No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Falkland Arms

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
19 -21 The Green, Chipping Norton, Great Tew, Oxfordshire, OX7 4DB
The Falkland Arms is a beautiful 16th century pub nestled amongst the pretty thatched cottages of Great Tew in rural Oxfordshire. The cosy bar invites visitors to step back in time, with flagstone floors, oak beams, wood panelling and traditional lead windows looking out across the gently rolling Cotswold Hills. All five bedrooms are en-suite and have been newly refurbished to a high standard whilst retaining their 16th century charm. Each room features a flat screen TV, real cafetiere coffee and tea making facilities, Egyptian cotton bed linen and a modern en-suite shower. The superior rooms also have a comfortable seating area. Downstairs, friendly staff serve delicious home cooked food and a selection of award winning real ales as well as wines, spirits and non-alcoholic drinks. The large garden provides a green oasis in summer months and the welcoming bar is perfect for warming up by the open fire on winter evenings. The surrounding village of Great Tew sits on the slops of a limestone ridge overlooking the Worton Valley and is steeped in history. Local archaeology dates the first settlement back to the Bronze Age and the parish church features an original doorway from its Norman conception. Many of the village houses have changed little since the 17th century and are built with ironstone from Great Tew’s own quarry. The old post office is now the village shop and traditional tearooms and there is a café at the local cricket club. The Falkland Arms is perfectly situated for exploring the rolling countryside and hidden villages of the Cotswold Hills; a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Just half an hour’s drive away is the university town of Oxford; home to the oldest university in the English-speaking world and known as the ‘city of dreaming spires’ for its beautiful architecture. The Falkland Arms is the perfect destination for a relaxing break in a beautiful area of Britain at any time of year.
Picture of The Falkland Arms, Oxfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Hideaway
Characterful place. We stayed there one night and would definitely stay again. The staff are friendly and attentive. We had an evening meal and that was a gastronomic experience. Well done all.

Reviewed by
David E

From christchurch, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blemheim Stay
We stayed here whilst visiting Blenheim Palace, and were overjoyed at the quality of the pub, it is a fantastic looking Thatched pub, with a first class service, and comfort to match! The Manager was both helpful and efficient.

Reviewed by
shaun s

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Pub
Staff were welcoming & friendly, the room was charming. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and the service was also very good. Sorry to say we found the mattress very uncomfortable. The bathroom was fine with a bath & hand held shower attachment, might I suggest a shower curtain be fitted it was very difficult to use shower attachment so that no water sprayed out, being a upstairs room it might spoil the ceiling of the lower rooms.

Reviewed by
A Stitt

From Seaview, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
What a lovely place to stay. The place has such charm and has been left to it's character of old age. The staff were lovely and helpful. The food was lovely. I am usually fussy, but the first night I had the crab salad which was amazing. This is a good place for covering the Cotswolds. We are going back with friends in a few weeks. Lovely place.

Reviewed by
Cherry Manners

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Place
Sat nav users put in Old Road/The Green to get you out into the countryside and not to The Green in the town. A character pub awaits you with fine ale , great food and a very warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quaint thatched village.
Beautiful quintessential English pub. Absolutely beautiful traditional pub thatched roof flagstone floors traditional ales and cider. Nice food. Rooms good standard.

Reviewed by
David Coulthard

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, very quirky, great food, friendly staff

Reviewed by
N Uttley

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully old fashioned pub set in this quaint village
We are regular visitors to The Falkland Arms as we find this old fashioned pub a fantastic break away from work and city life. We were made to feel very welcome throughout and whilst not the cheapest pub accommodation it is unique and well worth the treat. We always enjoy the live folk music on Sunday evenings.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Winscombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend away!
We stayed at this beautiful country pub for a long weekend. We stayed in 'The Cottege' both nights which was just picture perfect. The cottage was a one up, one down with a pretty little garden out back. You could tell the cottage had recently been refurbed and had a lovely cozy county feel to it :)
We ate at the Falkland Arms on Friday night. Food was yummy, faultless, as was the service. We were welcomed to the pub by a chap called Ben who throughout our stay make us feel very welcome and served our ever need. All in all, a perfect location for that relaxing weekend break, or to explore the Costwold. Will 100% be returning x

Reviewed by
Adele Curtis

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
This pub was so special; there was everything you would expect in a Cotswolds village pub, and the welcome and hospitality were superb. Thatched roof, inglenook fireplace and flagstone floor really were genuine features so lovingly maintained. Wonderful!

Reviewed by
Patricia L

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next