Reviews - Durham University Business School

3

Mill Hill Lane, Durham, DH1 3LB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Simon B

  • June 2015

Great value

The room was very comfortable and had everything I needed: WiFi, TV, small comfortable double bed, Bathroom with loads of soap etc.

A business school room, more or less on a par with a good budget hotel. The staff are friendly Geordies and very polite. The location is very quiet. Some areas could do with refurbishment, too many screw holes where old phones have been removed from the wall and the odd stain on corridor carpets, but everything was clean. But excellent value for money so thoroughly recommended. PS the bathroom had loads of safety motices including helpful signs warning that the hot water is very hot, and that tiles get slippery when wet!

  • Shafaq H

  • October 2014

Seems to be getting great reviews, but my experience is very much average

Wasn't expecting much (cheap option on dates I travelled).

Nothing particularly bad, nothing particularly good, staff at canteen (for breakfast) simply couldn't be bothered, cooked breakfast stated on website, but staff only offered continental (which was cold tea/coffee and a couple of slices of bread).

  • Phillip J

  • July 2014

Excellent quality and value

Room compact as you might expect for the nature of the accommodation but in all other respects everything was perfect for a short business stay.

  • Andrea P

  • April 2014

Spotlessly clean, good quality bed linen and towels. Very quiet so good night"s sleep. Antiquated TV

Really good value for money.

As described neat room, good bathroom with bath and shower over. Shame TV which was an ancient portable could not be turned off from remote control.

  • mark c

  • March 2014

Very good value.

  • CHRISTINE W

  • December 2013

Great value stay

Accommodation is well placed for visitors to the city and university with car parking on site.

Basic facilities well presented. Clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities with generous supplies and more available if required. Wifi is available, though I didn't manage to connect - instructions would be useful. Reception staff very friendly and helpful 9 - 5. The porter is on hand at other times. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice and pleasant staff eager to please. Great value.

  • John L

  • November 2013

More than adequate but one or two quirks

Room was a very superior version of student accommodation, with double bed, shower and bath en suite etc.

All the usual tv, tea and coffee making etc. All very acceptable and comfortable. I would happily stay there again, but here are the quirks:

1. Accommodation is some way removed from check in at the Business School reception, requiring a half circuit outside building to reach it. 2. Check in was very slow indeed, check out slightly better but not much. They also failed to notify me that I needed a parking permit, though I didn't get a ticket. 3. Breakfast was in the Student Refectory, though no students showed up at the 8am opening time. Food was good and staff were very friendly, but another canny hike from the room. 4. Talking of canny hikes, the Business School is maybe a mile from the city centre, not a problem for me but could be for some. 5. No wifi. I guess I was expecting a Business School to be, well, very business-like. In fact, it was more school-like. Not bad but could easily be improved.

  • Julie Bushnell

  • November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again

  • A Loweth

  • November 2013

Surprise

Stated a continental breakfast at the weekend.

When I got to the restaurant it was a full English breakfast and very good too!. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The only annoying thing was a noisy guest walking down the corridor !!

  • L Cole

  • October 2013

Nice place to stay

Very comfortable room, efficient receptionist and easy check in, check out.

Hearty breakfast. Only bad point is dreadful mobile phone coverage and poor tv signal. Couldn't access the WiFi