No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Easington House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
50 Oxford Road, , , Banbury, OX16 9AN
Easington House is a charming centuries-old farmhouse on the edge of Banbury town centre therefore convenient for bars, pubs and restaurants and Castle Quay Shopping Centre. There is also a Farmers Market every month. It is believed to be one of the oldest buildings in Banbury and has such history behind it as reputedly being owned by George Washingtons nephew, The Bishop of Lincoln and the Reverend Risley Cotton We serve traditional English or Continental breakfast using where we can, local and British produce including English bacon, local sausages, free range eggs together with Oxford marmalade, English honey and preserves. Also croissants and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. We cater for vegetarians; please ask for details when making your booking. Our Afternoon Tea offers a selection of cakes, scones and sandwiches with choice of teas. Please see our website for the menu. We now have a licensed restaurant, open between 6.30-8.30pm, Monday to Saturday. Well located just off Junction 11 of the M40, therefore convenient for the Cotswolds including Moreton in Marsh, Bourton on the Water, Stow on the Wold and Burford. Also Oxford, Woodstock, Silverstone Racing Circuit, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Stratford upon Avon, Warwick Castle, Broughton Castle, Sulgrave Manor and Heritage Motor Museum. There is a great offer for guests at the Easington for a spa break where you receive a 10% discount at Bannatynes Leisure Centre close by. Our rooms are confortable and individually furnished and decorated all en suite offering free WiFi, digital TVs, hospitality tray, telephones, hairdryers with quality toiletries (Forever Living Products). There is a lovely Four Poster Room which is perfect for a wedding night or a romantic weekend away. This has a King Sized Four Poster Bed and traditional "Clawed Slipper Bath". Also there are great discounted rates for guests staying 2 and 3 nights or more.
Picture of Easington House, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be so much better
Beautiful house from the outside, very welcoming and helpful staff Room a bit dated and would have benefited from some refurbishment. Evening meal was appalling and so we ate out after the first night. Breakfast good. Convenient for Silverstone and a reasonable price.
The hotel took the whole payment for the booking 4 months in advance of our arrival.

Reviewed by
Gill C

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for basic accomodation, if you plan to use it as a base only
The website was misleading, we expected to find a hotel with grounds that we could enjoy & sit out in. The photo's are unrecognisable and must have been taken some time ago. It is actually very close to a main road and there were patio tables with only small areas of lawn around the house. My room was at the front of the hotel, which was extremely close to the noisy main road, and I had trouble sleeping. Added to that people were running around and slamming doors from 7.00am and they were strimming the lawn immediately outside my window at 8.30am. Two nights in the bed and my back was really suffering. There were no nets at the window so pedestrians on the opposite pavement could look straight in my room and I had to shut the curtains and put on the light when I wanted to dress. The en suite was so tiny, I had to leave the door open when I used it to stop feeling claustrophobic, which again meant that I had to to close the curtains and put on the light each time I used it. The website gave the impression that all rooms had a bath and shower, but I only had a tiny shower, that you could barely move in. This was also a complaint of my travelling companions who like me, had hoped to have a relaxing bath after a long journey. The breakfast was lovely, but the service wasn't great, for example we got toast without butter, so we asked for it twice. The third time I asked, we got the butter but the toast was stone cold. I do appreciate that the hotel was full, but if they can't cope, they should reduce the numbers that they cater for. I did notice that other people were also complaining about similar things. I was traveling in a group and my friends who were couples were asked if everything was ok, and they had their complaints dealt with, I was ignored and didn't feel able to initiate a complaint conversation again. Between my friends and I we were missing biscuits from the hospitality tray each of the two days. The day we arrived we hadn't eaten for 14 hours when we got there, and we were relying on having biscuits before we went to bed but we had to starve. The room itself was clean apart from some stains on the coverlet. I was pretty disappointed overall. The staff themselves were friendly, but maybe should be aware that when they are talking about us in the kitchen we can hear them, as we're sitting in the lounge!

Reviewed by
J Mason

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse than a home for the elderly
Friendly greeting and the grounds were very nice but the room was small, low beams and slanted walls, only 1 small window, , the dinner was disgusting, I had rump steak and was overlooked and very bland, I should have known as on the sign outside was a chef required sign , wish we had eaten out, poor food, poor value but friendly staff.
No bar , restaraunt only open from 6.30 till 7.45 , breakfast was ok but wouldn't stay there again let alone eat there, sadly the food made McDonald's look and taste good

Reviewed by
Steve Madden

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot fault this lovely establishment
The reception we received was warm even though we arrived late in the evening. The room was very comfortable supplying all the facilities required from a superior guest house. The gardens are well kept and delightful. The breakfast was excellent. I have to admit that the stay was due to an early hospital visit which is within easy walking distance but this is an ideal base for some of the loveliest countryside in the country.

Reviewed by
C White

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Great stay. Lovely accommodation, welcoming and friendly.

Reviewed by
kate l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second Visit
Our "Double Room" should have been a single. Room 3 had about 9 inches between bed and wall on one side and was not very comfortable. Requested an hour extension in room as we were going to a midday funeral and were told this was not possible, all rooms to be vacated by 10am. Were offered a chance to sit in the hallway if we wanted, which we declined. We were really disappointed with our stay there as we had had a much better experience on our last visit 2 years ago.
Will not be staying there again.

Reviewed by
B Tarr

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief but very pleasant stay. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Bob S

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Banbury weekend
Fantastic stay staff were very friendly, food was good but was even better when chef came back of holiday. we will be going back again,

Reviewed by
william brindley

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindly service and a bargain price
very accommodating, and friendly especially when I booked this at the last minute.
Well decorated rooms, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
P Davis

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting relatives in Banbury
The Easington was very comfortable and the room had everything one could need, although they were at pains to tell you by way of little notes that anything taken from the room, such as toiletries and water bottles would be charged.

Reviewed by
M Owen

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next