Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > Blue Rainbow Apart Hotel Edinburgh
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blue Rainbow Apart Hotel Edinburgh

4Visit Scotland Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
2 YORK BUILDINGS Queen Street, EDINBURGH, EH2 1HY
Probably the best located apartment hotel in Edinburgh! These beautifully equipped studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and penthouse apartments are located just minute’s walk from some of Edinburgh's best loved attractions including The Play House, The National Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh Castle and the shopping district with stores such as Harvey Nichols, Louis Vuitton just across the road.

Our apartments benefit from their own private gardens ensuring the perfect location for your stay. Recently refurbished reception area & coffee lounge. A perfect night’s sleep is guaranteed with our new 'Rainbow Sleeper' beds designed especially for us. Features include a 24 hour manned reception, 4 star quality & service, 42 plasma TV, movies & music on demand, Wi-Fi, cabled and keyboard internet available, telephone, 900 thread count Egyptian cotton towels, bedding & robes, goose down duvets, Toiletries from the White Company & Elemis, welcome bag on arrival day including milk, orange juice, cereal selection, biscuits, a selection of tea's and coffee's in every apartment.

Discounted parking at St James NCP car park, payment made directly to the car park. Important - The card used to book must be presented at check in to provide a pre authorisation of at least £100 and entry cannot be permitted without this, ID must be shown on arrival. All rates shown are PRE PAID rates and the hotel will take full payment for the entire stay at the point of booking. We do not accept Laser cards.
Picture of Blue Rainbow Apart Hotel Edinburgh, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Central and good quality accommodation.

Reviewed by
P Walker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A visit to The Fringe and to meet up with family
Overall I can recommend Blue Rainbow Apart Hotel - it was more than I would normally pay for B&B but being mid August and during the Fringe accommodation is scarce. That said, an apartment gives the best of both worlds - particularly if staying for more than one night - the living space was very well presented with table laid for breakfast - fresh milk in fridge and plenty of teas and coffee to choose from. The shower was not very good and at one point it leapt from the cradle and soaked the floor - I don't like shower curtains around a bath enclosure - but a minor point. The bed was extremely comfortable and struggled to get up the next morning. I would definitely stay again but for more than 1 night. The gentleman behind reception was not very welcoming - it was early in the morning … but that said when we returned later to check into our room (not a problem dumping bags as room was not available until later in the day - which we had expected) he was great and had maybe 'woken up' and was feeling a bit brighter - he then couldn't do enough for us and was very courteous and jovial!

Reviewed by
Suzanne Way

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute break
Excellent location. Great sleep in a very comfy bed.

Reviewed by
Wendy W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apartment /great location
We booked a premier apartment for an overnight stay , luxury bathrobes and toiletries are supplied and milk tea,coffee and biscuits are also supplied . The room was spotless and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in. The location is great as you are minutes from Princes Street and St Andrews Square. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance from the apartment. The staff are friendly and welcoming and helpful. We would certainly return when visiting Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
James L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointed
We booked this room to have a luxury day in Edinburgh for a birthday celebration with the impression that the room was of high quality. It had been described as an executive room in the booking page with additions to the room, such as a breakfast bag, high quality toiletries, bathrobes and free wifi, however once we had arrived we discovered our room did not come with these extras and our room appeared to be a saver room, which was not what I booked. The service was good as we had to ask for more towels as we were only given 2 small towels and the location is great. It was just a shame that the details that would have made it more special weren't there.

Reviewed by
Katherine N

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location nice hotel
We had an exutive room. Cooker didn't work but we were quickly moved to another room staff courteous. Bedding great bathroom toiletries excellent.rooms spacious and clean.excellent location for ease of access to Edinburgh already planning our next visit !!!

Reviewed by
Avis M

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice - very convenient
Receptionist very polite and professional. Lobby areas clean and tidy. Room was amazing - 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room and bathroom. All rooms were a good size. The location was really good - less then a 10 minute walk from the train station and very close to many restaurants, bars, attractions.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect trip!
I was lucky enough to find a bargain deal for this hotel due to a 'World Cup' half price sale. We were amazed when we arrived , the apartment was just lovely and so spacious! Decorated beautifully and lovely furniture. The appartments also couldn't be in a better location, literally a stones throw away from Princes Street. We loved our stay here it really couldn't have been any better but if there was anything to make it better it would be parking spaces.

Reviewed by
Louise Miller

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise for a last minute city break
Booked this apartment 2 days before traveling. Wasn't quite sure what to expect given the very reasonable price of the apartment. We arrived early and the reception staff allowed is to leave our bags so we didn't have to spend the morning carrying them around the city. Once we checked in we found the apartment very clean and surprisingly large. The bathroom came with all essential toiletries - shampoo, moisture, shower gel and soap. The kitchen had all the equipment you could need to cook a decent dinner. It was nice that there was tea/coffee ready for our arrival. The only minor complaint would be the milk provided was slightly sour/off but I am sure if we asked this would have been replaced as the check in staff were very friendly and happy. The apartment is easy to find from the main train station. I would definitely consider booking blue rainbow apartments again if I visited Edinburgh again.

Reviewed by
E Sanders

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, hospitable, well located however improvements needed in some areas.
We stayed at the Blue Rainbow Hotel for 2 nights recently on our honeymoon and were very impressed with how spacious the apartment was and how friendly and accomodating the staff were. The hotel itself is very well situated with just a 5 minute walk to Princes Street and the main Edinburgh attractions (via St.Andrews Square); also within easy reach of the tram stop in St.Andrews Square which is especially useful when travelling to or from Edinburgh airport. We were slightly disappointed with the continental breakfast provided (£8.50 per day) as although most of the items provided were sufficient for the 2 days we felt that the milk and sugar should have been replenished. The breakfast itself consisted of 1 frozen loaf of medium sized bread, a selection of butter,jams and spreads, orange juice, 2 x weetabix, 2 x bran flakes, 2 x corn flakes and 1 pint of milk. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable and we would certainly consider returning - ideal for a city break or business trip.

Reviewed by
James M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next