No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tudor House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Bell Busk, Near Malham, Skipton, BD23 4DT
Tudor House dates from 1849.
It was built as Bell Busk Station, to service the village of Malham, by the North Western Railway Company (a.k.a. “Little North Western”), which was soon to be amalgamated with The Midland Railway.
The line was originally the Leeds to Morecambe route, but by 1876 the now famous Settle to Carlisle line was completed and became part of the main west coast route between London & Scotland.
The station was closed on 4th May 1959.
The property first became a B&B/Guesthouse during the 1970’s, and nowadays offers a unique experience combining comfort, hospitality and a fascinating piece of local history.
We will endeavour to build on the reputation developed by previous owners and expand and extend the range and level of experiences our guests can enjoy.
Apart from the bedrooms we have a comfortable dining area and a relaxing sunroom overlooking the railway line.
The unique residents lounge, fashioned from the original station Waiting Room, has a TV, radio/CD/MP3 and warming log-burning stove to ensure a cosy atmosphere.
Over an acre or well-kept gardens is the ideal environment for a relaxed day reading a book or chilling out after a hard days walking, sightseeing, cycling, pony trekking, shopping, bird watching or any of the other great variety of things to do locally.
Picture of Tudor House, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will certainly come back for future visits
What a fantastic gem in the dales to come and stay. Sheila and Bob are delightful hosts and so welcoming. They have everything covered for a perfect stay. Well worth a visit!

Reviewed by
Gary Frith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Training day
Truly warm and friendly couple running the place. Great location, the room next to rail line didn't cause any loss of sleep and was big enough to accommodate our dog and her 3' x 2' crate.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent All Round
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tudor House. Our room was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and had everything we could wish for. Sheila and Bob made us very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious with a great variety of cereals and fresh fruit and the cooked breakfast left nothing to be desired. Bob was extremely helpful in recommending walks and places to visit in the area. We had been slightly worried that the trains passing by would be noisy, but in fact they didn’t bother us at all. All in all, we can thoroughly recommend Tudor House for its location, beautiful gardens, friendly and helpful hosts, etc. etc.!!

Reviewed by
Robin V

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perhaps the best B&B I've ever stayed at!
Apart from Sheila and Bob not expecting us (not sure whether it was laterooms or themselves at fault [?]but fortunately they had a room available), the service, ambience,quality of accommodation and food were pretty well faultless. We were initially concerned at the proximity of the railway line but thanks to low frequency of trains and quietness of continuously welded track it was not a problem (and one of us is a very light sleeper). Those visiting should enjoy Bob's excellently prepared evening meals with good in-house wines.... no worries about drinking and driving. We shall definitely be staying there again, sooner rather than later.

Reviewed by
Michael Wilson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every effort was made to make us comfortable like providing me with die caffeinated tea and any minor repairs were immediately seen to. The room was very interesting, made to look like the inside of a railway compartment on The Orient Express. Bob and Shiela were very welcoming and I liked the locally sourced food which was delicious. Tea making facilities were good and the lounge very comfortable with a stove. The only thing I missed was not having a hair dryer !

Reviewed by
Pam S

From Whit by, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place not to be missed if you are intersted in railway history
When we arrived we were given a tour of what was an old railway station, which has been lovingly restored into a beautiful house. We were offered tea and hot cross buns in the guest lounge ( which had been the platform) with all the photos and information about the old station. We had booked a twin room and our hosts offered us an upgrade to a delux double, but we opted for the twin room which had bunk beds but not your ordinary bunk beds. The whole room was done as a room on the Orient Express, the attention to detail was amazing. What a clever idea for a small room. What a unique experience, not to be missed. The hospitality excellent, and we would recommend this B & B to anyone.

Reviewed by
Patricia Rush

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful pretty and desirable accommadtion
Bob and Sheila were wonderful hosts nothing was too much trouble for them. They wanted to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Although the house is very close to the railway line, as it is a converted station house with a lot of fascinating history which Sheila will tell you all about when you arrive, we never really heard the trains go by. The breakfast was really good, cooked by Bob, we did not have an evening meal because it had to be ordered in advance and we did not know but the menu sounded delicious. There are several Pubs quite near by including the Anchor which if I remember rightly was a brewers fare which meals are very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Alan Morley

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GATEWAY TO MALHAM DALE
Great welcome, owners very friendly and helpful to ensure a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
David Herbert

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short but very pleasant stay
Very welcoming and homely would like to return again breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
marilyn m

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Stay, can't wait to go again!
Tudor House is a truly wonderful place to stay, Sheila and Bob's welcoming manner has a lot to do with that. The room was beautiful and very well appointed, I love a nice cup of tea, therefore the full size kettle and mugs were a wonderful find. The outlook from the room we stayed in (Malhamdale) was stunning. We opted to have dinner in house, the food and service were both fantastic! In summary, we can't wait to go again, especially as my partner Chris wants us to have a view over the train tracks next time. Tudor House has also been recommended to his brother who is also a big train fan, we plan to all stay there in the not too distant future. Many thanks to Sheila and Bob for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
Kirsty Moston

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next