No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lodge on the Loch

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Lodge on the Loch, Aboyne, AB34 5BR
Situated in 55 acres of stunning scenery literally a stones throw from Aboyne Loch, The Lodge on the Loch’s unparalleled surroundings and exceptional facilities are amongst the most impressive in Scotland’s North East.
Picture of The Lodge on the Loch, Aboyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice view - Shame about the stay.
Poor,

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Could not get booked in Aberdeen, so went for something different. This is 1st class accomodation in a beautiful location, with a warm , friendly welcome, and great service. Slightly disappointed in the food as I found it average though a deal is made in the literature regards the award winning chef.
Would gladly return on business or on holiday. Thanks again.

Reviewed by
Alex Macdonald

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheaper & better than Aberdeen!

Reviewed by
Richard H

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WONDERFUL TRANQUIL EXPERIENCE
Excellent . If you want to feel valued pampered and relaxed ..then this is a treat you must reward yourself/ wife with . Right from the beginning you are met with a warm welcome and this personal touch continues throughout the stay. Facilities ,alternative therapies , gym and spa only equalled by the tranquil setting , quality of food and exceptional hospitality.

Reviewed by
m ogg

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet country retreat
This is my second time staying at the lodge while golfing near bye. The lodge is a lovely place to stay with 5 star views , great food and a very friendly welcome.

Reviewed by
Iain G

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Clean room , relaxing location, great breakfast, friendly owners. Felt over priced as commanding premium chain hotel prices without the facilities that one would expect, no night porter or key available so had to be back before 11.p.m. felt like Cinderella!!!

Reviewed by
SALLY S

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, stunning location.
Had a fabulous time! Beautiful hotel, stylish, clean & homely. The owners were very friendly & welcoming! For us the outdoor hot tub made the experience for us! Superb and will definately be visiting again. My only issue is the prices are abit steep.

Reviewed by
s reid

From aberdeenshire, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable & enjoyable stay.
Difficulty in getting accommodation in Aberdeen, booked this but didn't realise it was 45 mins drive out of Aberdeen. Hotel is in a very nice location overlooking the loch & golf course. Welcoming & friendly staff ensured our stay was enjoyable. The food for both dinner & breakfast was very good with a good selection. Could maybe suggest some background music as felt we were whispering so as not to disturb other diners.

Reviewed by
Alistair Samuel

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Very peaceful and lovely view from room. Only comment was that being on ground floor, with French doors, we did not feel we could leave the doors open during night as it was quite warm and stuffy, no window available.

Reviewed by
B Cochrane

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lodge on the Loch
I stayed at the Lodge on the Loch hotel for a couple of nights while working in the Aberdeen area. Hotels during the week are at a premium in this area during the week, so I was lucky to find somewhere at such short notice. I booked the hotel through LateRooms for £100 per night including breakfast which I considered reasonable, given the standard of the Lodge and the surroundings.
Upon arrival I checked in and was shown to my room. I was asked if I needed a reservation for dinner, and informed of the WiFi key. I stayed Room No.5, which was an average sized room on the 1st floor with French doors that overlook the Loch. The room had a double bed, ensuite bathroom, large TV and Tea & Coffee making facilities.
The only problem I found on my first night was that I was unable to get any internet access, even though I could connect to the Router. This wasn’t a major problem as I’d had a long day and just wanted to relax. However on the 2nd night I hoped to do a little work, but I was still unable to get online,
Breakfast consists of fruit juice, toast, cereal, and various cooked options like a Full Scottish Breakfast, Omelette, Smoked Salmon. Breakfast is served from 07:30 in the bar area, and it was fantastic to sit and gaze over the sun drenched Loch. I opted for the Full Scottish Breakfast and I wasn’t disappointed. I got a plate of eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, potato scone and beans, all cooked to order and served on a hot plate! The hot plate might not seem much, but it makes all the difference for keeping the food hotter for longer!
On the whole I’d highly recommend the Lodge on the Loch, Derek and Jean were friendly and welcoming throughout. They were always eager to help throughout my stay, and I’ve already told my work colleagues to stay there when they’re next in the area!

Reviewed by
Martin C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next