No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hollies Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Kenilworth Road , Solihull, B92 0LW
Welcome to The Hollies, a friendly Guest House providing lovely B&B accommodation very near the NEC, Birmingham International Airport and Birmingham International Train Station (close to junction 6 of the M42). It is ideal for visitors, exhibitors and contractors at the NEC and the perfect place to stay before you fly from Birmingham International Airport.
Also close by are The lake at Barston, West Midlands Golf Club, Stonebridge Golf Club, Forest of Arden, Birmingham Business Park and Solihull Town Centre - making it an excellent base for business or pleasure.
All rooms are en-suite with TV and Tea/Coffee facilities, rates include a full English breakfast and wifi is provided free of charge. There is a guest lounge for your comfort and private parking.
Picture of The Hollies Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hollies Guest House
Very nice, lovely breakfast set me up for the day ahead, The TV would not keep its signal and the shower door needed a mend but a lovely room. Paul very helpful. Thank you.

Reviewed by
P Meacham

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value at Laterooms Price
Arrived to a good welcome but was asked to pay before being shown to the room. Minor points of cleanliness were spotted by my partner but didn`t detract much from the room generally. A compact en-suite with another couple of minor clean issues. Banged my elbows in the shower cubicle, I`m used to more space that`s all. The Breakfast was by far the best feature of the Hollies. Mine host was very attentive to make sure everything was just right. All in all not a bad experience and very handy for the NEC. If I visit the NEC again I could well stay here, if only for the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't listen to negative reviews!
I spent four nights at The Hollies Guest House and after reading some of the negative reviews I was apprehensive. I was attending a funeral and every else was fully booked. However, when I arrived there I was immediately greeted by the owner, Paul and he carried my suitcase to my room. He showed me my lovely, clean room and gave me the security code for the front door. Breakfast was good and I particularly like strong tea which I was served.
I really don't understand the negative reviews for The Hollies Guest House and I for one would strongly recommend this guest house. Nothing was too much trouble.
Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms looked great and clean. I didn't find any problems with the shower.

Reviewed by
Marianne Regan

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hollies, Solihull
Stayed for two nights for business. Nice, friendly welcome and pleasant room. Good shower and very comfortable bed. On site parking which is very useful. Would stay again in business when in the area.

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its absolutely fine for £35.00
I stay in hotels about 3 nights a week and I booked this accommodation because it was £35.00 knowing it wasn't likely to be fantastic but it was 2 miles from a venue i needed to be near to. After booking I then read the reviews and saw some pretty bad comments so I expected the worst. Do you know what ? it was absolutely fine, the proprietor was absolutely fine, the parking was fine, the location was great for me, the breakfast was lovely and absolutely red hot ... the only things i could say weren't up to scratch were the TV (which was a very small portable and kept cutting out during the England game which was very annoying - why not buy an ariel booster or spend some money putting real feeds in to the rooms?) and the random toilet noise which happened every couple of hours throughout the night. Yes the room was a bit grubby in places (the window blind) and the bed could have been better ... but come on ... you're paying £35 including a full English breakfast ??? the next night I stayed at another hotel for £105 on the same basis and it wasn't £70 better ... so be realistic, you're probably booking this place because its cheap so you can't expect it to be like the Savoy ... its absolutely fine for the money you are paying.

Reviewed by
James J

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not luxury
Cleanliness was good. Room was ok. Mates matress was threadbare with springs coming through. Freeview box kept losing signal every 20 seconds.. very poor for this day and age. But for £50 a night in that area i didnt think was too bad. But deffinately not luxury.

Reviewed by
richard h

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hollies
Paul was a very welcoming host, and could not do enough for me. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food was more than adequate. I will definitely use The Hollies again, and will recommend it to friends. I found it to be easily accessible to the NEC which was great!

Reviewed by
G uttley

From york, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round room and service
The room I thought I booked was a double but what we got was twin, having said that it was very comfortable. The shower was sluggish and the door was difficult to open and close to the bathroom.
The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Chosen because of its location for the NEC, this place was excellent - clean, comfortable and friendly. Would definitely stay again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Julie Aldridge

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next