Reviews - Compston House American Style B&B


Compston Road, Ambleside , LA22 9DJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (33)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Fiona B

  • November 2015

Compston American B&B

A very pleasurable stay.

Customer service excellent. Sue and Jerry so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast great with added bonus of freshly baked muffins and entire place very clean.

  • M Weir

  • November 2015

Compston House American Style B&B

Sue /Jerry were great hosts, and the breakfast was amazing every day!

  • T Golding

  • November 2015

Homely, friendly, perfectly-situated and a fab breaky

A warm welcome awaits at The Compston.

We enjoyed two nights in the Florida Room which was spacious and comfy. The en-suite was a little snug and the shower wasn't exactly powerful but other than that the stay was absolutely perfect. The breakfasts are plentiful and the place is immaculately kept. We'd certainly recommend The Compston to friends and look forward to returning ourselves one day.

  • Daniel M

  • September 2015

One Of The Best B&Bs In Ambleside

I was able to get a late deal here a couple of days before the bank holiday weekend.

The owners of the property were lovely to myself and fiance. Upon arrival we were given lots of useful information about the local area such as where to park, where to eat and what walks to do. The room was very comfortable, we stayed in the Arizona room which had views of both Loughrigg Fell and Wansfell. The WiFi worked extremely well which isn't always the case in the Lake District. I would highly recommend the breakfast also, they offer a great American breakfast which comes with pancakes and syrup in addition to sausage, bacon & egg whilst they also catered for vegetarians which pleased my fiance who doesn't eat red meat.

I'd definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Phil Arrowsmith

  • August 2015

Well looked after

The guest house was central for Ambleside.Hosts were excellent friendly and very attentive.Food and cleanliness also excellent.The room,bed and en-suite were a bit small unfortunately.

  • Brian Bush

  • August 2015

Made to feel very welcome by Gerry and Sue.

Food was excellent, the place was spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Karen Rae

  • April 2015

Compston House Revisited

15 years since our last visit and just as good as we remembered.

Sue and Jerry are delightful and most welcoming.....would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends and will certainly go back again.

  • Neil K

  • February 2015

Short break at Compston House

Just returned from a few days away in the lake district and stayed at Compston house American style B&B in Ambleside and would like to recommend this B&B.

Both Jerry and Sue were attentive both on arrival and throughout our visit. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of English, American (with pancakes) Omlette or Eggy bread plus an assortment of cereal , fruit yoghurt etc. The B&B was clean and tidy and we stayed in the Texas room which was of a good size with a king size bed. The location is ideal for walks in the lake district and Ambleside is good for restaurants and general shops. Sue and Jerry provided a car park pass for use during our stay which included certain car parks in Ambleside, Grassmere and Bowness. One minor point for this room is that the newly decorated on suite is a bit compact and the shower pressure a little low but it is on suite which is a plus for a B&B. Give it a try, we weren't disappointed. The fact that 9 out of 10 rooms were booked shows its popularity. Also if you do take a trip out to Keswick then can I also recommend Woodstones restautrant - fabulous for meat and freshly made Pizzas in a woodstone oven.

  • Thomas Brown

  • February 2015

What a wonderful place

The hotel owners were lovely they made us feel welcome and at ease they gave us helpful advice on where to eat and where all the interesting places are and nothing was too much trouble we couldn't have asked for nicer people.

  • Marie C

  • January 2015

Delightful stay

Our stay with Sue and Jerry was delightful.

Sue's breakfasts are second to none and Sue's pancakes are fabulous. Both she and Jerry are lovely hosts. Our stay in Ambleside was just what we needed after the Christmas period...very relaxing. You can't help leaving refreshed.