Reviews - George Hotel


5 Market Place, ,, Frome, BA11 1AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (129)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard N

  • October 2014

frome the George

Unsettled on arrival by fisticuffs by itinerants on the street outside, but police sorted it out and no repeat.

The accommodation is having a revamp, hence cheaper prices I presume, the pub and dining area is fine, and service and food superb.

  • S Gregory

  • October 2014

Good nights sleep

I have stayed at this hotel once before as it is right in the centre of Frome.

The rooms are accessed via a series of stairs/floors which was not a problem for me but if you have mobility issues or a lot of luggage may not suit some travellers so it may be worth those people ringing the hotel direct to see if they have a more suitably accessible room for you. The bar was spacious and friendly with good food and my room was quiet as Frome is generally not that noisy a town in the evening. This hotel would be a good base from which to explore the local area and other nearby towns like Bath, Bradford-on-Avon. Warminster, Shepton Mallet, Glastonbury, Devizes and Melksham at is very close to Longleat.

  • J Clement

  • October 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, room clean & cosy, great food.

Overall a great stay and excellent value for money :)

  • Vicki M

  • October 2014

Nice hotel, good value, close to Longleat

Very nice hotel with clean, comfortable room.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was very good - had breakfast and dinner here. Both were delicious and generous. Much better than other hotels I've stayed at. Extra points for real coffee and real OJ at breakfast served in normal size cups (not the thimbles served at other hotels / B&Bs)

Only negative was a little noisy around midnight with late-nighters walking past outside but to be expected at kicking out time on a main road. If you are an early-to-bed type or light sleeper then request a room at the back of the hotel.

  • John Dixon

  • October 2014

Unexpected Pleasure

This hotel turned out to be much better than anticipated.

On entering the bar area it seems to be a pretty average pub, and the route to the rooms seems a bit twisty, but the room we had #4 was lovely, big bathroom, everything beautifully clean. The dining room and service was excellent, we had breakfast, me full, wife vegetarian breakfast, both well cooked, newspapers provided for reading. All in all a really good experience. Oh almost forgot, they have their own garage which provides secure parking. Excellent value for money.

  • Rebekah Howard

  • October 2014

Room was quite small but that was the only down side to it.

Bed was very comfy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Christine C

  • October 2014

Returning guest

The George Hotel is perfectly located in the town centre of Frome.

Staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent, free secure parking is provided which is a huge bonus and rare, the cost is very reasonable. I have already booked my next stay and will be booking my 4th stay in December.

  • I Taylor

  • September 2014

The room was clean and tidy with a good bathroom and great shower.

Staff were friendly and helpful and room was cleaned well each day.

  • Byron Jackson

  • September 2014

Ignore the bad comments - This place is wonderful

Stayed with my wife recently on a visit to Frome and found The George to be brilliant.

Yes a bit tired here and there but the room was clean and tidy - the shower hot and the food great. Parking was easy - I drive a 4 x 4 and had no problems getting in and out of the bays and with the lock you can ensure that your car stays safe. Breakfast was included in our special offer price of £59. Could not believe it as Travel lodge wanted £80. Staff were spot on - friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed the stay so much we are going back in October. Thank you

  • john allison

  • September 2014

A real market town hotel.

I go to Frome once a year to attend the Frome Show and always pick to stay at The George.

Service is good and its town centre location means that it is handy for walks around the area. Breakfast was exactly to my taste and was quickly served which meant that I could get on my way to the show.