No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mulberry

4Self Classified Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
PETWORTH ROAD , Chiddingfold, GU8 4SS
The Mulberry, formerly The Rams Nest, is located on the edge of Chiddingfold village.
The Mulberry Inn has a great reputation for its unique style of dining, fabulous food, world class wine and excellent local beer. Vibrant and inviting, The Mulberry is the perfect location for enjoying a relaxed dinner in the restaurant or garden or having a Sunday roast by the fire whilst soaking up the lively atmosphere.

The three recently beautifully refurbished guest rooms provide the perfect country retreat in lavish yet homely surroundings. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or are on a business trip, it is a relaxed, luxurious and affordable place to stay.
The Mulberry situates you in an ideal spot from which to discover the West Sussex and Surrey countryside and is only a 25 min drive from Goodwood.

Please note that breakfast facilities are not available during the week (room only bookings).

Picture of The Mulberry, Chiddingfold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in beautiful setting
A lovely small and friendly high quality hotel in the charming Surrey countryside.
Our room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and clean throughout.
We would love to come back soon for a longer stay.
However, a shame it doesn't offer breakfast facilities during the week.

Reviewed by
Nigel Bingham

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mulberry
Can't actually give a review as such for the Mulberry as I didn't get to stay here. Thankfully I had 5 mins between meetings in Lewes and thought I'd give the Mulberry a call to let them know my arrival time . Lucky I did as they'd mistakenly booked me in for the night before ! Panic ... i'm now without anywhere to stay that night as they were fully booked. The girl who took my call immediately phoned round and managed to book me into the Swan inn in Chiddingfold, at the same rate , with them picking up the tab for the balance. So I can't fault the customer service . Actually did me a favour as I didn't realise that The Mulberry have no breakfast other than at weekends.
I don't usually use late rooms as I would normally book a Premier Inn , I know what i'm getting...no surprises. Both nights i'd booked with Late rooms I've gotta say didn't go smoothly. The next night at The Star inn , Lingfield was nothing short of terrible !!

Reviewed by
L Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great place
Fantastic quality in a fantastic setting. Easy to find with a great welcome on arrival, good selection of beers and ciders, great wines and an excellent menu. Midweek doesn't offer a breakfast option but local surroundings provide ample opportunity, (drive though as the road isn't suitable for foot passengers!),.
Rooms are spacious, well quirky furnished and well equipped (only two Nescafe coffees though!). very big bed that feels like a welcoming cloud!
Would very much recommend it!

Reviewed by
Paul Cliff

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great areafor a base
staff great ,I had a dog they loved the dog, made me feel very welcome, 1 of the best rooms ive stayed in brilliant value for money,

Reviewed by
stephen measor

From shorehambysea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal spot to break your journey & over-night stay.
Leave things as they are, we enjoyed our stay. The evening meal we had was 1st class.

Reviewed by
alan b

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value close to Guildford
Very comfortable hotel accomodation in the countryside. Very nice shabby chic decor and clean. Good value for business trip.

Reviewed by
David B

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable experience
We were very pleased with our overnight stay.

Reviewed by
John S

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality and Value
Exellent quality of bedding,towels and toiletries, furniture shabby chic, with only 3 rooms, The Mulberry offers a quiet independent stay at a reasonable price. Be aware of set opening times for arrivals and departures and also pub restaurant hours. The Mulberry suits our requirements well for location but would not be as suitable without your own transport, there is plenty of parking on site. As different from previous stays with this hotel, LateRooms took payment on booking this time, whereas it used to be pay on arrival. We have always enjoyed our stay at The Mulberry.

Reviewed by
R Hood

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room
lovely large private room on the ground floor.very quiet.lovey decor. nice touch was the t.v and dvd recorder with a selection of dvds to watch.comfortable bed.only negative for me was the pillows which were way to soft for me. Full english breakfast very good with fantastic service. would come back again.

Reviewed by
Nina N

From Midhurst, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mulberry
Friendly staff, excellent food and a good nights sleep in quiet surroundings.

Reviewed by
B Manley

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next