No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
5 Market Place, , , Frome, BA11 1AF
Situated in the centre of the market town of Frome which is ideally placed for the tourist, being close to Bath and Longleat Safari Park. The 19 bedrooms are all en-suite and tastefully furnished with one room having a four poster bed. Other amenities include secure parking, a function room available for hire for private parties or conference meetings, a lounge bar serving coffees, through to a range of meals, from snacks to main courses. A full range of Wadworth cask conditioned ales are available alongside a selection of lagers,ciders, wines and spirits. Frome is the fourth largest town in Somerset and a wonderful centre from which to visit the surrounding area. It is an attractive town built on steep hills with cobbled streets. Architecturally well preserved, there are more listed buildings in Frome than any other Somerset town. In recent years the town has developed a reputation as a focus for arts and craft, there are a number of galleries and contemporary craft centres. The George Hotel has played an important role for the residents of Frome, based in the very centre of the market town, it is popular as a regular meeting place. Frome is ideally placed as a touring centre, within easy reach of Bath, Wells, Longleat, Stourhead and many more. There is also a great deal to discover within the town. Frome has a wealth of historic and architectural interest alongside a thriving contemporary arts scene.
Picture of George Hotel, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 147 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night at the George
We were in one of the new rooms - fab. Excellent value for money, comfy bed and lovely big bathroom. Breakfast was great. Also had an afternoon meal there and that was good too.
Would not hesitate to return - excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
s davies

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant night at the George!
Couldn't of wished for a better nights stay, the George provided a spotless room with a very comfy bed and bathroom with everything provided for an overnight stay. The staff were friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was fabulous and very well presented all part of a good value for money stay for us as we were guests at a nearby wedding. Would definitely recommend The George and would revisit.

Reviewed by
R Dawson

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Customer Service
The staff could not do enough to help out, very friendly and accommodating.
Food standard is excellent for the prices charged.
Will definitely stay again.
One point to be aware of if you have a room overlooking the market place is that the windows are only single glazed so be prepared for the odd profanity shouted out by late night revellers

Reviewed by
S Janiszewski

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
Beautiful 4 poster bedroom, spacious with a balcony over looking the high street, fantastic humorous staff with a massive choice and size of breakfast. They could improve by making a back route from the carpark as you have to walk around the whole building with luggage...and us ladies don't travel light lol but overall great place, great location and great hospitality and service

Reviewed by
allison goody

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel noise
Although the hotel was clean a nd comfortable, we had very little sleep during the 2 nights that we stayed. Our room was at the side near the front of the building. The windows were single glazed and all noise filtered through. Our main problem was from 11pm-4am on both nights. Young people were congregating at the bus stop and out side Subway food outlet and running up and down, shouting and swearing all the time. Because the room was so hot we had no choice but to keep the windows open, which made it worse.

Reviewed by
B Apps

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location ideal for visiting areas of interest.
We had an enjoyable weekend, the location was ideal for the purpose of our stay. The staff were polite and dedicated to service.
Our observations of the decor from the main guest areas were shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment and decoration (frayed and worn carpets chunks out of walls, chipped and scratched paint work and tired furniture) . We stayed in bedroom 5 which had a really comfortable bed but the noise from the street went on until the early hours of the morning which kept me awake.
Would I stay here again.....Maybe if the owners invested some money in up-dating and refurbishing.

Reviewed by
Margaret L

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location at competitive price & awesome food
Booked for a 1 night stay as was close to place of business. As it was central it was easy to find but parking was an issue. There is disabled parking outside which is fine for checking out but checking in you have to park the car up and walk to the hotel.
Their car park is behind the hotel behind the local small cinema, down a ramp and is basically a kind of lock up affair which you need the key to a padlock to get open. As a first time stayer I parked at a local car park and walked to book in to then find out where the hotel's car park was.
Apart from this if you have a large estate or 4x4 you may find it hard to get access into the underground car park but this should of been highlighted on the website.
This was the only negative as the room was clean, had the necessary mod cons and the bed comfortable. Ample tea and coffees. Looked at the room service menu and was ample for all tastes, although you could order room service there was no phone in the room! Can only guess that you have to make your way to the bar area to order then go back up to your room.
Good atmosphere for a local watering hole too with Wadsworth ales a plenty and the food also did not disappoint.
Would recommend staying here as long as you know upfront about the rear underground parking but did not affect my stay.

Reviewed by
Kevin Webb

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very very good overall
Service comfort and value for money it was spot on.
Carpets a little thread bare in places and some new sealer around the bath but that said we had a really great stay and WILL be back.
Food in the evening was faultless and the service friendly and attentive.
Breakfast fry up was huge and great quality.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at The George
Stayed here many times - a favourite place of ours - but £50 a room a bit pricey, so having to ration our visits now ...
As has happened many times before, there was apparently no record of our booking when we arrived - this is getting a bit regular and is disconcerting after a 200-mile journey ... Sort it out, Laterooms!

Reviewed by
Derek A

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, comfortable, friendly, great for a central location in Frome.

Reviewed by
M Dyer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next