No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tennant Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Tennant Arms Hotel, Kilnsey, , Skipton, BD23 5PS
Nestling under Kilnsey Crag in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales approximately 12 miles from Skipton, the Tennant Arms was built in the 17th century as a coaching inn for travelers passing through Wharfedale. It is ideally suited for walking, touring and fishing with Kilsney Angling Club established in 1840 being based here with fishing on the river Wharfe and Skirfare. We are in easy reach of the market town of Skipton and spa towns of Harrogate and Ripon or for visiting Bolton Abbey and numerous other attractions. At the Tennant Arms you will be assured of a warm welcome, a fantastic location, great home cooked fresh food with a wide variety of dishes for all tastes, blazing log fire, well kept local and national Ales, plus a wide and varied wine list including local country wines and a high standard of accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you and ensuring your stay with us is comfortable, enjoyable and realxing!
Picture of Tennant Arms Hotel, Skipton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit over priced
Paid £90 for a twin room with breakfast. I've stayed in many inns in the dales for less with similar or better facilities. Room was nicely decorated and comfy beds. I was expecting to sample cask ales, as stated on pub website, they offer a range of cask ales. On our stay they only had one! How disappointing.
Evening meal....a strange complaint...but far too much food offered..over faced with veg.Most of it not eaten,this included all tables, however lady serving said it didn't matter about food waste because the local pig benefited
No one eating that night was offered a dessert or coffee....how odd. Perhaps they ran out of these as well as beer. Staff polite and caring. Biggest disappointment was no choice of cask ale!

Reviewed by
peter c

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
Food great accomadation great, staff went that extra mile when asked a favour by me for us would go back definately

Reviewed by
N Pamment

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious room and luxurious surroundings
Lovely setting, lovely rooom, lovely food and revitalising surroundings with lots of beautiful local places to visit.

Reviewed by
Sharon Jones

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A sub-standard experience...start to finish. Such a disappointment for a Birthday celebration.
When we arrived at The Tennant's Arms (around 4pm) we made our way to reception to be greeted by absolutely no-one. After ringing the bell repeatedly no-one seemed interested in checking us in so I made my way to the bar. After not the warmest of welcomes the gentleman showed us to our room, I queried if the room was the Luxury room we had booked and he stated it was, however didn't look or fit the description of what I had seen online. My partner and I were only stood in the room for 10 minutes and we overheard a conversation taking place immediately below the window between who we presume was the chef and a colleague. The conversation was regarding how the 'sticky toffee pudding' didn't taste like sticky toffee pudding and it was (cutting out the various swear words that were used) terrible. This didn't fill me with confidence and at this point I decided to go back to the reception to query the room. Again, after ringing the bell repeatedly no-one came to reception, by sheer chance the gentleman who checked us in walked across the corridor and I managed to flag him down. I asked him about the issue with the rooming and again there were no immediate signs of customer service and he abruptly told me he would contact the owner. After only walking a matter of feet away from me, he contacted the owner on his mobile phone and I could overhear the entire conversation, and to put it bluntly it didn't sound overly in my favour or overly polite. He told us to wait 10 minutes as the owner was on his way and to be fair to the gentleman he did offer us a drink. However, after returning he just placed the drinks in our hand without further elaboration about what we should do next or where we could even wait for the owners arrival. After the owner arrived we discussed the matter and he clearly stated that there had been some confusion about how the website (laterooms.com but he claimed we had booked through another site) had advertised the room. I did find the conversation with the owner to be the first sign of some evidence of customer service and he seemed relatively pleasant and this is noted, however, it didn't offer any immediate solution and my partner and I at that point after an hour of waiting around were willing to settle reluctantly to what we had been given.

After returning to the room we were disappointed again to find that there were huge cobwebs hanging from the fire alarm in the centre of the room, midges all over the window sill and stains all over the paint work, cracked tiles on the bathroom floor and a dubious carpet. Certainly not a deluxe room yet alone a luxury. We headed down to dinner around 7.30pm to again be met with little customer service. We were placed in a pleasant dining room however it was completely lacking in any ambience or customer attention. At various points we had to flag down a waitress to even be given a menu or to state what we wanted to order which again continued to disappoint especially considering the meal was in order to celebrate a birthday. At one point after flagging down the waitress to order further drinks, she abruptly stated she would ask the guy behind the bar to do it as "he wasn't doing anything". The staff were clearly stressed at this point and it became evident they were struggling to cope. After the meal my partner and I returned to the room.

In the morning of course we were eager to have a shower but again to my disappointment the shower didn't work at all so we had to resort to a hasty wash in the sink. The handle that was attached to the wall to activate the shower didn't move at all and even felt like it was going to become detached from the wall. At this stage my disappointment with the stay was at its paramount. We headed down to breakfast to yet again be greeted by no-body. Should we simply just sit down? I tackled a gentleman hoovering the floor and he bluntly stated we should just sit down. After taking our seat about 10 minutes later another gentleman appeared and hastily took our order again lacking little customer service having been provided with no menu. Finally, when we decided to check out (and to be honest checking out was a relief) we returned to reception. Again no-one there at all. So I asked the waiter who took our breakfast order how we should check out. He said "you cant check out here? Come to the bar!". I followed him to the bar and settled the bill. I mentioned the disappointment and highlighted the shower didn't work. He said nothing and just stressed that various rooms had issues and he was charged with fixing a toilet in another room?! I decided that any adult discussion about our stay was futile.
My partner and I have travelled many times and I think this is the first official complaint I've ever made and certainly posted online. I feel that our stay from start to finish was sub-standard. I can also appreciate that running what is very clearly a popular Inn cannot be easy but I feel the cost of the stay clearly didn't match the experience and will be very reluctant to ever return again, which is a shame as the Inn is in a beautiful location and could achieve so much more. I've since emailed the Inn about my experience but had no subsequent response.

Reviewed by
G Thompson

From Scarcroft Road , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs Help
Could be a really great place stay with a little more TLC and some professional staff.
Breakfast was very good, but evening dinner service was poor.
Service at the bar was slow to non-existent.
Turning people away who arrived for dinner when the place was virtually dead because they didn't want to stress the "Chef" out with some orders was outrageous.....two of the people they were trying to turn away were actually residents. Not good. Needs a decent hard working competent Chef and and someone who knows what they are doing to manage the place professionally.

Reviewed by
Peta T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and efficient
We had a lovely, relaxing break. All the staff were friendly and we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast choice was excellent and the service quick and efficient but we never felt rushed. We ate here every evening and all the food was very tasty. The room was warm and cosy.

Reviewed by
S Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and welcoming, really nice room and very friendly staff. Excellent food - just too much of it.

Reviewed by
John S

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very warm welcome

Reviewed by
karen hadgraft

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place, will definitely be back !
Cracking pub in a lovely location. I stayed in Littondale which had fabulous views and a jacuzzi bath !
The food and cellar selection in the pub was excellent and rounded off with a delicious breakfast. Top marks all rouind.

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best by Far
Booked the four poster bed room on a whim, glad I did, the room was huge, the bathroom the same size as rooms we had booked in previous hotels, the service was excellent, the food very good, considering this Hotel doesn't appear to have a star rating, it is worthy of a "four" in our opinion,
the view is stunning, put up with some windy narrow roads to get there, but it is well worth it, and you will be glad you did

Reviewed by
T Kibblewhite

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next