Reviews - The Dusthole /The Kings Arms


1 Cornhill Terrace Garston Street, Shepton Mallet, BA4 5LN

Price From 118.42 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen C

  • July 2015

nice little hotel

  • Shannon H

  • June 2015

The Dusthole /The Kings Arms

Great place to stay - superb food, friendly landlord, beautiful log cabin room!

  • Barbara R

  • April 2015

The Dusthole /The Kings Arms


  • Richard S

  • November 2014

Full of character and quite setting

This a a very old pub and is full of character.

It could be smarter and neater, but then it might lose its olde world charm. The food is excellent. The noisy Saniflo toilets should be replaced, but otherwise a good place to stay and very quiet during the night.

  • B Connolly

  • September 2014

Dusthole Shepton Mallet

The Dusthole was a quirky old building with lots of charm.

While the room was very spacious and relatively clean, it had a tiled floor and only one, very grubby looking rug. The bedside tables were very rickety

We had dinner there, and the food was not bad, but I felt there could have been more staff, as one waitress had to man the bar clear the tables and serve the food which made it a bit slow. Breakfast really let them down!!. The bacon looked and felt as if it had been cooked the night before; the toast was not fresh, although when I asked for fresh toast it was provided; there was only the tiniest smear of lime marmalade - no orange marmalade, and when I asked for some was told 'someone finished it yesterday!!. Not the right answer!!. It is a B&B - Breakfast is a major part of B&B. If the marmalade is finished you make sure there is a replacement. You shouldn't wait for it to run out - there should be a store of such things.

There was no yogurt or fresh fruit - these days they are standard provisions for breakfast in any B&B I have stayed in and usually what I would have. Most disappointed in breakfast.

  • jonathan m

  • August 2014

needs some investment.

Room 7 back window latch broken and tile hanging off in the shower and step up bath/shower does not offer much room for people over 6ft got moved to room 8 which had a bad smell of damp and the door has tissue stuffed in to stop drafts the toilet also had a pump fitted which also went of during the night and the hot water was hit and miss from a weak shower and also none of the TV channels worked.

as for the bar the beer was good and the food we have was very nice the bar staff were helpful.

  • susan j

  • July 2014

A night at the Dushole

An absolutely beautiful setting with a real "olde worlde" atmosphere.

The rooms (between 3 of us used 2) were full of character and we had clean sheets and towels but the cleanliness really needed more attention. There was a lot of hair in the bath, the bathroom rubbish bin hadn't been emptied, we had a kettle but no cups. We still enjoyed our stay - the host was a nice fellow and Jake the dog was wonderful. Great breakfast.

  • John Green

  • June 2014

7 go cycling in Somerset

A very nice hotel with a high standard of food.

We were made welcome, and all staff were friendly.


  • June 2014

we did not stay in the dusthole as it was double booked but the owner found us another hotel

  • chris w

  • May 2014

Very friendly Landlord.

Relaxed and homely atmosphere. Very friendly staff.