No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Compston House American Style B&B

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Compston Road , Ambleside , LA22 9DJ
As seen on Rory McGrath's ''The Lakes'' television program, it's all about breakfast! New Yorkers Sue and Jerry offer you the choice of a full American breakfast (with Sue's fresh, hot, homemade pancakes), a full English breakfast (of course), a New York style omelette overstuffed with cheese, or eggy bread as you like it--sweet or savory! With sizzling home cured bacon and handmade Cumberland sausages from our local butcher, and creamy local free range eggs...just yummy. And, if you go home hungry, it's your own fault!

Compston House is a refreshingly contemporary B&B with an American style. Each bedroom is uniquely inspired--choose Florida, Hawaii, Texas, Montana, Maine, Pennsylvania, Arizona, New York, or Wyoming!. Strictly non-smoking. Free parking and free Wi-fi too.

Child-free. Sorry, we cannot accommodate children under age 16 or pets.
Picture of Compston House American Style B&B, Ambleside  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Compston House
Just returned from a few days away in the lake district and stayed at Compston house American style B&B in Ambleside and would like to recommend this B&B. Both Jerry and Sue were attentive both on arrival and throughout our visit. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of English, American (with pancakes) Omlette or Eggy bread plus an assortment of cereal , fruit yoghurt etc.
The B&B was clean and tidy and we stayed in the Texas room which was of a good size with a king size bed. The location is ideal for walks in the lake district and Ambleside is good for restaurants and general shops. Sue and Jerry provided a car park pass for use during our stay which included certain car parks in Ambleside, Grassmere and Bowness. One minor point for this room is that the newly decorated on suite is a bit compact and the shower pressure a little low but it is on suite which is a plus for a B&B. Give it a try, we weren't disappointed. The fact that 9 out of 10 rooms were booked shows its popularity! Also if you do take a trip out to Keswick then can I also recommend Woodstones restautrant - fabulous for meat and freshly made Pizzas in a woodstone oven.

Reviewed by
Neil K

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a wonderful place
The hotel owners were lovely they made us feel welcome and at ease they gave us helpful advice on where to eat and where all the interesting places are and nothing was too much trouble we couldn't have asked for nicer people.

Reviewed by
Thomas Brown

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay
Our stay with Sue and Jerry was delightful. Sue's breakfasts are second to none and Sue's pancakes are fabulous. Both she and Jerry are lovely hosts. Our stay in Ambleside was just what we needed after the Christmas period...very relaxing. You can't help leaving refreshed.

Reviewed by
Marie C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

PH
Excellent accommodation and friendly welcome.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Ellesmere port, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good ole American hospitatility
Very friendly hosts. Very well organised. Breakfast is excellent. What a proper gest house should be. Premier Inn etc...should be taking note

Reviewed by
Chris Thomas

From Biggar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value!
This B&B was exactly what I was looking for: good value, clean en-suite accommodation in a town with an excellent breakfast. (I sampled both the English and American options!)
Sue and Jerry are very friendly, welcoming hosts and I would not hesitate to return and recommend to others.
If you don't want to be stuck in the middle of nowhere, then Ambleside is an excellent option, with shops, good restaurants and a cinema, plus lots of bus connections.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Weekend
We had a fantastic time at Compston House, Sue and Gerry were extremely welcoming and we were amazed at how they remembered everyone's name. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful with plenty of options for both small and large appetites and we were never rushed, everyone was so relaxed. We stayed in room 2 which was spotless and had everything you could need, although if I were being picky I would say the en suite was very small, but again spotless. We would definitely stay again as Compston House is in an ideal spot and convenient for everything. Thanks again Sue and Gerry for a memorable stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Stay
First time in the Lake District and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Sue and Jerry were exceptional hosts, facilities were brilliant and nothing was too much for them to do. Atmosphere was great, breakfast out of this world; better than what we had in Orlando several weeks ago. They even recommended and booked for us an outstanding Thai restaurant, food was excellent. We cannot fault the stay and highly recommend the facilities to anyone visiting the area. Lots to do and easy to get around. Thank you Sue and Jerry for the excellent service.

Reviewed by
Richard K

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compston House for great breakfast
We were greeted by the owners by name they obviously know who they are expecting.
The room was clean,comfortable and we could come and go as we please.
The breakfast was really good especially the american pancakes with maple syrup.
The host gave good advice for eating lunches and evening meals but you wont be spoiled for choice as a lot of good eating places within a short walk of the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Martin Fergusson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly, food excellent and only 15 walk to get the ferry for lakes , would go back anytime

Reviewed by
e bogan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next