No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cresswell Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Appleton-le-Street, , , Malton, YO17 6PG
The Cresswell Arms is a classic stone built inn dating back to the 1800s when it was flanked by a blacksmith and a butcher. It is situated on the B1257 road between Helmsley and Malton approximately 3 miles west of Malton. The Cresswell Arms is ideally situated for all the fascinating attractions that Ryedale has to offer such as: •Castle Howard •Nunnington Hall •Riveaulx, Kirkham, and Byland Abbeys •Flamingoland •Eden Camp There are may attractive market towns in the area such as Pickering, Helmsley, Kirkbymoorside, and Malton. The North Yorkshire Moors, the Yorkshire Wolds, the East Coast resorts of Whitby, Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington are all within easy reach, along with the North Yorkshire Moors Railway at Pickering, and the historic city of York. A traditional country inn 5 minutes from castle Howard on the edge of the North Yorkshire moors, the perfect place to stay for your visit to North Yorkshire and the coast. Real fire in winter and sun terrace in summer.
Picture of The Cresswell Arms, Malton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for Castle Howard event.
Lovely hotel close to Castle Howard, which we were visiting for an outdoor proms event. Room was good and breakfast ok.

Reviewed by
LEANNE R

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room, ideal for families having a separate but attached twim room.
The hotel is very nice and the room was lovely, ideal for families. The breakfast was spot on, the full English will keep you going until dinner. We ate in the hotel on one evening which was again was very nice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be that the bathroom needs updating. The shower is poor and there is a terrible noise for 2 or 3 minutes after you flush the loo, which is a bit annoying late at night. Also the family room (rm 1) overlooks the main roads so can be a little noisy early in the morning. This said I would definitely stop here again.

Reviewed by
J Langley

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay in a very clean room. Bed was a little uncomfortable. Breakfast was good in the morning.

Reviewed by
F Armstrong

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best place I have stayed for a long time
Very clean, quiet, good food,good beer.Very ncie staff, Could not do better than the Creswell arms.Will stay again.This was a business trip, but will stay on a long weekend

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay at the Cresswell Arms
the room was beautifully decorated and comfortable ,exceptionally clean with a good ensuite. set in a nice location in the village. the food was excellent-we had an evening meal. the breakfast was very good-we had the full english. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we visited Castle Howard which was only a 10 minute drive. booking with Laterooms.com is very easy.

Reviewed by
LILIAN W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
Spacious, comfortable & excellent food. Would have liked breakfast to start at 7am.

Reviewed by
Margaret C

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Usual Room
The room was set away from the main building in a small section with its own private car park it looked like a new room and was very clean and tidy with good facilities which if I am honest I was probably not expecting it to be such a nice room as it was in a pub. I was impressed with both the room and en suite a really good show and a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and the food in the bar was excellent I will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian Moore

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing couple of nights fab food great customer service!!

Reviewed by
l gordon

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place!
We have stayed here before for a night and it was just as lovely this time. Clean, beautiful room and a glorious nights sleep on the comfortable bed!
Lovely bar and restaurant too, ideal for Castle Howard, Flamingo Land, Pickering etc, all within easy reach.
Have recommended to a friend.

Reviewed by
l Harrison

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short but pleasant stay
just a stopover, but very pleased. Great value for money - especially this close to London.
Lovely grub, good beer and cider selection.
Quiet and comfy nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next