No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5 Market Place, , , Frome, BA11 1AF
Situated in the centre of the market town of Frome which is ideally placed for the tourist, being close to Bath and Longleat Safari Park. The 19 bedrooms are all en-suite and tastefully furnished with one room having a four poster bed. Other amenities include secure parking, a function room available for hire for private parties or conference meetings, a lounge bar serving coffees, through to a range of meals, from snacks to main courses. A full range of Wadworth cask conditioned ales are available alongside a selection of lagers,ciders, wines and spirits. Frome is the fourth largest town in Somerset and a wonderful centre from which to visit the surrounding area. It is an attractive town built on steep hills with cobbled streets. Architecturally well preserved, there are more listed buildings in Frome than any other Somerset town. In recent years the town has developed a reputation as a focus for arts and craft, there are a number of galleries and contemporary craft centres. The George Hotel has played an important role for the residents of Frome, based in the very centre of the market town, it is popular as a regular meeting place. Frome is ideally placed as a touring centre, within easy reach of Bath, Wells, Longleat, Stourhead and many more. There is also a great deal to discover within the town. Frome has a wealth of historic and architectural interest alongside a thriving contemporary arts scene.
Picture of George Hotel, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

contractor
Very nice room , good breakfast, cant park large van in underground carpark,,,, overall very good.

Reviewed by
des b

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small break
Was a lovely stay, would definitely stay again! Room was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and attentive! Breakfast was also very good.

Reviewed by
H Tudor

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, basic hotel in Centre of Frome, Great food, comfy accomodation
The staff here are polite and very helpful. The location is superb, right in the centre with free parking round the back. The room was simple and a little old fashioned but the bed was comfy and the whole room and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast and dinner in the restaurant downstairs was superb.

Reviewed by
Tara S

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with friendly staff, very good food... but a bit to wish for in cleanliness
We stayed one night and are more or less satisfied with the quality of the stay overall. The oly thing we reacted on was that the cleanliness of the room had a bit to wish for. The beds were clean and had fresh linnen but the rest of the room gave a feeling that it had not been wery good cleaned.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Sweden
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel
We had two rooms at The George. The hotel is in a very good location near Longleat and Stourhead. In the centre of Frome, which is a pleasant town, there were plenty of places to eat nearby. The rooms had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The downside for us was that the rooms overlooked the Main Street and it was very noisy into the early hours of Sunday morning. The breakfast was quite good but took a long time to arrive by which time it was not very warm. There was secure parking at the rear of the hotel but this involved quite a walk to get round the front to Reception.

Reviewed by
M Briggs

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room
we stayed for one night in the family room which had problems with damp aswell as bad decoration a cracked sink and a bad smell from the kitchen vent which was directly outside the window,which made the room extremely hot with two young children.

Reviewed by
Jamie Hensman

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We stayed here to be located near to Longleat Safari Park. We found the hotels facilities excellent and where very surprised at both the size and quality of the room. It was nice to see that the owners had modernised a hotel whilst maintaining original features and character of the building.
Staff where generally helpful, although we did find a female member of staff slightly abrupt and unwelcoming during breakfast. With this said the breakfast itself was lovely, both in quality and presentation.
Overall the hotel was excellent value for money, having stayed in 4 star rooms which lacked the quality displayed with this hotel. We would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab staff, beautiful town
The staff couldn't do too much to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They were friendly and polite. We stayed in the four poster room which was lively, although the bathroom could do with updating. The hotel is old, which is evident in places, however it did not impact our stay. For the area it is really affordable. We have booked to stay here the night before our wedding and certainly will be visiting before then. Great stay!

Reviewed by
L Rigby

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and friendly staff
Only drawback is that rooms are situated via lots of stairs and wouldn't be suitable for elderly or anyone with walking disabilies. Also car parking could be better indicated as its hard to find without prior directions.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next