The Red Lion Hotel

1

48 The Quay, Clovelly, EX395TF

Price From 151.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Keith b

  • November 2014

Lovely clovelly

We stayed at the red lion for a long weekend, from the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the "family".

The room was great looking out to sea with a bay window, we slept to the waves caressing the pebbles every night wow. The staff were brilliant and we feel like we made new friends. Clovelly is a beautiful place to visit and if you like it quiet then a bit out of season is the time to go. We loved every second and will be visiting again soon.

  • Mark Thornton

  • November 2014

Friendly welcome and though we found the resturant booked out we had a fab fish and chip supper in the 'Snug'.

Obviously had amazing views across the sea. Parking close to hotel was a real bonus. Did not fancy the walk down through Clovelley with luggage. Great stay.

  • E Stubbs

  • September 2014

A wonderful break away - loved it all.

We would not have booked this hotel without the massive discount through using LateRooms - the lower price put it into our price range and made it, I think, appropriate for the standard.

  • sandra c

  • August 2014

Great Stay

Fun, clean, friendly, welcoming

  • Lyndsey P

  • July 2014

Lovely stay

Beautiful hotel and view - great food.

Totally relaxing from

Start to finish. We had a really lovely stay.

  • Paul Lewis

  • July 2014

Hotel location was fantastic never slept so close to the sea, views were outstanding.

  • Joanne F

  • June 2014

Brilliant stay

We booked The Red Lion as we wanted a quiet, relaxing couple of days away.

We certainly got exactly that. So peaceful at night. Stayed in the sail loft. Lovely big room with huge bed and massive wet room. (Room 14). Breakfast was superb with fantastic choice, can highly recommend the fisher mans breakfast and the eggs benedict. My husband enjoyed the countryman's breakfast so much he had it both mornings. Waitress lovely and worked so hard. The barman was a very charming and pleasant man. The receptionist was very helpful and informative. As lovely as the place is the staff really make it exceptional. We will definitely be back at the first opportunity.

  • steve Withers

  • June 2014

Lovelly Clovelly

We had been trying to book the Red Lion for quite a while, but had always been fully booked when we wanted to stay.

So now we have, we were not disappointed, the accommodation was lovely(recommend room 12) with a harbour view. The room was very clean & tidy & the staff were very friendly & polite :)

  • Chris Franklin

  • June 2014

A most delightfull hotel

This hotel is an absolute gem.

located right on the quay in Clovelly. We stayed in the Sail loft and had two adjoining rooms that linked by a corridor. The quality of the rooms were exceptional with lots of attention having been taken to detail that made the rooms exceptional. The views across the bay from the rooms was stunning. We ate in the restaurant and again the food exceeded our expectations. I had the lobster and it was the best I have ever had in a restaurant. This truly is an exceptional hotel. We also took a fishing trip with Doug ( ask for him at the hotel) for 4 hours and caught over 100 fish in that time. This is the best hotel I have stayed at in Devon.

  • Kim F

  • May 2014

best setting

this hotel was rcommended to us.

booked via late rooms and got a massive discount. was advised later that the hotel sells off non booked rooms about a week before, so watch out for it as im not sure its really worth the £79 - £100 per person per night otherwise. it was lovely, best ever setting, parking on the pebbled beach. we had a sea view room, probably the best room

room, clean, comfy, well stocked, the most amazingly white fluffy towels. excellent ensuite shower (room 4) could not fault this room. plus for me was the real door key..none of this electronic key card nonsense. staff we met were all fantastic. Bar is terrific. restaurant let it down, overpriced, tinty portions and badly prepared food , BUT extreemly tasty dont get me wrong, very overpriced wine list too and we had terribly slow service which ruined it . However, i would eat there again just be more picky with my food choices as one of the other dishes was a much larger portion and looked lovely. Clovelly wonderful, bring your walking boots as some fabulous walks to do. walking poles a good idea. hotel gives you free admission to visitor centre and free landrover lifts up and down the hill if you need it..brilliant value.