No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Millers At The Anchor

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Miller's at the Anchor, Porlock Weir, , Porlock, TA24 8PB
For over 200 years the Anchor has served Porlock Weir's 15th century harbour for sailors, walkers and huntsmen alike. Where Exmoor meets the sea, Porlock Weir is an idyllic working harbour with stunning coastal views Martin Miller together with his daughter Tanya have created a hunting lodge by the sea. This 14-bedroom hotel is crammed with Martin's antiques and curiosities. The Anchor has all the hallmarks of his unique style. Roaring log fires, candlelit sensuality, books by the thousand and bowls of fruit and sweets, all washed down with a Millers award winning Gin and tonic. Our Harbourview restaurant over looking the harbour serves the highest quality food with truly local produce. We look forward to friends and new guests alike to sample the delights of one of Somerset hidden gems..
Picture of Millers At The Anchor, Porlock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed of Warwickshire
The Anchor was a great disappointment. The web promised so much and failed to deliver. Room 1B was cramped, the wardrobe was ready for the fire. The bathroom was so small anyone of a larger stature would not be able to squeeze between the wall and the bath to reach the tiny wash basin. When using the sink one needed to be careful not to hit your head on the shelf. The toiletries were of a very poor quality. Eating in the restaurant on the first night was not a good experience and was then charged 10% service on top of rather inflated prices. For a cost of 264 pounds for 2 nights B&B we expected more quality in the accommodation and food. We have had far better rooms & food in B&B establishments. This is the worst place we have found using late rooms.

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame
staff excellent food super but room needs tlc lots of dust tv not working and shower head wobbly
shame because rest of stay very good

Reviewed by
d cook

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and service, let down buy poor plumbing.
We stayed in a "garden view" room. Should have been more worldly wise! The view was a back alley, room 9. The water pressure meant the shower over bath was poor at best and the cistern filled for ever until I mastered the flush. All that said the staff were excellent, attentive and "on the ball". The food was very good and everything was served piping hot. I have absolutely no problems in rating my stay at 9/10. I will return without question.

Reviewed by
Martin L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eclectic Bohemia
Fabulous location and stunning interior, stuffed full of Bohemian collectables. The bed was unusually small however (even my feet dangled over the end at 5ft 6), the hot water seemed hotter than it should, and the over bath shower did not appear to work. The food however was excellent, as was the service-and we loved the place for its poetic licence!

Reviewed by
F Shaw

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully Quirky!
This is exactly what it says on the tin! Very much a one off - from the eclectic range of antiques and collectables that cover just about every available space....to the honesty bar and minima for viewing films. Within a couple of hours in this hotel you feel chilled out and the staff contribute to the relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Room very comfortable, breakfast excellent and cooked to order; we had dinner one evening and the food, again, was excellent with a good choice of wines. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay.

Reviewed by
Steve K

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place!
magical interior with lots of character and lots to look at - makes you feel transported into the setting of a costume drama. Very relaxed at the same time, plus beautiful views over the bay. Would definitely recommend for anybody who is looking for something romantic and atmospheric.

Reviewed by
Annette S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting for lovely friendly hotel
Really enjoyed my one night stay here. Stunning setting in the harbour at Porlock Weir and very friendly service. Beautiful weather was a big bonus as was being next to pub which was engaged in Weirfest - a cider and live music event (on a small scale)! An added pleasure.

Reviewed by
catherine b

From Bruton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel, full of character and warmth. The staff were very friendly and attentive

Reviewed by
Gillian Johnson

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.