Reviews - The Falkland Arms


19 - 21 The Green, ,, Great Tew, OX7 4DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

97% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Linda G

  • October 2015

Lovely overnight stay

A very quaint old pub, spacious room with very comfortable bed.

Excellent food & service. Would definitely stay again if on our route.

  • Rosemary F

  • August 2015

Gorgeous room!

Our room was at the top of this idyllic 15th century Inn.

We accessed the room via two steep, narrow, wooden spiral stairways from the bar. The room was long and narrow with an ensuite bathroom and a seating area to watch tv. The bed was comfy. When we arrived after hours of travel, however, there was no hot water, so we couldn't have a bath before we went down to eat our evening meal. (Hence my score of just 5) We think though that they knocked a bit off the bar bill in recompense, and the water was hot when we went up to bed later. The food was very good, not the usual chip- dominated bar food. There were several good beers to choose from, and breakfast next morning was fine. I would say though that some of the seats in the bar were uncomfortable, we changed tables to try to find more comfortable seats. I would definitely go there again. There was a genuine charm to this historic pub in the elilte and picturesque village of Great Tew

  • S Groves

  • May 2015

One night away

Excellent pub accommodation with a very good food menu.

Staff were polite and friendly. Had a good night's sleep with comfy bed and quite room. Breakfast had a wide choice of food but was slow as they had to fetch milk. Will stay again.

  • Mike B

  • May 2015


Excellent food and great breakfast choices, beautiful room and views, friendly and helpful staff.

An absolute joy to have stayed here.

  • Mark W

  • April 2015

Really traditional inn, great service, simple food

Possibly the best quality breakfast this year

  • H Jones

  • February 2015

The Falkland Arms

Excellent stay.

  • d boyer

  • December 2014

Excellent stay

Wonderful location, Very comfortable room, excellent ales, tasty food, smashing hosts.

Thank you.

  • David E

  • November 2014

Romantic Hideaway

Characterful place.

We stayed there one night and would definitely stay again. The staff are friendly and attentive. We had an evening meal and that was a gastronomic experience. Well done all.

  • shaun s

  • November 2014

Blemheim Stay

We stayed here whilst visiting Blenheim Palace, and were overjoyed at the quality of the pub, it is a fantastic looking Thatched pub, with a first class service, and comfort to match.

The Manager was both helpful and efficient.

  • A Stitt

  • November 2014

Charming Pub

Staff were welcoming & friendly, the room was charming.

We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and the service was also very good. Sorry to say we found the mattress very uncomfortable. The bathroom was fine with a bath & hand held shower attachment, might I suggest a shower curtain be fitted it was very difficult to use shower attachment so that no water sprayed out, being a upstairs room it might spoil the ceiling of the lower rooms.