The Connaught Lodge

4

32 West Hill Road West Cliff, Bournemouth, BH2 5PH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Baker

  • February 2015

Connaught Lodge, Bournemouth

An excellent hotel which significantly exceded our expectations.

Conveniently located, just a short walk to the town centre. Stayed in the Lodge which is adjacent to the main building. Room very modern, comfortable and clean. Excellent leisure facilities in main building.

Breakfast good quality and plentiful. Ate in the Brasserie one evening rather than the main restaurant - somewhat limited menu but quality good.

Would recommend and stay again

  • clive p

  • February 2015

mid week short break

The staff were all very polite and willing to help.

Our room was clean and tidy although the bath room was a bit small. Overall we were pleased with our stay.

  • Lyn W

  • January 2015

The Connaught Lodge

Friendly staff on Reception and in the dining room.

The decoration in the room was looking a bit tired. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • peter m

  • September 2014

a break away

we set out for a few days away but ended up with a real treat

  • Karen H

  • August 2014

I booked 2 nights in The Lodge, I only stayed 1

The room was unbearably hot on arrival, It felt like somebody had left a heater on however the heater was cold (I think it was room 209).

I opened the windows and closed the curtains to try to cool it down and went to the spa and coast. On return the room was still really hot,

On investigation one of the wall was really hot, it was an outside wall but after leaning out the window I could not establish why it would be so hot to touch. I checked out early explaining to the receptionist the room was too hot and my concerns about the wall. She said she could not refund me for the night I was not staying because I had paid in advance, no offer to solve or investigate

On return made a complaint in writing, responded to a phone call giving details and exchanged e mails but still not resolved, Very dissapointed my break away was not comfortable and the complaint could not be dealt with on the day and still not resolved. Would not stay there again.

  • marie f

  • June 2014

short B/B stay at Connought Lodge

The hotel , accommodation , staff and food ( we only had breakfast in the Restaurant but the selection and service spot on) - all excellent we had no problems during our short stay - we arrived by coach and taxi so I can't comment on car parking .

Our room was in the Lodge - next door to the main Hotel and Restaurant - but I enjoyed a swim every day in the large indoor pool and jacuzzi - we had intended to use the spa facilities but the weather was so good we spent our time on the beach!. About 100 yds from the hotel is the cliff top with wonderfull views framed by Old Harry rocks one way and the edge of the I of W the other and down below the golden sandy beaches . These are accessed by a nearby long Zig Zag walkway or a moderate slope down to the Pier . There is also a lift and another Zig Zag with steps. We tried them all . - but decided the best option for us was the no.24 bus - from the stop 2 mins away - into town and a lovely walk through the town gardens to the sea front.

The very friendly Hotel made a perfect break for us - thank you.

  • Ian D

  • June 2014

Beware what you book

We checked in at the main reception and were then directed to the Connaught Lodge.This building was a graet disappointment, dirty carpets and very basic room.

We transferred to the main building at much increased cost (where all the amenities are) and were much happier even though we had different rooms for our 2 nights.

  • Lisa C

  • May 2014

Bournemouth quick break

Very basic, cold atmosphere, food awful, waiter excellent in bistro as offered an alternative wine.

Bit of a sad place. Shame we could hear every word the neigbouring room said plus more at 5am.

  • Keith Skinner

  • May 2014

very pleasant stay

  • lin b

  • April 2014

Was in the Connaught Lodge so had to walk outside to amenities but price reflected this.

Good stay-room very nice if a bit odd in shape but very quiet. Parking was very difficult - I was blocked in by another car and advice about the car park around the corner from the hotel would have been very helpful before I arrived. The staff were very helpful and cheerful and I would recommend staying here.