No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Easington House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
50 Oxford Road, , , Banbury, OX16 9AN
Easington House is a charming centuries-old farmhouse on the edge of Banbury town centre therefore convenient for bars, pubs and restaurants and Castle Quay Shopping Centre. There is also a Farmers Market every month. It is believed to be one of the oldest buildings in Banbury and has such history behind it as reputedly being owned by George Washingtons nephew, The Bishop of Lincoln and the Reverend Risley Cotton We serve traditional English or Continental breakfast using where we can, local and British produce including English bacon, local sausages, free range eggs together with Oxford marmalade, English honey and preserves. Also croissants and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. We cater for vegetarians; please ask for details when making your booking. Our Afternoon Tea offers a selection of cakes, scones and sandwiches with choice of teas. Please see our website for the menu. We now have a licensed restaurant, open between 6.30-8.30pm, Monday to Saturday. Well located just off Junction 11 of the M40, therefore convenient for the Cotswolds including Moreton in Marsh, Bourton on the Water, Stow on the Wold and Burford. Also Oxford, Woodstock, Silverstone Racing Circuit, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Stratford upon Avon, Warwick Castle, Broughton Castle, Sulgrave Manor and Heritage Motor Museum. There is a great offer for guests at the Easington for a spa break where you receive a 10% discount at Bannatynes Leisure Centre close by. Our rooms are confortable and individually furnished and decorated all en suite offering free WiFi, digital TVs, hospitality tray, telephones, hairdryers with quality toiletries (Forever Living Products). There is a lovely Four Poster Room which is perfect for a wedding night or a romantic weekend away. This has a King Sized Four Poster Bed and traditional "Clawed Slipper Bath". Also there are great discounted rates for guests staying 2 and 3 nights or more.
Picture of Easington House, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
This guest house is a bit hit and miss as stayed their the week before for work and it was absolutely fine the following week was very noisy with guests rolling jn drunk at 1am and making lots of noise.

Reviewed by
jaz s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely comfortable high class accommodation.
My sister and I stayed here 2 nights while attending to family business in the area. We had an extremely comfortable twin room at the back of the house, with a very good unsuited too and shower room making excellent use of a very small space.Nice touches like shower gel,luxury soap etc.,provided. Beautiful dining room looking out onto the garden,and delicious breakfast with huge choice and beautifully presented. We also had an evening meal with family earlier in the week,which was superb,and completed with tea/coffee in a lovely cosy lounge area,all to ourselves.Would definitely like to stay again when in area.

Reviewed by
Sarah N

From Larne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Met by a friendly face on arrival and directed to room 8....a single room.
The room was a little cramped but was ok....everything as advertised and shower was ok. Bed was comfortable and noise from the road was acceptable. I would agree with some other comments that the floors creaked in the halls and from other rooms but if you like staying in places with character then it's a minor flaw.
Breakfast was of good quality although if being picky, some of the table linen was stained.
In summary, you'll get a friendly welcome here.... a pleasant and comfortable room and a good breakfast which altogether represents good value for money....a proper bed and breakfast that is well positioned off the M40 and for the town centre.

Reviewed by
Steve K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be so much better
Looks great from the outside. Room was very small the en suite was very very small. Bed was uncomfortable and place looks tiered.

Reviewed by
Z A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear
We had the smallest double room, with no more than 6 inches around the bed! My husband had to leave the shower room door open to be able to wash his face!
Our evening meal was disappointing and had we been staying longer we would have eaten out! However our breakfast although not a huge selection was well cooked.
Would we stay again...no sorry!

Reviewed by
una b

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful accommodation

Reviewed by
Joanne Shingler

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay

Reviewed by
Dilys Grindley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quaint
We stayed in Easington guest house for the MotoGP and they couldn't have been any friendlier! We arrived to a warm welcome and felt at home as soon as we got there. The room was cosy and the bed was amazingly comfortable! We had 3 brilliant nights sleep followed by a tasty breakfast each day! Loved it, we would stay there again in a heart beat!

Reviewed by
Anika W

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So glad we choose this hotel
Had a very pleasant stay. Couldn't fault the room, staff or quality of food. The landlady Debbie is very friendly and made us very welcome. WIll definitely return!

Reviewed by
Carol C

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome, but.....
The hotel is conveniently located for Banbury town centre. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. The staff present when we arrived gave us a very warm welcome and were extremely helpful with organising a parking space for us. Thereafter, we were disappointed. While the hotel grounds and public rooms were well-maintained, pleasant and comfortable, our bedroom (6) was in need of some urgent TLC. The decor and furnishings were "tired". The bedcover/duvet was "exhausted", as witnessed by the padding that had broken out down one side. The breakfasts were average (we did not sample the evening fare). On our first visit to the dining room, we sat,completely ignored, for 15 minutes, while the waitress brought food for others and took away their used plates. A ""will be with you in a moment" acknowledgement wouldn't have gone amiss. We were eventually served after my wife went to the kitchen and queried whether we had to place our order there. The service was infinitely better on our second visit.

Reviewed by
A Morris

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next