Reviews - Amhurst Hotel


45 - 47 Amhurst Park, London, N16 5DL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (60)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Charles A

  • October 2015

weekend stay

At check in, the manager noticed that my wife had some back pain and accommodated us with a street level room in the old victorian building.

The hotel is located away from the downtown, but with easy access by bus, or the overground. The room was clean, no frills, with the need of a little repair. The mattresses were thin as you could feel the metal coils through the minimal padding. For longer stays, the room had a little kitchen/dining area, making this room an affordable stay in a good part of London, for someone on a fixed budget.

  • t Griffith

  • September 2015

I really enjoyed my stay I felt comfortable and relaxed had a nice atmosphere

I'm looking to come back again as I enjoyed my stay

  • Thomas H

  • June 2015

You get what you pay for

Pros: The hotel is very cheap for London.

It had fairly late check-in (10:30pm when I arrived), but apparently open until 11. The rooms were tolerably furnished - cheap flatpack stuff which doesn't fit together properly, but it mostly worked. They had a kettle, TV, bar fridge and small wardrobe. Cons: basically everything else. The place reeks of cigarettes, despite the ironic no smoking sign downstairs. All my clothes smelled afterwards, and needed to be washed. The stairs are perilously steep, especially with big bags. The rooms were very hot (as reported by another guest), and loads of insects come in if you open the window

There were regularly drunk elderly customers out the back of the house, and one passed out in the middle of the stairs (blocking the narrow staircase). The bathrooms are shared, and get quite dirty at peak times (morning, evening). They also particularly stink of smoke. Overall:

I would definitely go for a nice hostel even if the prices were the same - you still have to share bathrooms, and good hostels won't be nearly as disgusting to stay in. As this place is twice the price of most hostels, it's really a no-brainer as to where you should go.

  • Melissa D

  • June 2015

Good value for money

The place isn't hard to find, Jim the host was incredibly polite and nice, made us feel welcome.

The room was a decent size. All in all it was a nice quick stay, can't complain

  • Marta V

  • June 2015

Amhurst Hotel

It is a good place.

Unfortunately we haven't had hot water at all. They have had some problems with the boiler.

  • Aaron F

  • April 2015

Great little hotel if you're looking for something cheap overnight or a few day in London.

We stayed over for a night out at 'The Nest' in Dalston.

  • Federico S

  • March 2015

Homely atmosphere budget hotel

I stayed 10 days at the Amhurst hotel.

Nice sympathetic staff. Specially Jim, the manager who's been really helpful. Two kitchens (downstairs and upstairs) to cook own meals. A warm living room. Bathrooms were clean. Simple basic room with a normal bed, wardrobe, sink and a good heating. Good value for money in London.

  • Gabriel A

  • March 2015

Short stay

The hotel was average but what made the stay worst was the manager was very disrespectful to me on my arrival.

I will not be going back there again.

  • Andrew Tubb

  • February 2015

Just the Job

The location made this Ideal for the area's of North London and the City I visited,

  • Adrian M

  • February 2015

Amhurst Hotel

All good.