No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durham University Business School

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Mill Hill Lane , Durham, DH1 3LB
Durham University Business School offers 20 en suite double Executive bedrooms which are available to guests visiting both the University & City of Durham year round.

The Business School is located a twenty minute walk from the City Centre, with on site car parking and offers a convenient base from which to explore the City. It is located only a few minutes walk from University attractions such as the Botanical Garden and the Oriental Museum.

The modern bedrooms include a double bed, en suite shower rooms, tea/coffee making facilities and colour television.
Breakfast is included in the price of the rooms, and is served between 08.00am and 09.00am in the dining room at the school.
A English Breakfast is available Monday to Friday mornings and a continental on Saturday & Sunday mornings.

The Business School is built around a central quadrangle in which guests can relax. Alternatively the University Botanic Garden is only a short walk away or guests can take a stroll down the hill and along the banks of the River Wear in the heart of Durham City.
Wi-Fi access is available (ask at reception for a login and password).
Picture of Durham University Business School, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent quality and value
Room compact as you might expect for the nature of the accommodation but in all other respects everything was perfect for a short business stay.

Reviewed by
Phillip J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotlessly clean, good quality bed linen and towels. Very quiet so good night"s sleep. Antiquated TV
Really good value for money. As described neat room, good bathroom with bath and shower over. Shame TV which was an ancient portable could not be turned off from remote control.

Reviewed by
Andrea P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value.

Reviewed by
mark c

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More than adequate but one or two quirks
Room was a very superior version of student accommodation, with double bed, shower and bath en suite etc. All the usual tv, tea and coffee making etc. All very acceptable and comfortable. I would happily stay there again, but here are the quirks:
1. Accommodation is some way removed from check in at the Business School reception, requiring a half circuit outside building to reach it.
2. Check in was very slow indeed, check out slightly better but not much. They also failed to notify me that I needed a parking permit, though I didn't get a ticket.
3. Breakfast was in the Student Refectory, though no students showed up at the 8am opening time. Food was good and staff were very friendly, but another canny hike from the room.
4. Talking of canny hikes, the Business School is maybe a mile from the city centre, not a problem for me but could be for some.
5. No wifi.
I guess I was expecting a Business School to be, well, very business-like. In fact, it was more school-like. Not bad but could easily be improved.

Reviewed by
John L

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprise
Stated a continental breakfast at the weekend. When I got to the restaurant it was a full English breakfast and very good too!!
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
The only annoying thing was a noisy guest walking down the corridor !!

Reviewed by
A Loweth

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
Accommodation is well placed for visitors to the city and university with car parking on site. Basic facilities well presented. Clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities with generous supplies and more available if required.
Wifi is available, though I didn't manage to connect - instructions would be useful. Reception staff very friendly and helpful 9 - 5. The porter is on hand at other times. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice and pleasant staff eager to please. Great value!

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Julie Bushnell

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Very comfortable room, efficient receptionist and easy check in, check out. Hearty breakfast.
Only bad point is dreadful mobile phone coverage and poor tv signal. Couldn't access the WiFi

Reviewed by
L Cole

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An out-of-the-ordinary experience
Simple but good room in institutional environment. In quiet,attractive environment outside city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money..

Reviewed by
Roger C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.