No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Compston House American Style B&B

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Compston Road , Ambleside , LA22 9DJ
As seen on Rory McGrath's ''The Lakes'' television program, it's all about breakfast! New Yorkers Sue and Jerry offer you the choice of a full American breakfast (with Sue's fresh, hot, homemade pancakes), a full English breakfast (of course), a New York style omelette overstuffed with cheese, or eggy bread as you like it--sweet or savory! With sizzling home cured bacon and handmade Cumberland sausages from our local butcher, and creamy local free range eggs...just yummy. And, if you go home hungry, it's your own fault!

Compston House is a refreshingly contemporary B&B with an American style. Each bedroom is uniquely inspired--choose Florida, Hawaii, Texas, Montana, Maine, Pennsylvania, Arizona, New York, or Wyoming!. Strictly non-smoking. Free parking and free Wi-fi too.

Child-free. Sorry, we cannot accommodate children under age 16 or pets.
Picture of Compston House American Style B&B, Ambleside  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
A wonderful friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast in a central location. Lovely clean rooms with comfortable beds and well furnished. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and made sure everyone was well fed! Home cooked breakfasts must be one of the best in the lakes with a great choice. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
R Walker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitality US style
Friendly hospitable hosts Jerry and Sue, made me feel welcome from check in to check out. Breakfasts excellent with Choice of British or US including pancakes and maple syrup all cooked fresh. No time for dieting as portions large.

Reviewed by
B Wilkinson

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A breakfast and a half
The breakfast was fantastic, Sue and Jerry are excellent hosts and the accommodation spotless.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This B & B doesn't let you down
It's absolutely spotless no faults definately will be back decor throughout was excellent. Jerry & Sue are a lovely couple who look after your every need and Jim loved the pancakes.

Reviewed by
Allison Brown

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed the stay there, Jerry and Sue were great hosts, breakfast was catered to us vegetarians and was delicious! Would definately go again and stay in the same place.

Reviewed by
Ahmed D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
A lovely guest hpuse with fantastic breakfasts, our room was spotless and bright and very warm. All amenities close at hand with shops and restaurants walking distance.

Reviewed by
karen s

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place rocks
Sue & Jerry are brilliant hosts, very helpful and can't do enough for you, can't wait to go back

Reviewed by
C Flavell

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My mom and I came to the lakes for Mother's Day and our stay was made all the more special by the friendliness of this wonderful B & B. Would recommend highly and WILL return. The breakfast was certainly fantastic! Room clean, warm, quiet and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Susan Fullwood

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More than lived up to expectations!!
After reading all the excellent reviews for this B&B we really did wonder if it could live up to expectations but it more than managed to exceed them! Spotless comfortable room with super comfy bed in a lovely town with plenty of amenities. The customer service was second to none as were the wonderful breakfasts. Everything seemed that little bit 'special' with nothing being too much trouble for Sue & Jerry. Will certainly be paying another visit there as soon as possible - first rate!

Reviewed by
a mason

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good could wish for any thing better
You could not wish for two better hosts. And a experience not to miss a very very nice place to stay .All I can say is a big thank you to Sue and Jerry for a very nice stay . So why not try them.

Reviewed by
paul n

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next