No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Diplomat Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
2 Chesham Street, Belgravia, London, SW1X 8DT
With a great location in the heart of Belgravia -one of Londons most exclusive areas- this beautiful historic Victorian building offers free WiFi and comfortable ensuite rooms - A beautifully preserved grade II listed building The Diplomat Hotel has a convenient location in a quiet residential area just 5 minutes walk from Belgrave Square -home of many of the capitals embassies - All that London has to offer is within easy reach and the hotels great location means it offers good access to Londons transport networks - London Victoria Station is less than 900 metres away and Sloane Square and Knightsbridge London Underground Stations are even nearer - Harrods - Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace are all within easy walking distance - With 26 rooms the hotel offers a friendly and personal service - All rooms have telephone-television-tea andcoffee making facilities-working desk-hairdryers and bathroom accessories - A full English and continental buffet style breakfast is included in the price
Picture of The Diplomat Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
In needing of refurb but staff friendly, helpful and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also good with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
c m

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location, Exemplary Service,
Faultless - I had a highly enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Neil de Prez

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay
The hotel was a little off the beaten track from the city centre,although it was still easy to get to the town centre.The room was adequate,clean and pretty quiet.Whilst there was free wifi in the room,it was very difficult to access emails,etc,as the connection was poor.The breakfast was adequate,and catered to all tastes.Staff pleasant and helpful at all times.Overall it was a pleasant stay for the price,and I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value in Belgravia
I was invited to a business event in Belgravia at the last minute and had a look on the offchance that there was some accommodation nearby that wouldn't cost hundreds of pounds. Not only did The Diplomat end up being the closest but it was fantastic value too, at least a third of the price of anywhere else with decent reviews. As someone who often travels alone for work I always appreciate hotels that have single rooms at a slightly lower cost too.
Yes, if you're looking for newly renovated modern rooms this isn't necessarily the hotel for you, but there's a certain old-school charm to the rooms and they are spotlessly clean. Nice shower too - and slippers! The building itself is stunning, and my room (Room 29) even had a little balcony which was lovely.
In the morning there was the option to have breakfast on their patio/terrace area which was another nice touch. I would have liked maybe a bit more fresh fruit and some yoghurt available but it was still very nice and the croissants are HUGE.
The staff were really helpful, letting me know where the nearest places to eat were and answering any questions that I had. I can't remember if it was for this hotel that there was a review somewhere mentioning that there's no drinking water in the rooms, but anyway there's a water dispenser just outside so it's not an issue.
I'd definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Katy C

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value Hotel in up-market Belgravia
This Hotel is nestled in the centre of Belgravia within touching distance of Harrods, Harvey Nichols and Sloan Square. For those looking for quiet away from the City Centre but not that far away it is an inconvenience or expense to get there, this is ideal. The Hotel has retained lots of original and quirky features (2 Person Lift and Domed Atrium) but sadly could do with refurbishment as The Room / Bathroom was tired and dated but this did not affect our stay as the room had everything you needed. The windows are not double or secondary glazed therefore there is some road noise to contend with. Breakfast is served in a lovely refurbished basement area which the rest of the Hotel could benefit with a similar makeover. It’s bright and airy. The breakfast was a highlight of the stay with excellent service and good choice of continental and cooked options.

Reviewed by
Murray C

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality, but disapointed by restaurant = breakfast only.
Good quality, but disappointed by restaurant = breakfast only.

Reviewed by
J Falch

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a hotel
Excellent value for money in a charming hotel located in a very upmarket part of London. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and I was so pleased that breakfast was a good quality full English breakfast, served in a lovely little breakfast room. I received a free upgrade to a double room, which was a nice surprise. The only challenge was getting from the lift, which terminated on the third floor, up to my room on the fifth (attic) floor with a case via a narrow staircase but I suppose that's why the room was so reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Eileen C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value in Belgravia
Very comfortable hotel just 5-10 mins walk from Hyde Park corner. Good size room.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.