No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Golf Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 Criffel Street , Silloth on Solway, CA7 4AB
The Golf Hotel in Silloth underwent a major renovation in 2009. Gary Conlan, the Manager, with his enthusiastic team, will do everything they can to make your visit to us a pleasant one! We are privately owned and run and are passionate about local seasonal food, hospitality, quality and service, so sit back and relax and enjoy yourself!

This historic landmark hotel in the town centre, overlooking the town green offers a private and peaceful setting for a few days relaxation "away from it all", a delicious meal in our refurbished lounge bar and restaurant or even perhaps a business meeting or conference. With growing function trade and traditional Sunday Carvery the hotel has everything to offer.

The Golf Hotel is also gaining a reputation in North Cumbria as a wonderful wedding venue, either for a civil ceremony or the wedding reception itself or even both. Private party celebrations can also be catered for here. Why not celebrate an engagement, wedding anniversary or birthday with us?

As well as comfortable bed & breakfast guest accommodation, we also offer a range of services for business visitors. We have rooms with excellent facilities which can be booked for business meetings or our Function Suite can be booked to hold a conference of up to 140 delegates.

Set in the centre of the small coastal town of Silloth, noted for its invigorating but mild climate. It is well known for its peaceful laid back atmosphere or perhaps most of all, the beautiful Solway Coast Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), famous for its stunning sunsets, abundant bird life and beautiful coastline walks. Just a short swing away is the highly acclaimed 18 hole championship link golf course at Silloth-on-Solway Golf Club. Silloth is an ideal location for a short break or a family holiday.

Our location allows easy access to the Cumbrian towns of Cockermouth, Whitehaven, Workington, Keswick and the historic city of Carlisle - with easy access from the M6 and A66. And yet we're just a short drive to some of the most stunning scenery in the Lake District National Park, the Roman wall and the Scottish Borders and Dumfriesshire, which is visible on the opposite shore of the Solway Firth.

Picture of Golf Hotel, Silloth on Solway at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf Hotel Stay Silloth
Excellent value hotel. Well fitted good rooms with friendly & helpful staff.

Reviewed by
George M

From Barnard Castle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff excellent food and first class room

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent experience

Reviewed by
Catherine Stanton

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for one night. Stairs a problem as I was on second floor.
Restaurant very busy in evening and service slow. Breakfast good. No parking but street parking ok. Good value for one night.

Reviewed by
D Beatty

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silloth Golf outing
Friendly and helpful, handsome room with bay window overlooking the park, good breakfast. Perfect overnight for 2 days of seaside golf.

Reviewed by
Adrian Smith

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over charged because i used laterooms!
Paid £90 for a room I would have been charged £65 for by the hotel.incredible the hotel didn't amend the bill when I spotted the hotel's tariff and raised it. Staff v friendly and food v good though

Reviewed by
callum inglis

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality ingredients, beautiful food, excellent room
Both my partner and I truly enjoyed our overnight stay at The Golf Hotel.
Without doubt would return for another stay.

Reviewed by
Terry Fisk

From Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, food and room!!!
Arrived cold, wet and tired on my bike at 3 minutes to 9pm. Had booked online earlier in the day, and requested single room. When I arrived I was told i'd been upgraded to an 'executive room' at no extra cost! When I asked if the room had a bath, he replied to the negative, but immediately gave me another, with bath, much needed after my 70 mile wet, bike ride!!!
The best thing was, when I asked about food, and he said the chef had just switched everything off, my face must have shown dismay, as he disappeared, came back a minute later and said 'chef will cook you anything you want from the menu' - amazing - and he did!!
The mussels were great the mushrooms lovely and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for!!!

Reviewed by
Lindsay B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent !!!!
Clean, value for money and very very helpful staff. *****.

Reviewed by
Brian W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next