You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel


48 The Quay, Clovelly, EX395TF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Pamela N

  • June 2016

Positively Lovely

The hotel is in a great location if you are reasonably fit.

Thankfully staying at the Red Lion meant we were among the lucky few who could take our car to the door. The staff were extremely pleasant, the room was fine although a 'proper' shower would have been nice, not jone fitted half way down the wall over the bath. We didn't complain, it was acceptable for two nights. Other rooms have huge walk in showers. The food in the restaurant and the breakfast were exceptional, the staff very pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating. All in all, no complaints and would definitely return. Not ideal for young children due to the location of the hotel.

  • T Cornwell

  • April 2016

Fantastic Hotel

This hotel is in a very peaceful location right on the harbour.

Our room as lovely and cosy and we woke up to the sound of the sea lapping on the shore. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. We ate in the bar in the evening and had lovely fresh fish. Will definitely return.

  • Alan C

  • September 2015


A down-to-earth hotel which sits perfectly on the quayside of the ancient village of Clovelly.

From the vertiginous decent to the quayside, parking on the cobbled beach and taking in the panoramic views, the stay perfectly complimented this ancient village. Comfortable rooms, good food - particularly the seafood - and friendly staff only enhanced the otherworldly quayside life of ancient cottages, fishing boats, cobbled lanes and moonlit waves lapping just feet from our bedroom. Wonderful.

  • S Baker

  • June 2015

Very enjoyable stay - friendly staff and homely atmosphere would definitely stay again

  • David K

  • April 2015

Homely and friendly in a beautiful setting

Friendly, helpful and pleasant staff.

Comfortable bed and facilities. Good breakfast. Romantic harbour setting in this charming cliff-side village.

  • Paul C

  • April 2015

Lovely Red Lion stay

Accommodation and service were great, food was a little over priced.

  • Karina Luke

  • April 2015


Beautiful location, wonderful sea view room, fabulous food - sea food done to perfection - and attentive, friendly staff...what's not to love.

We will definitely stay again (for a third visit!).

  • Keith b

  • November 2014

Lovely clovelly

We stayed at the red lion for a long weekend, from the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the "family".

The room was great looking out to sea with a bay window, we slept to the waves caressing the pebbles every night wow. The staff were brilliant and we feel like we made new friends. Clovelly is a beautiful place to visit and if you like it quiet then a bit out of season is the time to go. We loved every second and will be visiting again soon.

  • Mark Thornton

  • November 2014

Friendly welcome and though we found the resturant booked out we had a fab fish and chip supper in the 'Snug'.

Obviously had amazing views across the sea. Parking close to hotel was a real bonus. Did not fancy the walk down through Clovelley with luggage. Great stay.