport.
Also close by are The lake at Barston, West Midlands Golf Club, Stonebridge Golf Club, Forest of Arden, Birmingham Business Park and Solihull Town Centre - making it an excellent base for business or pleasure.
All rooms are en-suite with TV and Tea/Coffee facilities, rates include a full English breakfast and wifi is provided free of charge. There is a guest lounge for your comfort and private parking.
Picture of The Hollies Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not luxury
Cleanliness was good. Room was ok. Mates matress was threadbare with springs coming through. Freeview box kept losing signal every 20 seconds.. very poor for this day and age. But for £50 a night in that area i didnt think was too bad. But deffinately not luxury.

Reviewed by
richard h

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hollies
Paul was a very welcoming host, and could not do enough for me. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food was more than adequate. I will definitely use The Hollies again, and will recommend it to friends. I found it to be easily accessible to the NEC which was great!

Reviewed by
G uttley

From york, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round room and service
The room I thought I booked was a double but what we got was twin, having said that it was very comfortable. The shower was sluggish and the door was difficult to open and close to the bathroom.
The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Chosen because of its location for the NEC, this place was excellent - clean, comfortable and friendly. Would definitely stay again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Julie Aldridge

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money clean comfortable and wonderful breakfast, would have been nice to have been able to have a bit more of a lie in on a Sunday as breakfast was 7-9.00

Reviewed by
cathrine g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guest house.
Not much in the area around the guest house and car is a must to get around, but the guest house is very very good. Good value for money, with included shower room, and breakfast. Room is cosy, guest host is friendly and helpful. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Justin A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value accomodation for NEC or airport, will use again
Really great value place, and friendly reception from Paul.
I needed somewhere for a couple of nights near the NEC, and this fitted the bill perfectly.
Positives: reasonable price (inc full breakfast made to order), clean, and quiet, en-suite bathroom, everything you need.
Negatives: a little tricky to find (if you miss the turning you have to do quite a significant u-turn) so a map on the website and clear signposting would have been helpful - luckily I emailed first for more precise directions. There were a couple of issues with the wifi, but these were sorted when the proprietor re-started the router.
Good food was found nearby at the Bull's Head (nice village pub), and the takeaway (Bengal Brasserie) down the road was good too.
I would definitely come back here, thanks!

Reviewed by
Daniel L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the only minor problem was the TV reception was very bad

Reviewed by
Colin Nash

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel fantastic breakfast
The hardest part is finding this hotel as you need to do a mile or so you turn
Great welcome from the owner who works so hard alone to make sure
your stay is comfortable. The room was very cosy and very well
decored. Breakfast was fast arriving and perfectly cooked.
Only small issues were the tap water takes a few minutes to get warm
and could do with more tea and milk in room
but otherwise perfect.

Reviewed by
Michael Johnson

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A more than pleasant stay
Excellent accommodation and friendly, welcoming owner.

Reviewed by
Emma Norton-Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next