No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
3 Abingdon Road Drayton, Abingdon, OX144JB
The Red Lion Accommodation is ideally situated for Oxford, just 8 miles away, with a regular bus service. The towns of Didcot and Abingdon on Thames being just 4 and 2 miles away. Didcot also has a main line high speed rail link into London, just 45 minutes, and we would recommend that if arriving by train you use Didcot rather than Oxford station.

Our guest accommodation is situated next door to the, friendly, Red Lion Pub where you can enjoy good food served from lunchtime throughout the day. As your rooms are separate from the main building there are no access restrictions due to pub opening hours and your stay will not be affected by pub activities.

Our rooms are modern and well maintained and offer good value budget accommodation on a room only basis. All the rooms are en suite with TV, tea & coffee facilities, have central heating are double glazed and are serviced daily.

Picture of The Red Lion, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stopover
I would heartily recommend staying at The Red Lion accommodation. Staff were very helpful, the accommodation clean and quiet and it represents great value for money.

Reviewed by
S Butler

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TV in rooms (2) not working. Was told they sometimes need switched on & off at the wall, could not get working at all in one of the rooms.

Reviewed by
E lyons

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

abingdon w/e
The accomodation was basic, very clean could do with a bin in the bedroom as well as bathroom. TV was to high to watch. The fan swithch for the bathroomvwas to high for a short person. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
p harvey

From bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but a good stay and would recommend
The place is easy to find in Abingdon and the owners were very welcoming.
The room itself is comfortable and in a clean state.
The bathroom works well but is quite small.
I would recommend this place as value for money if you just need somewhere to stay for the night.

Reviewed by
J Partington

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My pleasant stay at the Red Lion.
I received a warm welcome and i found the owners to be very helpful. Ideally located with plenty of shops.

Reviewed by
j rhys-jones

From bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast in a B&B
Advertised on their own website as a 'Bed & Breakfast'and yet you get no breakfast. It's a room only. The B&B in this case stands for Bed and Basic. Very basic room with the smallest old fashioned tube style TV you have ever seen and the smallest bathroom I have ever been in and i've been in a lot of hotels and B&Bs in my time.
The room was reasonably clean but very small, very basic and the other guests were very noisy, slamming doors and shouting at 2am. If you are not awoken by noise and just want literally a bed to sleep in then fine, use this place. If you want a relaxing stay, forget it.

Reviewed by
M McRoberts

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant. Clean and fresh, immaculate in fact. Great value for money. Nothing fancy and superb owner.
I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Roy S

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was exactly what it said it was and very comfortable. owner was very friendly and quick to repair a light on a sat afternoon.
Not very convenient needing to check in between 12 and 7 when one wants to spend the day and evening in Oxford

Reviewed by
Sara E

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Great Value For Money
Very Basic, Not Value For Money, Tiny Bathroom, Would Not Stay Again And Nothing To Do With The Pub!

Reviewed by
G Moxhay

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for visiting Oxford
Just what it says on the tin. Comfortable and clean and easy into Oxford. Glenn and Janet very helpful. We knew there would be no breakfast so went to Macdonalds and had a pleasant evening meal in the pub.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next