George Hotel

3

5 Market Place, ,, Frome, BA11 1AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (149)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Lowman

  • August 2014

clean tidy and value for money

we stayed 3 nights for work locally the room ( 6 ) was clean tidy and as modern as you can make a listed building room , for the money £65 was great value for money .

Breakfast was as good a quality as I got at the Celtic manor

thumbs up

  • Alex P

  • August 2014

nice short stay

Room was clean and had everything needed for a comfortable night stay.

Building is looking a bit tired, but bar and dining area looked nice. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Cathy C

  • August 2014

We had the double room with a four poster bed.

This was a good sized room with a comfortable bed with lovely crisp, sheets and pillow cases. It was all very clean. We were made very welcome on booking in, and the staff at the bar in the evening and the morning were very professional and friendly. We had an enjoyable evening meal and the full English breakfast was wonderfully cooked and fresh.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • m mccolgan

  • August 2014

Ok and cheap

Hotel was ok, could do with redecoration, room was spacious but had damp coming through roof, bathroom ok, staff very friendly and waitress advised of nice place to eat, breakfast was lovely in the morning and plenty to eat, was decent enough for money we paid but could be so much better

  • T Hartholt

  • August 2014

Happy average

A mediocre hotel, however wasn't expecting the highest of standards so not a disappointment.

The web site said the hotel had it's own parking ( which it does ) however upon arrival there are no signs to tell you were to go. After several trips up and down the busy road I called the hotel to find out where it was. I was told I had to find a space to park my car then come and sign in were they would then give me keys to their underground car park at the back of the hotel. However I was alone with a 7 week baby and it was pouring with rain, plus there was no parking near the hotel. I explained this to the manger who informed me I could drive around and park first as it was left open. So I did, then realised my car ( a camper ) couldn't fit in the underground car park. Called hotel manager again and was told that was my only option as they had no outside spaces. So in the end I had to park in a pay and display away from the hotel, making several trips to and fro with my baby to carry belongings in. Check in was in the main bar which was busy as open to the public on the high street. This felt awkward as I had all my stuff and a crying baby. However the manger did give me a different room as the stairs to my orginal one would of been to difficult to get to with baby. The room I was given was apparently better then the one I was supposed to have. The room was ok, a four poster bed, clean and comfy. The carpets in dire need of replacing , old and discoloured making the room smell musty. The bathroom was clean but mouldy grout on tiles and sealant peeling , black in places and missing in others. However shower above bath in good working order. This room is on the first floor on the main road, beware it's extremely noisy with traffic and people. The breakfast was what is expect with the venue. Cafe standards but the staff were lovely and attentive. The manger was also lovely and helpful and tried to make things easier for me on my stay. A nice enough stay but good do with a Thorough over hall, new carpets, new lick of paint and bathrooms.

  • Cathryn A

  • July 2014

one night Friday eve stay

From the outside we at first were a bit worried as it looks a bit shabby, but once inside found it very clean and quaint with the wood doors and interior.

Had to check in at the bar and was a warm and efficient welcome. Having a car park was great, tho tight for larger cars. Room perfectly adequate, small, but only for sleeping as we were staying for a wedding nearby. Shower nice and powerful. Good choice for breakfast and friendly efficient service. Would definitely recommend.

  • A Roberts

  • July 2014

George Hotel

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • des b

  • July 2014

contractor

Very nice room , good breakfast, cant park large van in underground carpark,,,, overall very good.

  • M Dyer

  • July 2014

Great hotel, comfortable, friendly, great for a central location in Frome.

  • H Tudor

  • July 2014

Small break

Was a lovely stay, would definitely stay again.

Room was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was also very good.