No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George & Falcon

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Warnford Road, Warnford, , Southampton, SO32 3LB
The George & Falcon is conveniently located on the A32, in the picturesque village of Warnford, within easy distance of Winchester, Portsmouth, Southampton, Fareham, Petersfield and Alresford. This rural restaurant and inn, which has recently been immaculately furnished, combines traditional character with an urban, modern twist. Inside, it offers two open fires, seating for 100+ people, including a cosy snug area, and two separate dining areas that can be booked for private functions. Outside, it boasts a large outdoor terrace area that overlooks the beautiful River Meon, set in well landscaped gardens. There are six en-suite rooms, located on the first floor, that have been decorated to a very high standard, each providing it’s own unique theme. The experienced chefs offer a wide range of freshly cooked, high-quality food. At lunchtime, we offer a range of sandwiches, lighter meals and grills and in the evening an a la carte menu including many traditional favourites . Both menus are supported by seasonal special dishes. Children are well catered for with their own menu. And don't miss out on our range of fabulous hand made desserts. The menus are changed on a regular basis, using locally based produce and suppliers. A selection of ales, beers, wines and spirits is available, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere awaits you. With this much to offer, why not pop in and treat yourself, friends and family to an unforgettable experience?
Picture of The George & Falcon, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Only downside was on the route of a main road so wasn't able to leave a window open on a very hot night. However, still had a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Hazel Lyons

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, very comfortable room. Restaurant and bar were good. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Bungay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stay for visiting Portsmouth
Easy to find, food was very good, staff are friendly. Good choice of real ale, rooms are clean and adequate.

Reviewed by
martin c

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No backing down!
Small single room, but that's what I booked so fair enough. Good sized bathroom and powerful shower, food of good quality. Experience spoiled, perhaps by me failing to ready the Laterooms description which said complementary continental breakfast, full cooked breakfast available. At no stage did anyone advise me that the cooked breakfast was extra when they took my order, they will claim that the breakfast menu was fully priced. I ended up paying more than I intended and was given a polite 'tough' when I queried the bill. Laterooms, you should make it clear that a cooked breakfast is available at a cost !

Reviewed by
Frank N

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Walls in bedroom paper thin, heard every word people in the next room said, thankfully they were only talking!!! Peeling paint on ceilings needs sorting.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Very nice, comfortable country pub, made very welcome. Good food, good service, would stay again

Reviewed by
Wendy Cooper

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hidden gem
An excellent inn in the middle of nowhere with excellent service and even better food,cooked by someone who obviously takes pride and has passion!

Reviewed by
Rob Hulley

From Leighton Buzzard, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, shame about the other guests...
Nice welcome and lovely staff. Room a little small but clean. Was placed in the "Lanner Falcon" room. looked right out onto the main road. Windows the old sash style that meant every car that went past was like it was in the room itself... not the best nights sleep. Also an incident with a very obnoxious family in the restaurant left a little to be desired, however the hotel cannot be blamed for the dregs's that visit. Overall a nice place, with nice staff, but try to be at the rear of the hotel or you wont get a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent visit to the George and Falcon
Recommended by a manager that works for me locally , have to say was not disappointed on all fronts . Great customer service, best food i have had in a long while both in presentation and quality .
Rooms was lovelly well maintained and to a great standard
Stay in various hotels in the South due to work but now have found a firm favourite when in the area
highly recommend on all fronts
Excellent !!
Well done Will Porter

Reviewed by
William Porter

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two-day stay for business and leisure
We enjoyed our stay at the George and falcon very much. Without exception the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful without being obtrusive, and the food was of high quality in preparation and presentation. The choice of beers was good. We would be happy to return there, and may well do so.
One small detail: in order to pass from the bar to the accommodation area it is necessary to pass through a kind of indoor boiler-room, which has an unpleasant, oily sort of smell. Fortunately this is easily forgotten because it does not permeate in to the other areas.

Reviewed by
Anthony Briggs

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next