No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ness

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
NESS DRIVE , TEIGNMOUTH, TQ14 0HP
Welcome to The Ness, an elegant Georgian Hotel located on the beautiful south Devon Coastline.

Situated overlooking the mouth of the Teign Estuary, we are just 50 yards from a wildlife zoo with some fascinating unusual animals and an approach golf course. Only 20 yards away we have the Smugglers Tunnel that takes you down to the secluded Ness Beach, sheltered by the Ness Cliff.The Ness provides a cosy atmosphere, a warm welcome, value for money and delicious food and drink. You are able to relax and enjoy your dinner whilst overlooking the panoramic views of the coastline. But its not only these things that make the Ness a great pub. It is something to do with the pub's warmth and authenticity, the friendliness of our team and being able find your own nook or cranny to settle into.
Picture of The Ness, TEIGNMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No sea view in room 12
We stayed at the ness for my husbands birthday as we love shaldon! The room was lovely although we were a little disappointed as for the money we paid we were the only room to not have a sea view. However the staff were very polite and helpful and shaldon is a beautiful place! We would return but next time in another room!

Reviewed by
Emma Buckley

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice view. Nice location
Stayed in the annexe at the Ness. It was a nice sized room. Very spacious. Clean linen. Well cleaned. Stocked well with tea and coffee. Nice balcony with view over the bay. The only thing I would say is that it was dated in areas and needed some general day attention. It had a little kitchenette which was out of date and needed replacing as was tatty. The carpet could do with replacing. The paint work on the wood wardrobes and the dressing area was shabby and needed repainting and a general tidy up. I didn't go to breakfast but my husband wasn't impressed. Every thing was dried up and the scrambled egg had too much milk in it he said. He said it was adequate and nothing special. I think this hotel room was overpriced we paid £110. Friends of ours had a nicer more personal Bed and Breakfast closer to Teignmouth which as only £80 which provided homemade bread and scones on arrival etc. Much more my thing than here. I wouldn't really stay again but it did the job.

Reviewed by
lisa H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location and room, but disappointed not to get a table for dinner
Having paid quite a bit for a deluxe room, was disappointed to be told on arrival that the restaurant was fully booked that evening for dinner, even though we were happy to eat at any time. I appreciate it was Easter Saturday, but thought a bit of effort could have been made to squeeze us in somewhere. Luckily we had the opposite experience down the road when we asked for a table in The Catch restaurant upstairs in the Ferrymans Inn Pub. Although they too were fully booked and a lot smaller, they offered us a table at 9.30 after the end of their normal service. We had amazing food and a friendly welcome there.
Breakfast at the Ness was very good and the room was lovely, even though a bit on the expensive side. The staff at breakfast were lovely too.

Reviewed by
A Baron

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

maybe slightly more then i would normally pay. but a lovely place beautiful setting

Reviewed by
m turner

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumnal visit
Food was excellent.
Room was fine apart from full bin which created a bad impression.
Service at reception was poor - left hanging around until someone could be bothered to attend to me.

Reviewed by
M Maloney

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful views and Tranquil Atmosphere.
We had room 11, on the end of the "motel block" away from the main building. But don't let that put you off. The room was very spacious, recently decorated, and with a balcony offering views across to Teignmouth. A row of hedges gives you privacy from Ness customers drinking in the gardens, although oddly the balconies between each room were not partitioned. The building we stayed in was surrounded by greenery, and this combined with the views made it a wonderful place to stay a night. Service at breakfast a little slow, but hotel happy for us to check out 30 mins late on the back of this.

Reviewed by
James A

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Living on their reputation and location.
Restaurant service very slow. First class cheerful and helpful staff.
room a great disappointment; the fittings appeared to have been DIY from sometime in the 1970s; these were coming apart in various places; the laminate flooring in the bathroom was warped and cracked. The sealant round the bath was dirty AS WAS THE BATH! (Tide mark showing!) A welcome addition particularly if staying longer was the kitchenette. Unfortunately the fridge showed signs of the last user and was desperately in need of a defrost as the frozen food compartment could not be opened. The carpet was stained in various places. There was no hairdryer despite being listed as a facility and no phone in the room. We stayed at a reduced rate but that still does not compensate for dirt! I would have been seeking a refund had I paid full price.

Reviewed by
ANNE H

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night by the sea
Hotel is in a great position. Staff were suberb and friendly. Room was nice but needed a bit of tlc. Bath tap would not work, which was a shame as it was a centre piece. Saying that I would still stay here again

Reviewed by
NEIL METCALFE

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!!
Had a great one night stay at The Ness. Very cosy with very pleasant staff and lovely room with beautiful views. Will be keeping an eye out for our next stay!

Reviewed by
N Evans

From Wales
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbelievable value
My stay at the Ness was faultless. The room was wonderful with balcony and sea view. The breakfast was first class. Food at the Ness, which I initially thought was expensive, turned out to be worth every penny and was top quality.

Reviewed by
J Perkins

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next