No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cysgod y Garn

5Visit Wales Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
CYSGOD Y GARN, FRONGOCH , BALA, LL23 7NT
Cysgod y Garn Farm Cottage situated in one of the most beautiful corners of Wales between the mountains and the lakes of Bala, in a small Historic village of Frongoch. It stands in its own grounds surrounded by beautiful organic farmland, with its spectacular rural views.

An ideal location wheather you want to sit back and take in the scenery or visit the many fabulous attractions throughout Snowdonia and North-Wales. If you enjoy walking,canoeing climbing, mountain biking, visiting historic castles or you just want to relax with a book, you will find all you could wish for right here.

This 5 star WTB accommodation is of traditional stone build with the convenience and warmth of modern facilities. En-suite rooms, Beverage tray, TV, Ch, Log Fires.

Picture of Cysgod y Garn, BALA at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B situated a couple of miles outside Bala. Peaceful surroundings with great views. A first class room and bathroom with quality furnishings and fixtures. We were well looked after during our stay and would definitely use Cysgod y Garn again. A Good experience.

Reviewed by
David B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B near Bala

Reviewed by
Steven J

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally loved our time here. The room was beautifully presented and very large. Comfortable bed and beautiful views what more do you need.

Reviewed by
A Dore

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Welcoming
Very pleasant Bed and Breakfast with lovely welcoming hosts that made us feel at home from the start. Great location with peace and quiet and surrounding gardens with plenty of wildlife to watch during breakfast. Will definitely be re-booking to stop there again when we get the chance.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cysgod y Garn Experience
Cysgod y Garn was a friendly guest house and nothing was too much trouble for the couple who ran the place. Excellent

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Llandysul, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The best b&b in Wales

Reviewed by
Robin House

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and relaxing B&B stay
This B&B is beautiful, has great views, is peaceful and relaxing, and the room I stayed in was luxurious.
The owners are incredibly friendly and welcoming, breakfast was always perfectly cooked and delicious.
Only negative point I could find was only trivial: The jacuzzi bath probably isn't used much and needs to be flushed to prevent bits coming out when its turned on for first time.
I would definitely stay here again if going to North or Mid Wales!

Reviewed by
R Spurr

From Lymm, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality, rural & Peaceful
This B&B exceeded all expectations. The room was large, sumptuous and comfortable with an outstanding view of the surrounding countryside. The bathroom was pristine and everything was of a high standard. We didn't really use the guest lounge but the conservatory which is also for guest use, and where breakfast is held, was a wonderfully relaxing place to be.
Bala is a short drive away and the lake is worth a visit. The owner is friendly and very pleasant and attentive and the overall experience was relaxing and peaceful.

Reviewed by
Carolyn and Stephen P

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic getaway at Cysgod Y Garn
What a wonderful weekend we had at Cysgod Y Garn! Our host was very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was fantastic. We stayed in the Arran room complete with balcony and fabulous view, which I would highly recommend. The en suite bathroom was very modern with a powerful shower and heated towel rail and the super kingsize bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, very well cooked and plentiful. The location is a few miles from the town but wasn't a problem for us as we had a car. Restaurants are a little drive from the accommodation.
We had a fantastic weekend here and would definitely come again. Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Reviewed by
C Pritchard

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cysgod y Garn, August 2013
I would absolutely recommend Cysgod Y Garn. The reception is personal, whilst not being intrusive and the friendly and warm atmosphere stays with you throughout. The accommodation is to a high standard and in perfect settings. The poached eggs remain amongst the best we've tasted :) Many thanks, and if we're ever in the area, you will be the first port of call.

Reviewed by
Mansel T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next