No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Victoria Hotel

2Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
178-184 ABINGDON ROAD , OXFORD, OX1 4RA
Oxford is one of the world's most beautiful cities with it's dreaming Spires. We are located just a 15 minute walk from city centre. The best way to Discover Oxford City Centre is on foot. All of our room are en-suite Singles, Doubles, Twins, Family for 3, Family for 4 & Family for 5. All prices include breakfast, satellite TV, wireless internet VAT & Parking.
Picture of Victoria Hotel, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual place, but convenient for the City Centre
Having stayed at several "budget" hotels in Oxford region I have to say this one was quite good value for money.
However, it is definitely unusual. I stayed in August and was expecting the place to be fully booked. Maybe other rooms were occupied but there was only one other car in the car park, and I didn't see or hear anyone else. The bath mat stuck on the bathroom wall was the 2nd thing I noticed, and then that the toilet roll holder was out of reach of the toilet, and I've no idea why those electric cable conduits were in the places they were, or why half the main light switch was covered up by a door-frame, but everything was clean and tidy, and as I say, not expensive for a hotel only 15mins walk from the centre of Oxford.
I didn't try the food as all meals were provided at the conference I was attending.
I'm not sure I'd go back if I was in the area again - but, I've stayed in much worse places than this, and paid a lot more for my stay as well. Good for an inexpensive (by Oxford standards!) overnight stay, and is clean and comfortable. It's well placed for sightseers and city visitors, but don't expect too much luxury in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel . near to the city center by bus
Very good and clean hotel

Reviewed by
Silvana Luescher

From Frasnacht, Switzerland
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
Very pleasant stay, good food and attentive manager.

Reviewed by
P M

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just About Passable
I had a pretty bad night here, the pillows provided were like concrete, and the bathroom smelled weird. The only water was tap water from the bathroom which also tasted strange. However the staff were friendly and polite, and there was a good range of things for breakfast. Overall not worth the £65 though as the whole reason I stayed there was to ensure a good night's sleep, which I didn't get! If you stay here, bring your own pillow - though there are cheaper and better budget hotels in Oxford imo.

Reviewed by
Alice H

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location for me
Very freindly staff, hotel is a little dated, although clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Wendy C

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

15 minutes walk to Oxford city centre with free parking
Very welcoming staff. Price was reasonable for B&B and free parking is a must if travellling by car to Oxford. However the rooms are a bit dated and would need some improvement. In particular, the bathroom (and its windows) would require some much needed maintenance

Reviewed by
Teerooven S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
There were flies in the room crawling around. Poor network for phone connection. The corridor to the rooms were so tiny that two people of slim built cannot pass at the same time. The roof at the reception was leaking....

Reviewed by
c chima

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honest comments!
Receptionist not very friendly upon arrival at hotel - he did not even seem sure that I was booked in when he was looking at his sheet of paper!
Room OK, but the wardrobe door kept opening which was annoying. I would have like a better shower in the bathroom.
However, room warm and comfortable overall.
Breakfast - a great variety to select from. The old gentleman who served us was most obliging to our needs.
Useful to have a car park to use overnight.

Reviewed by
Joanne H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay in Oxford
This hotel came into our budget and was the first one that came up on the LateRooms iPhone app... we were going to Oxford for a friend's birthday and wanted somewhere near the centre. This hotel couldn't be better located, just 22 minute walk from most attractions, restaurants and bars.
We'll definitely be back, if just for it's location and convenience.....

Reviewed by
T White

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely stay
we had an excellent stay at this warm and friendly family run establishment. The scrumptious breakfast will set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
mark perks

From norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next