The Royal Hotel

2

Beach Road, Woolacombe, EX34 7AB

Price From 92.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (126)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • LYNNE JONES

  • March 2015

Great stay at the Royal Hotel

Had a lovely time.

Everything was perfect. Staff were very helpful and the standard of the food was excellent. Have already recommended it to friends

  • Derek B

  • March 2015

pleasantly surprised.

Stayed here once before and was very disappointed with room, ensuite and view of rear carpark.

However after making these comments at time of booking our latest stay, we were pleasantly very surprised to be given a lovely room with a seaview, clean and modern ensuite, all in all a very nice room indeed. The only complaint would be the noise of bumping and badly creaking floorboards from the room above. As before the food, entertainment and staff were bordering on 'very good' to 'excellent'. As my partner and I became engaged during our stay, the much improved room we were given this time made our stay that much more special, thankyou The Royal Hotel.

  • Lee R

  • March 2015

Loveliness

Great staff, nice hotel.

  • Marjorie C

  • March 2015

Beautiful situation

We were greeted at reception, very professionally, and given information about the hotel, where the dining room was, dinner menu choices, and could book dinner there and then, which we did.

Our room was very nice with a balcony (room 8). We were able to watch the sunset over Lundy Island, and we had a lovely view of the beautiful beach at Woolacombe. The hotel was really well heated, even in the corridor. In the dining room, we had a window table for two. The only downside was that it was self service. We needed an early breakfast, and this was arranged for us, which was much appreciated.

  • K Charman

  • March 2015

Top Value for Money

The Royal Hotel was pretty quiet when I stayed in March (out of season) but the service was excellent.

The room was clean and had a great sea view. Breakfast was a feast. I have stayed in the Woolacombe Grand and Watersmeet and they are very good hotels that I wouldn't criticise but the Royal will be my choice from now on. Value for money is unbeatable.

  • colin m

  • March 2015

The hotel was comfortable

Yes this hotel in its day would have been lovely, the views were fantastic, we had a swim in the pool and had a very tasty breakfast.

The room was comfortable and everyone friendly, we would go there again, the car park is on a very steep hill. we walked into town and enjoyed a meal and a few drinks very friendly place.

  • Tim L

  • February 2015

Retro, eccentric, quirky, bonkers

Ah yes.

This place you either "get" or not. If not, forget it. If you do though, it is a wonderful place. Huge and massively overheated swimming pool in basement, though totally without a deep end(!), pianos looming at you from all directions, and sea-air-caused rust in all directions too.

If your room doesn't have a different wallpaper on every available surface, mysterious soft spots in the floor, astonishingly orange rust patches in the bath when the plastic sheeting disguise lifts as you fill it, have-a-nice-day-gone-tomorrow handles on the wardrobes, steel-framed windows letting in a healthy amount of air even when fully closed, corridors designed by Escher with a side order of insanity, then you haven't had the full Royal Hotel Woolacombe Experience......abandon logic in the lobby.....it saves time..... Breakfasts deserve a special mention. Sumptuous, delicious, and bacon half an inch thick, oh yes indeed. Brilliant place. Loved it - didn't stop grinning the whole time - we will be back.......

  • T Sims

  • February 2015

You get what you pay for

Ok.

This was just a two night stay at the Royal Hotel in Woolacombe. Although the hotel is maybe half a mile up the main road from the sea, it does have a great view over the coast and surrounding hills. The hotel has seen better days - It has not seen much updating for many years. This goes for the room we had and all the public spaces. The bed was hard and the walls seemed to be thin - we could hear snoring and other people's televisions... The swimming pool, in particular, needs a lot of money spent on it..... However.... at £60 a night for three of us including breakfast, a lot of the above is irrelevant. Let's face it - a youth hostel these days would probably not be much less. The hotel is nice and warm, the water was hot, swimming pool warm. There is a full size snooker table, a table tennis table, a large bar area ... In short there are several things to keep kids entertained. Breakfast was good too. My main gripe would have been with the receptionist who seemed more intent looking at her computer than being friendly...

  • Christine L

  • February 2015

Short stay back in time

Hotel is in lovely position, can walk to town easily tho it is on a hill.

Hotel dated & a bit tired but the staff are all very helpful. we only ate a breakfast there and could not fault that.

  • Christine L

  • February 2015

Another short stay

Another overnight stay, hotel very quite but then it is winter, again staff were helpful & polite - it is like stepping back in time but rather in a quirky way not horrible.

We had a room with a view this time which was lovely, actually sat outside on the balcony with my morning coffee in the sunshine looking over the valley to the sea. Didn't have time to have breakfast this time.