No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Connaught Lodge

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
32 West Hill Road West Cliff, Bournemouth, BH2 5PH
The Connaught Lodge is centrally located on the West Cliff, just 500m from the lively town centre, BIC, Pavilion, Pier and those golden sandy beaches and provides newly refurbished en-suite accommodation with FREE WIFi and FREE PARKING.
Immediately next door is our sister hotel, the AA 4 star Best Western, The Connaught Hotel. Guests staying in the Lodge are able to enjoy all the facilities of this award-winning hotel including FREE membership of the Blue Water Spa, dining in the double rosette restaurant, Blakes or in the less formal Connaught Brasserie and relaxing in either of the two bars or in the beautiful garden that separates the two hotels.

The Magnificent Spa and Leisure Club boasts an 18m swimming pool and adjoining spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna, 2 gyms and a massage and beauty therapy suite.

Please note the Connaught Lodge is accommodation only and all facilities offered are next door,

Picture of The Connaught Lodge, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location on top of hill
Room was OK if a little on the small size, expected better for money, but it included facilites we did not need for overnight stay. Breakfast was good. parking very good, and location is on top of steep hill, but close to all facilities. plenty of pubs and places to eat very close by.

Reviewed by
A Robinson

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quiet and nice breakfast
The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. Too hot at night but we stayed in middle of heatwave and a fan was provided. Great breakfast!

Reviewed by
Helen D

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i would come back again.

Reviewed by
j mistry

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Connaught Lodge Bournemouth
I can not fault this hotel at all, the staff are friendly and attentive, my room was clean and well appointed. From start to finish the service was great.

Reviewed by
N Farr

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and cheerful accommodation. Friendly, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Oliver J

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

restaurant fantastic, receptionist rude, spa very poor
I booked a one night stay including evening meal and a swedish massage for myself and my daughter.
The room was pleasant and clean and I cannot express how fantastic the restaurant food and service was. The waiters and chefs should be highly commended.
However the receptionist (an older lady with dark hair) was extremely rude as she completely ignored me on both check in and check out. She was idly chatting and made no attempt to acknowledge my presence. I was eventually served by a younger blonde lady when she arrived.
The spa is in great need of a refurbishment. It is shabby, tired and old. The toilets are not connected to the changing room and there are visible signs of damp. My massage was fine but my daughter said hers was lack lustre. The masseuse could hardly be bothered and kept asking if we had booked through groupon. We hadn't as a matter of fact, but that should not make a difference to the quality of the massage. No bath robes or slippers were provided (as should be the case in a spa of any repute) although they could be hired for an extra £5 each - ridiculous!

Reviewed by
s visciano

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Door Noise
Oversall I had a very good stay at the Connaught Lodge and for type of stay ticked all the boxes.
One thing that could do with some attention is the noise of the room doors when shutting, whether they could be fitted with dampers to achieve a soft close as when you think your settled someone comes along and closes the door with the gusto of a cell door.

Reviewed by
Tony F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night Away
The first room we were given was dated and the bathroom awful the 2nd room had been refurbished but we had leak in the bathroom so had to put towels all over the floor and all night there was a tapping sound coming from the pipes we think, so not a great nights sleep.
The reception and spa area was lovely and the breakfast was very nice, staff were friendly.
The manager offered us a 10% discount on our next visit but probably won't return.

Reviewed by
Philip A

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
I had an Enjoyable stay here, room very clean, bed very comfortable. I was extremely impressed with the gluten free breakfast options and the service was outstanding. I have recommended this hotel to a friend.

Reviewed by
Donna H

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barry Biscuits
Strange title? Perhaps, but to me, it means a lot. Hotel is ok, friendly staff, good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Clifford Edwards

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next