You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Falkland Arms

4

19 - 21 The Green, ,, Great Tew, OX7 4DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Chris T

  • June 2016

Lovely pub, lovely setting

My wife and I booked a night for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful relaxed stay.

We really liked the attic room (6) though being long and narrow you have to watch you don't bang your head on the wooden beams. The food was fine - bad dinner and breakfast. Would go again.

  • Andrew K

  • April 2016

The Falkland Arms

Excellent room, room no.

6

  • Diane S

  • April 2016

Character-filled old pub

I have stayed here before so knew what it would be like.

Wonderful bar areas with real fires, real ales and loads of atmosphere. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and the food is good. This time I had the single ensuite room. It was tiny but had loads of character with beams and a little mullioned window looking out onto the village green. I woke up to a sunny morning, birds singing and that wonderful view. Spent some time sipping a cup of tea and watching the birds flying to and from their nests in the thatched roof. It was lovely. The only slight downside was the tiny and very hot ensuite. However, this didn't detract from the enjoyment of my stay. My only advice would be to go for one of the double rooms. I stayed in the big room at the top of the pub last time. It was excellent.

  • Jean R

  • April 2016

Lovely area lovely pub. Real fire, good ale, an old building with a lot of character.

Stayed for one evening.

The fire was roaring away, lovely. Only walked around the village but it appeared to have plenty to offer for walkers. Had an evening meal which was good I had the vegetarian lasagne, it was as it should be not watery and had flavour. John was very welcoming nothing too much trouble. Breakfast also was good all hot, which makes a change. Only given 3 for the quality of the room only because it was very small and not as I was promised in an email from the pub before arrival. If you are not keen on dogs you may have a problem as it appears all the locals bring the dogs in to run around as they please, didn't bother me as I love dogs.

  • alison g

  • February 2016

Mummy & Daughter Time

The only thing that would make this a perfect place to stay is internet please.

  • Richard c

  • January 2016

A great find

  • Christine B

  • January 2016

Wonderful old fashioned pub in quaint village

We have stayed in this marvelous pub a number of times.

The setting is amazing located in Great Tew. We would recommend staying however our stay on this occasion was spoilt by disappointing main courses on both nights.

  • G H

  • December 2015

Quintessentially English

This Inn is exactly what I was looking for when I booked it for my Partner's birthday.

It is idyllic, quaint and quintessentially English. Set in beautiful, peaceful countryside, we wanted a relaxing getaway and that is what we got. With a roaring log fire, friendly staff and good, wholesome, home made food we couldn't have been more relaxed. The Falklands Arms is full of character and characters and we will definitely go back for another visit at some point in the future.

  • Linda G

  • October 2015

Lovely overnight stay

A very quaint old pub, spacious room with very comfortable bed.

Excellent food & service. Would definitely stay again if on our route.

  • Rosemary F

  • August 2015

Gorgeous room!

Our room was at the top of this idyllic 15th century Inn.

We accessed the room via two steep, narrow, wooden spiral stairways from the bar. The room was long and narrow with an ensuite bathroom and a seating area to watch tv. The bed was comfy. When we arrived after hours of travel, however, there was no hot water, so we couldn't have a bath before we went down to eat our evening meal. (Hence my score of just 5) We think though that they knocked a bit off the bar bill in recompense, and the water was hot when we went up to bed later. The food was very good, not the usual chip- dominated bar food. There were several good beers to choose from, and breakfast next morning was fine. I would say though that some of the seats in the bar were uncomfortable, we changed tables to try to find more comfortable seats. I would definitely go there again. There was a genuine charm to this historic pub in the elilte and picturesque village of Great Tew