Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Ambleside Hotels > BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 9BX
In the heart of the breathtakingly beautiful Lake District, this 17th century hotel sits in Ambleside's picture perfect village centre putting guests at the heart of traditional English way of life just a mile from Lake Windermere while still affording them modern comfort and convenience. The BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel offers beautiful en-suite rooms, good food, friendly service and spectacular scenery, with its charm and character increasing with every visit! Free car parking makes travel while you're here hassle-free, while a leisure centre with indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym, spa bath, outdoor hot tub and beauty spa should take care of your relaxation requirements after a hard day's exploring. For those who need to take care of business here, our conference facilities will more than meet your needs. Please note that the hotel does not accept hen or stag parties.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good-sized room for a family of four. Excellent room-cleaning service.

Reviewed by
A Casey

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Banging Doors
We stayed in room No : 215, the door closers on this room and other close rooms were not set up correctly and the doors banged when left to shut, to the extent that the room shook. We reported this on Friday after noon, but the receptionist did not seem very interested. When we left on Sunday the banging was still the same. We were woken several times on both nights by the banging.

Reviewed by
C Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall our experience at the Salutation was good but 1 of the rooms was lovely and newly done and 2 of the rooms were very tired looking and definitely not worth the money we paid . We just don't understand why all three rooms were the same price but of very different quality. Also it was not explained when we arrived that we could have 10% off the price of drinks with our westmorland and best western cards and was only told after we had paid and then were told it was too late to have that discount,so again not very pleased.Such a shame as the hotel is really lovely downstairs but all the bedrooms need to be of the same quality or priced accordingly.

Reviewed by
L Whittle

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well placed
Very nice hotel, conveniently located for a variety of restaurants. Room was
spacious but hot even with window open all night. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Would chose this one again.

Reviewed by
E Oliver

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Excellent breakfast, evening meal, atmosphere, rooms, hospitality

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in Ambleside
First class service from the minute I arrived. I arrived early to check in and was expecting to have a wait for my room. The receptionist explained that my room wasnt quite ready, but to save you waiting around we can offer you an upgrade at no cost ! This set the scene for rest of my stay. The location of the Hotel is excellent, the cleanliness and feel of the hotel was wonderful. The leisure club was outstanding, with excellent wet area facilities. I only had breakfast at the hotel, which was excellent. I think I have found a little gem in this hotel and have already booked again for my next business trip.

Reviewed by
Michael Thorpe

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Salutation
If travelling to the Lake District then a stay at the Salutation in Ambleside would be a great choice. The service was fantastic from start to finish. The hotel is well decorated (and was being decorated further when we visited in October) and has a very welcoming bar area and lounge. Use of the pool, sauna and outside hot tub after a day's exploration of the Lake District is something which you will be very glad of! Whilst we did not eat there in the evening, the breakfasts were superb. The hotel is perfectly located with an array of good pubs and shops on your door step. A minor for me would be the size of the pet friendly room we had. Out of consideration for the hotel furniture we brought our dogs crate and with this in the room there isn't a great deal space left. That said, we were not in the room very much so the inconvenience wasn't too great. All in all a very small minor, as in the first instance it is great that a hotel such as this allows a pet to stay. And the staff fussed her to bits which was very welcoming. Will be returning again soon hopefully! Thanks Salutation.

Reviewed by
K James

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
We stayed in the lodge. The view was of the driveway in and parked cars which was slightly disappointing.
The accommodation was very clean and had everything we needed.
The swimming pool / spa was excellent and spotless.The outdoor hot tub was very relaxing.
The pool locker locks were high tech and mine didn't work. The staff were helpful and came down to sort things out.
Overall, it was just what we needed, we had no complaints and would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambleside Weekend
Excellent Hotel situated in the centre of Ambleside with excellent facilities & Staff. The tone was set by the our reception - the young Lady was excellent & explained everything clearly & concisely. We were shown to our room (not in the main Hotel) which was roomy & had an interesting shape! We made full use of the facilities - Gym, Pool, Sauna, Steam Room & Hot Tub! It was quite exhilarating sat in it on Sunday AM in the pouring rain. The food, Breakfast & Evening meal was good & the Staff quiet & attentive - not pushy. Looking forward to our next visit!

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Chester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Break
Stayed a couple of nights, nice room and friendly staff. Great location, so nice to be able to wander into town to find places to eat and shop etc. Leisure facilities good, great to have those on site. Breakfast also good, with huge choice and efficient service. Overall definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
David T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next