No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rusland Pool Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge, On the A590, , Ulverston, LA12 8AA
Rusland Pool Hotel, was built in 1814 and is a popular destination for both holidaymakers and business travellers alike, whilst enjoying a reputation amongst the locals for a very high standard of food and a friendly, informal service. Situated beside the A590 between Newby Bridge and Ulverston, the main thoroughfare to and from South Lakeland, the Furness and Cartmel Peninsulas & the West Cumbrian coast and just within the Lake District National Park, we offer a warm welcome. We offer an extensive home cooked menu, supplemented by mouthwatering chef's specials, that will satisfy the most discerning of diners. Whether for lunch, dinner or an informal snack our Bars and conservatory serve food every day from 12 noon until 9pm Sundays 7pm . We offer 18 spacious, modern, well appointed bedrooms. Each bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with bath and/or shower, colour 32inch TV, direct dial telephone, radio, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and Free WiFi. In the mornings guests can enjoy a full English breakfast, using the best fresh local ingredients. Cumbria is a land of beauty and variety, from its busy cities and historic market towns to its stone and slate villages, each possessing their own character. Cumbria's landscape is diverse; wild fells and high passes with endless views stir the imagination. Quiet pastoral countryside and valleys enchant; rivers twist and tumble. Glacial lakes reflect cloud-topped mountains and man-made drystone walls march across the dales. Woodlands and coastal scenery add to the mix. The legacy of the past is here in prehistoric and Roman remains - stone circles & burial cairns dot the land, and old Roman roads and forts still command attention. Historic places of worship and ruined castles speak of Norman times. Country houses and gardens delight the visitor. Walkers call this county 'paradise'; everywhere the grandeur of the scenery speaks to the glory of Cumbria... welcome to this much-loved land.
Picture of The Rusland Pool Hotel, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and hospitable but also too warm and noisy
Stayed here for one night prior to a ballooning trip which was very convenient for meeting early in the morning, but we did not benefit from extra sleep. It is a lovely old pub with very friendly staff and good food but the room was small and facing the car park/ main road and very noisy all night. It was also lovely weather and the room was very stuffy as windows didn't provide relief. The balloon trip was fab regardless of little sleep :-)

Reviewed by
D Lee

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rusland Pool hotel - excellent
nice little hotel made excellent hotel by brilliant friendly staff

Reviewed by
Steve P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellent experience
The whole experience wes excellent and cannot be faulted. All the staff and owners have a very positive, friendly but professional approach to all aspects of service. The restaurant and food quality/value was particularly good. It was a pleasure to be treated as a guest as opposed to the attitude displayed by the large corporate faceless chains of hotels where you are treated as a number with no personal touches. We would highly recommend the Rusland Pool hotel for business or leisure to anyone.

Reviewed by
Ken M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking and chose based on reviews thinking lakes bank holiday I suppose it will be ok..very pleasantly surprised what a fantastic experience charming homely feel and the staff could not be more friendly especially Michael who was superb couldn't do enough for us from checking in to breakfast and checking out a first class customer experience we will definitely be stopping again and if you are looking for a comfortable clean charming hotel with a friendly service and very good food look no further superb value for money and thank you to all the staff working over the bank holiday excellent!!

Reviewed by
sean p

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and facilities ,impressive sound proofing and prompt 0800 Sunday breakfast
Pity about 40 mins wait for food after prebooking a table , otherwise excellent .

Reviewed by
peter edwards

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in this area.
This Hotel was just perfect, very helpful staff. food was great, room well presented and clean. My wife and I would never dream of going elsewhere, when visiting that area.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay at a reasonable price!
Stayed here whilst working in nearby Millom. The reception is not manned so guests arriving have to find someone to check them in usually at the bar which can lead to a wait if bar staff are busy.
Some of the rooms are in an annex which isn't really a problem as they are modern and very clean but the traffic on the A590 leads to a lot of road noise. I wondered why the hotel sells ear plugs! The food quality is better than many hotel restraunts but the breakfast is very oily. Listen carefully whilst in the restraunt and you might just hear festive Christmas tunes even in April. Overall a comfortable stay at a resonable price!

Reviewed by
David B

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay in a very clean room with lovely friendly staff

Reviewed by
peter huntley

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic...
Great little place to stay we was made very welcome by everyone food great we will be returning first time we had been away for a break no kids and if u want to relax then this is your place....thanks to the owner always made time for a chat lovely chap.

Reviewed by
Stephen Pennington

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is lovely really nice staff and good food
The only bad thing I would say is the breakfasts are very small

Reviewed by
peter mahoney

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next