No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hollies Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Kenilworth Road , Solihull, B92 0LW
Welcome to The Hollies, a friendly Guest House providing lovely B&B accommodation very near the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and Birmingham International Train Station (close to junction 6 of the M42). It is ideal for visitors, exhibitors and contractors at the NEC and the perfect place to stay before you fly from Birmingham International Airport.
Also close by are The lake at Barston, West Midlands Golf Club, Stonebridge Golf Club, Forest of Arden, Birmingham Business Park and Solihull Town Centre - making it an excellent base for business or pleasure.
All rooms are en-suite with TV and Tea/Coffee facilities, rates include a full English breakfast and wifi is provided free of charge. There is a guest lounge for your comfort and private parking.
Picture of The Hollies Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I stayed at the B&B with my niece. Paul was extremely helpful when we both got lost - it is very difficult to find the house as there is no sign from the dual carriageway, behind which is the house. The breakfast was very good. The reason it was a disappointing stay, was because - 1. The TV didn't work in the room. 2. The advert states : free WiFi. The WiFi did not work which we both needed.
3. bathroom door did not close propely - very difficult to open it! The shower did not work properly. It switched off ever time you took your finger off the button.

Reviewed by
L Payne

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

March visit
The only issue I had was finding the guest house. It is set back from the road on the carriageway from Balsall Common to the M42. A note to say that phoning the GH would be advantageous unless you had been there before, would be helpful. Once I was there everything was good. The 5 for the food was simply that I wasn't keen on the coffee provided.

Reviewed by
M Stanway

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, ideal for business.
I spent 5 nights at the Hollies due to a business trip in the area. I found it ideal in respect of location, cleanliness, food, comfort and easy parking. Its a guest house, but I have to say its above average, the owner obviously takes pride in it. I will stay there again if I need to return to the area again.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and Cosy
Bit hard to find the place with no signs out front, but a very enjoyable stay.
Super quiet, nice size room, uber comfy bed, clean areas and carpets, small but good bathroom.
Will stay again!

Reviewed by
J Hancock

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

internet access
Both my daughter and I were unable to get onto wifi while we were there. We reported the problem which the owner said he would deal with. But nothing changed.Frustrating as we were there on business and therefore needed our internet access. Had to travel elsewhere to get this.

Reviewed by
J Childs

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Very welcoming arrival comfortable stay in smart, clean surroundings

Reviewed by
Leslie Hoskins

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in a few guest houses around Birmingham for around the same price and this is far the best. Room was very modern extremely clean and comfortable stay Thank you Paul

Reviewed by
k smallman

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
My wife booked me into the Hollies after reading some reviews.
I can only added to the good reviews.
The overall impression of the accommodation was excellent and the staff
Very friendly and helpful,
I will be looking at staying here again in the future.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Wills

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two star commendation at best

Reviewed by
John G

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great B&B
The room was clean and tidy and warm....and the cooked breakfast was excellent,very good value for money

Reviewed by
A How

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next