No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakcliffe Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
73 St Davids Hill , Exeter, EX4 4DW
The Oakcliffe Hotel is a small family run guest House situated in the Heart of the historic city of Exeter where Bill and Lorraine have been welcoming guest for many years, and is popular with both Business and Tourist travellers alike throughout the year. The Oakcliffe Is a charming late – Victorian guest house that was established in 1961 and has been in the family for over 40 years. We are situated close to the City Centre, The University of Exeter and Exeter College. The Coach Station is a 15 minute walk and St David’s and Central Railway Stations are just 5 minutes away and with a 10 minute walk to the city centre there is a wide variety of shops to cater for your every need. Ideally situated for exploring Exeter and the Devon country side and its numerous attractions.

Exeter is one of Britain’s oldest cities and there is a lot of heritage to explore with just a short walk to the magnificent 14th century Cathedral the Roman city walls and the Under ground passages. You can browse the antique shops on the quayside and take a boat ride along the River Exe or just enjoy some light refreshment or even a Devon cream tea.

Picture of Oakcliffe Hotel, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, convenient & so friendly
Oakcliffe is convenient for town & also St David's station (5-10 mins walk to each depending if you're going up or downhill & with how much baggage!). Similar to Exeter central.
En suite rooms aren't huge but perfectly adequate & very clean with all essentials. Bottled water in room was a nice touch. Breakfast nice. Owner was very friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
Lynda S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location, comfortable room and a top class breakfast. Parking on site is limited but more than adequate alternatives near by. I would have no hesitation in using the Oakcliffe when I am next in Exeter.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Stay
We were greated with a smile & happy face our room was small but we were only staying one night therefore wasnt too bad.
The bathroom was very small with toilet & shower very close together our room wouldnt suit a large couple & sink was in our bedroom. For just one night it was ok.

Reviewed by
April Price

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stop over to visit family
Welcoming owner nothing to much trouble. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Hotel very central to town centre and univercity. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Pamela Schulz

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for city centre
the female owner was extremely pleasant and welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. The room we had, en suite at the back, was a tight squeeze with luggage and it was pretty noisy at times - windows had to be kept open due to the stifling heat. No toiletries and no change of towels so we had to use the same wet ones over again over two night stay in very hot weather. A small bottle of water was provided due to exceptional heat which was welcome. free Wi-Fi in room and tea/coffee facilities. 10 min walk into the town centre the location of this B&B is superb. About 3 or 4 car parking spaces, again a tight squeeze, get there early if possible to get a space. Was adequate for the price.

Reviewed by
Melanie B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value stay near the city centre with parking
The Oakcliffe is a good place to stay - near St David's station and easy walking to the city centre. A real bonus is the free parking.
It is a very friendly place, and the rooms are comfortable - our double had a nice view to the hills to the west of the city.

Reviewed by
Penny K

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly atmosphere. good food, slept well and very handy for walking into city centre & quay side
breakfast very good, slept well, nice place would stop again

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Karen W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
A good basic friendly accommodation.

Reviewed by
alan underhill

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Right from the start our host was very reassuring on the phone when I thought I'd made a mistake with our booking, and equally accommodating when we arrived an hour later than estimated. We were greeted very cheerily and shown to our room and as we had come some distance, we were informed of a nearby pub that we might like to visit for a nightcap! We spent a very comfortable night and enjoyed a good shower and tasty, generous breakfast. On our departure, we were invited to leave the car at the hotel and to borrow an umbrella, which we thought very kind and considerate.

Reviewed by
J Morris

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next