No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5 Market Place, , , Frome, BA11 1AF
Situated in the centre of the market town of Frome which is ideally placed for the tourist, being close to Bath and Longleat Safari Park. The 19 bedrooms are all en-suite and tastefully furnished with one room having a four poster bed. Other amenities include secure parking, a function room available for hire for private parties or conference meetings, a lounge bar serving coffees, through to a range of meals, from snacks to main courses. A full range of Wadworth cask conditioned ales are available alongside a selection of lagers,ciders, wines and spirits. Frome is the fourth largest town in Somerset and a wonderful centre from which to visit the surrounding area. It is an attractive town built on steep hills with cobbled streets. Architecturally well preserved, there are more listed buildings in Frome than any other Somerset town. In recent years the town has developed a reputation as a focus for arts and craft, there are a number of galleries and contemporary craft centres. The George Hotel has played an important role for the residents of Frome, based in the very centre of the market town, it is popular as a regular meeting place. Frome is ideally placed as a touring centre, within easy reach of Bath, Wells, Longleat, Stourhead and many more. There is also a great deal to discover within the town. Frome has a wealth of historic and architectural interest alongside a thriving contemporary arts scene.
Picture of George Hotel, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real market town hotel.
I go to Frome once a year to attend the Frome Show and always pick to stay at The George.
Service is good and its town centre location means that it is handy for walks around the area.
Breakfast was exactly to my taste and was quickly served which meant that I could get on my way to the show.

Reviewed by
john allison

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and tidy with a good bathroom and great shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and room was cleaned well each day.

Reviewed by
I Taylor

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
Our room was clean and bright,excellent hospitality tray.comfortable beds.only down side there was no wardrobe to hang your clothes in or coat hangers around,so we had to drape our clothes over the chair.the breakfast was good and staff very pleasant.we would stay here again if in the area.

Reviewed by
G Mitchell

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ignore the bad comments - This place is wonderful
Stayed with my wife recently on a visit to Frome and found The George to be brilliant! Yes a bit tired here and there but the room was clean and tidy - the shower hot and the food great. Parking was easy - I drive a 4 x 4 and had no problems getting in and out of the bays and with the lock you can ensure that your car stays safe. Breakfast was included in our special offer price of £59! Could not believe it as Travel lodge wanted £80. Staff were spot on - friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed the stay so much we are going back in October! Thank you

Reviewed by
Byron Jackson

From South Brent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab little hotel
Friendly staff, great food. Ideal location for travel to local attractions.
Secure car park was very tight and difficult to get out of due to volume of cars packed in.

Reviewed by
R Hills

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rambling but lovely
The hotel has partly been refurbished and the rooms in the older half were a little tired. The place is charming though, the bar serves great food and the staff could not have been more helpfull

Reviewed by
Sally D

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, comfortable hotel in a nice wee town.
The bedroom (room 4) was comfortable, but not spacious enough for two people with large suitcases. The bathroom however was more than ample. The building is old and does not have a lift up to the rooms, so it may not be suitable for guests with mobility problems. The staff that we met were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was very good and plentiful.

Reviewed by
George Wilson

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!!
As previous reviews, The George is in need of refurbishment, but do not let that put you off! Everyone was very welcoming, Charlotte made us feel at home instantly (that girl deserves a pay rise!!) Everywhere was spotlessly clean despite being worn, food was excellent and served quckly (extra bonus with a tired 3 yr old grandson for evening meal!!) Breakfast was fantastic. Thankyou for a lovely end to a busy day spent at Longleat!!

Reviewed by
carol s

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many thanks to the bar man who stayed on late to let us in way after check in time, much appreciated.

Reviewed by
Hazel G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted
We had a one night stop at this hotel it was dated and had some things that could do with being fixed i.e. cracked tiles etc but it had everything we needed was tidy the parking was a god send and the breakfast was very nice and for the price we paid we were very happy

Reviewed by
Emma O

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next