Reviews - The Hollies Guest House


Kenilworth Road, Solihull, B92 0LW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sam C

  • October 2015

Excellent value for money

I stay at guest houses regularly and this one is excellent value for money.

Paul is a friendly and helpful host, the room was tastefully decorated and clean with a comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious and it is very handy for the NEC. I would definitely stay again.

  • robert goldie

  • September 2015

Stayed in the attic room which wasn't ideal.

Bathroom was so small was difficult to brush your teeth and not spit on your feet. Mattress was a disgrace must have been older than me and to charge for that and think it is ok is not right

  • Simon Smith

  • June 2015

Good value, clean and friendly

If you have a car and don't need to be in the centre of town then this is a good place to stay.

You could get better if you wanted to spend more money however what you do get is great value and because it's a family run business you get a friendly personal approach. It's a notch or so above your regular B&B. It was a bit difficult to find just using the postcode in my satnav so it is well worth looking it up on Street view, or a map first. I read in other reviews that the toilets make a sound, which is true but it didn't disturb my sleep so unless you are a very light sleeper don't let that put you off. As I said before if you've got a car and don't need to be in the town centre then this place is great value and good quality.

  • David D

  • May 2015

A great value for money guest house

Clean comfortable accommodation with excellent breakfast, will definitely stay again, good location

  • Amy H

  • May 2015

A lovely place to stay!

The Hollies was a lovely place to stay.

I had a very warm welcome and the room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay again.

  • A Watters

  • March 2015

Well looked after

The Hollies was a comfortable and pleasant guest house and, as long as you have a car, it is an ideal base for exhibiting at the NEC in Birmingham.

We were well looked after and the food was excellent.

  • S Fox

  • February 2015

Cheap but good!

We loved this b and b - the owner was friendly and more than willing to help with everything.

Only thing we disliked was that their was no restaurants near by however we loved the cafe at the garden centre 1 min away. Would recommend to anyone.


  • February 2015

The Hollies Guest House

A warm welcome.Clean room and comfy bed.As a single lady felt safe staying by myself.Going to use again later in year.Good breakfast.All in all a great place to stay.

  • P Meacham

  • December 2014

The Hollies Guest House

Very nice, lovely breakfast set me up for the day ahead, The TV would not keep its signal and the shower door needed a mend but a lovely room.

Paul very helpful. Thank you.

  • Marianne Regan

  • December 2014

Don't listen to negative reviews!

I spent four nights at The Hollies Guest House and after reading some of the negative reviews I was apprehensive.

I was attending a funeral and every else was fully booked. However, when I arrived there I was immediately greeted by the owner, Paul and he carried my suitcase to my room. He showed me my lovely, clean room and gave me the security code for the front door. Breakfast was good and I particularly like strong tea which I was served. I really don't understand the negative reviews for The Hollies Guest House and I for one would strongly recommend this guest house. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms looked great and clean. I didn't find any problems with the shower.