No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cameron House

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Loch Lomond , Loch Lomond, G83 8QZ
Cameron House on Loch Lomond is a stunning five star Scottish Baronial Mansion on the banks of Loch Lomond and perfectly located within Scotland’s first national park. An ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland’s abundance of unique landmarks, Cameron House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Glasgow International Airport.

A 132 bedroom resort with a range of accommodation from classic rooms, to luxury suites with traditional four poster Whisky Suites and stunning views overlooking Loch Lomond. The resort also has four restaurants including the exquisite Michelin Star Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond, the unrivalled Cameron Grill serving the finest local Beef and Salmon, the Loch-side Boathouse with seafood from Loch Fyne, and the relaxed Claret Jug, the best 19th hole in Scotland.

The resort also features an 18-hole Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool and a range of outdoor pursuits from champagne cruises on Loch Lomond to ranger rambles for our younger guests.
Picture of Cameron House, Loch Lomond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel with views to die for
Spent a few days here midweek and was very impressed, service is fantastic and staff very freindly. Food was a bit of a let down at the Claret Jug and Boathouse, not great VFM. Bar snacks and Highland Grill very good.

Reviewed by
MARK FERGUSON

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The most aweful customer service I have ever experienced

Reviewed by
anouk nora

From paris, France
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel - Poor Dinner
The hotel really is very good, the staff are excellent. A most relaxing and pleasant place to visit.
The only gripe is the quality of the 'Boat House' restaurant that was recomended by the hotel. Really very poor quality food at quite expensive prices, not suitable if you like good food and an adult environment to eat in... think of a Little Chef on the side of Loch Lomand. Wine list was one of the worst I have seen.
So go to Cameron House but do not ear in the Boat House unless you have children, for them it would be a good family place to eat.

Reviewed by
James H

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Really enjoyed our stay, kids could run free and paddle in Loch. Staff were fantastic. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
N Watson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service
I had arranged a Celebration Package including flowers, champagne, strawberries and chocolates before arriving and was assured that this would be in the room when we arrived - a nice surprise for my wife on our anniversary. However the package price was added on to the room rate, so when checking-in and signing for the keycard I had to query the rate that I did not recognise - this somewhat spoiled the surprise especially as the receptionist agreed it wasn't what I'd booked but couldn't explain why it was different. When we got up to the room there was no Celebration Package. I had to telephone for this and it arrived 10 minutes later in two deliveries with no apology. In addition the room was not as clean we expected for this grade of hotel and price - nail polish on the table, hairclip on the floor. Our meal in Martin Wishart restaurant was superb and the staff attentive. At checkout the reception staff were not very helpful - asking me if the bill was alright rather than guiding be through it (all the restaurant food and drink and the Celebration Package were split down into individual elements). The bill seemed ok but after having left and double-checked I noticed an item which I did not recognise so phoned back to be told it would need to be queried with Accounts who were not open at the weekend. On Monday I raised the query and this resulted in a refund of £62 with no suitable explanation for why this had happened and again an apology which didn't really sound like it was meant. Overall very disappointed with the customer service.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel but need to sort out the service...
This was the third time we've stayed at Cameron House, we got a 'late rooms' deal which makes this hotel value for money. The location is superb, right on the Loch! perfect really!.. Room was super comfy but was rather dusty.. not what I expected, only noticed it when I phoned the Cameron Grill to make a reservation (after being asked by reception if we were dining at the Grill, I said yes could we eat at 8pm only to be told to go and book myself?!), So, when I did the phone was covered in dust! I then started noticing dust all over the room, not a brilliant clean.. Also, on the second day our room didn't get cleaned till 5pm!... thankfully we'd gone down to the pool to give them space to do so which meant this didn't impinge on our day but if you had kids and wanted to be back in your room you'd have been interrupted.. Service was also very very poor and not the usual standard, we were left waiting for drinks in the bar, left waiting to order in the Cameron grill twice, not given a breakfast menu the first day which made us think they'd changed breakfast... All in all I still love this place, if this had been our first time I'm not sure I'd have been back but thankfully it wasn't, benefit of the doubt though as overheard the staff saying there was a staffing problem which wasn't ideal as they were almost full... hopefully just a blip for them.

Reviewed by
C Millar

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
shower water spilled into floor of toilet

Reviewed by
J MARSHALL

From Anstruther, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Quality accommodation and dining in a beautiful setting

Reviewed by
M Prince

From Strathdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic as always

Reviewed by
william robertson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting although overpriced on drinks
Beautiful setting and we will come back. However, adding a service onto every drink, when they were pricey already is a bit sneaky. If you are going to charge excessive prices, just be up front about it instead of pretending!
The reception is freezing, dark and in a wind tunnel, with the reception staff less than welcoming. Persevere and it does get better however!

Reviewed by
Derek C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next