Reviews - George Hotel


5 Market Place, ,, Frome, BA11 1AF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (129)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Norman A

  • March 2015

A Long Climb To An Enjoyable Stay.

We were impressed with The George Hotel.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals offered a varied choice at good value. Our room was clean, comfortable and very acceptable. We thought we had struck lucky with being allocated room 3 (reasonably close to Reception?). Unfortunately it was a long climb up and down stairs to reach it which, added to the climb from the underground garage, had me just about on my knees - I have a heart condition. Nonetheless, we were impressed with our stay and would certainly go again - but this time asking for rooms 10 or 11 - closest to Reception.

  • Natalie W

  • March 2015

Beautiful hotel. Lovely stay!

Gorgeous room with a comfy bed.

Delicious breakfast worth getting up for and really nice people working in the hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Karen R

  • March 2015

Very good

Our room was lovely, a nice size and very clean and modern.

Breakfast was good too. A lovely stay in all

  • Allison G

  • March 2015

Great Value

Room was a good size and very quiet.

Breakfast was great and very fresh. For the price, it is amazing value.

  • Barrie C

  • March 2015

Comfortable traditional hotel

Ideal for a short stay - refurbished bedrooms, friendly staff and good beer!

  • Malcolm P

  • March 2015

Two nights at The George

Nice clean room, very friendly and helpful staff right across the board.

Bar / restaurant meal was nice home cooked food and very tasty. Breakfast was excellent as ever, we are regular stayers at The George. Drinks a bit pricey in the bar, but as we are not big drinkers, not a problem. Good central location, but be prepared to have a short walk from the car park to the hotel.

  • Paul H

  • March 2015

Toilet never worked, mattress pretty uncomfortable

Stayed in a small single room.

Room was very nice but the mattress was awful could feel the springs sticking out. The toilet never worked, had to use the shower hose to flush it. Generally speaking I am pretty laid back about things so as I was on my own I never bothered mentioning it though presumably the cleaner would know. Breakfast was reasonable, proper poached eggs. Staff were friendly. I would certainly go back there.

  • Paul Pearce

  • March 2015

Much Improved!

The George has always offered a great atmosphere, friendly service and good pub grub and now offers rooms of the same high quality.

The newly extended accommodations are superb with comfy beds and powerful showers at fantastic rates.

  • Zoe c

  • February 2015

Recommend a stay

Great friendly place to stay and dine.

Would recommend a visit as its set in a wonderful town too.

  • J Holcombe

  • January 2015

No problems at all

Beautiful room, great food, friendly helpful staff, everywhere clean and tidy and food was very good