No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Beach Road , Woolacombe, EX34 7AB
The Royal Hotel overlooks the beautiful Devon countryside and boasts impressive views from the lounges and restaurant.

All bedrooms are ensuite and have TV and tea making facilities. The Hotel has a large heated indoor swimming pool, games room and live entertainment is provided most evenings in the Tudor bar.

The Hotel is well situated for visiting the numerous attractions of North Devon including including the southwest coastal path, the tarka trail and the Exmoor national park. This Hotel is completely non smoking.

Picture of The Royal Hotel, Woolacombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay for conference in Saunton
Pleasantly surprised after seeing adverse comments. Wonderful position and views with a balcony! Hotel looked as if attempts are being made to upgrade, but still delightfully old fashioned! Wonderful to have a decent sized pool well used for swimming lessons. Large communal areas. Comfortable bed with little noise, despite looking over road. TV old fashioned and WiFi non-existent in rooms but who cares!

Reviewed by
Roger C

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired decor, cheap meals - rather 'school dinner' like, friendly and helpful staff, clean comfortable bedroom but desperately in need of updating. Adequate stop off for coast path walkers.

Reviewed by
Annabel B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Worst Ever
First room sent to was not cleaned and we were horrified with the quality of the room we were then sent to a second room that had thread bare carpets a bathroom with black mould and furniture that very poor. I have never been in such a poor quality hotel and considering I was charged £89. I was told that the quality of the room was due to the late booking.

Reviewed by
Steven Birch

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible
A very antiquated hotel inside. More like a museum than a hotel. Not worth £63 with mo breakfast at all. I forgot that I had previously stayed in this place over 10 years ago and was reminded when I saw the same 70s decor. Poor effort at a hotel. Acceptable if it were £35 - £40 per night.

Reviewed by
R Fry

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Good hotel

Reviewed by
L TAGG

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but dated.
After reading all the reviews we were going to the Royal with a bit of trepidation. But, although the room was dated and needed a refurbishment along with the rest of the hotel, the room was clean the bedding was clean, the food was hot and tasty and after a good day at the beach it is somewhere to relax and put your head down. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed ourselves here. If you are looking for 5 star accommodation and 5 star facilities then this isn't the place for you, but if you want somewhere clean and close to the beach just to put your head down this is perfect. Thank you The Royal.

Reviewed by
Yvette E

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.

Reviewed by
B Gurung

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation but decent location
The hotel is very dated, but it was fine for what we wanted, which was a fairly cheap short break. Within walking distance (up a bit of a hill) of the beach, free parking and the room was clean and a good size. Staff were friendly and helpful. Don't know if I could have slept on the bed for more than 3 nights because it was very old, but otherwise it was fine.

Reviewed by
Kate W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
We had a lovely weekend stay, pool was very nice, the food was amazing and would definitely book here again. 😃

Reviewed by
Alison W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay for one night
The building and room was very tired looking. There was a funny smell about the place. The shower/toilet room was very basic. The bath was stained and my children refused to get in. The toilet lock and door was faulty. It looks like the door was unfinished and needing plastering. Very basic. The car park was full and I parked on the side part in the dark as it was not very well lit. I would never tell anyone I stayed here as I could not believe how badly it smelt. I could hear the next room talking due to the thin walls. The patio door appeared unfinished and I was worried someone might come in at night. There was at least a gap.

Reviewed by
K Padda

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next