No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Moorings Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
97 Hitchen Hatch Lane , Sevenoaks, TN13 3BE
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE OCT 2009

A warm welcome awaits you at this friendly, family-run hotel near Sevenoaks station, where a 30-minute train journey can take you to London’s West End.

Sarah and Rose are the managers of this friendly hotel, offering accommodation for tourists and business travellers at highly competitive rates. Their aim is to provide a friendly, personal service to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Benefit from easy access to the city whilst enjoying a rural environment as a base.

Visit the pleasant market town of Sevenoaks, and Knole House with its extensive deer park. Other places of historical interest include Chartwell, Hever Castle, Leeds Castle and Penshurst. If you like the countryside, Sevenoaks is situated in arguably the prettiest part of Kent and offers splendid drives and walks.

All major credit cards are accepted and all bedrooms are en suite and non-smoking.
Picture of The Moorings Hotel, Sevenoaks at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked two double rooms for a friend and I,when my friend arrived before me he was put in a twin room which I was expected to share.
We were charged different amounts of money for parking and breakfast!!!

Reviewed by
Adrian H

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpet was filthy, shower was filthy, loose cables hanging and room had a very damp smell.

Reviewed by
Alex G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The manager was very friendly and polite, however the dining room staff were just 'doing their job' and we felt rather rushed at breakfast. The bedroom carpets were in need of a spring clean!

Reviewed by
Ruth J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for ...
.... not always true but it is most of the time. This hotel was cheaper than most in the area I wanted to stay. As I was only staying one night I wasn't too bother about a luxury experience. Good job really, If you're on a tight budget and won't spend much time in the accommodation book it, otherwise think twice. For me the room was dowdy and smelt of damp. The lady serving breakfast in the morning barely spoke to me and I was made to get my own sauce and cutlery. Little things I know but normally these are on the table or you're asked if you need them. The other positive, in addition to the price, was the chap on reception. He was nice enough but didn't compensate for stained carpets in the corridors and the £3 parking charge on their own land! Sorry, just being honest. To summarise the hotel is adequate for those on a restricted budget in my opinion.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scruff
I arrived at the hotel about 20.00pm after a hard days work, to be asked for an extra £3 to park in hotel car park, £5 for internet access and extra £5 for breakfast. Manager showed me to my double room I had booked to find that the previous guest had left in there, Clothes, Toiletries, paperwork, food, drink and even money. This made me question of the room had been cleaned, the manager was embarrassed by this and offered to move me to another room after offering me free WIFI and a free breakfast for my inconvenience. My new single room was hot and stuffy, I couldn't turn the radiator off as the valves were both broken off so I lifted the window blind to find the frame covered in mould. The shower had a plastic shower tray and was cracked, which I kept scratching my toes on and once finished the shower wouldn't turn off, I had to walk out of the bathroom, wet, and turn off the electrical switch to stop it from running. There were other hotel guests outside my window talking and smoking till 23.30pm. The next morning I decided to miss the free breakfast after seeing the chef with cigarette in his mouth. Upon check out the manager had the cheek to still charge me for the double room even though the single room was £10 cheaper, when I questioned this he replied that I had made the reservation and I couldn't change the booking, although he had moved me, plus the WIFI never worked so I couldn't do my paperwork.
I am raising this issue with late rooms and will not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Regan

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Given what I paid (£55 plus £5 for breakfast and £3 for parking) this was great value for money, good basic service in central Sevenoaks and cheaper than most B&Bs in the area

Reviewed by
Tim L

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is this really a hotel?
We were met by a very nice lady of Far Eastern origin who showed us to our room. The Asian gentleman on duty in the evening was equally nice and turned on the TV in the lounge for the football and served us with a couple of beers. The room was one of the chalet rooms out the back. The room was okay but the bathroom was very 'tired'. Lots of damp damage and no extractor fan. This place also has some strange guests. A group of young men were stood around the back smoking most of the time. Are they residents or staff? During the night we heard two couples arguing outside then the slamming of doors. This was followed by screams and crying in rooms either side of us. Breakfast was an experience. Service was fine although the guy who served us looked strange in shorts and 'hoody'. Food came really quickly which was reflected in the cold yokes in the eggs and frozen mushrooms which were still solid in the middle. The two old gents at other tables looked like tramps. We left rather quickly. My guess is that some of the guests are social security residents and the place is used by young couples needing a cheap room for the night. Should this place really be on Late Rooms as a hotel? I do not think so! Sorry but we would definitely not stay again.

Reviewed by
Edwin H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap accommodation
Parking charges extra £3 per day . Breakfast was shown as included when booking, however, was £5 per person extra on arrival. Clean linen but rooms need an overhaul and furniture could do with replacing and very basic. Shower over bath very poor flow and difficult to adjust temperature. Handle fell off tap whilst using. TV did not work.

Reviewed by
S Moss

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

character
this is not des res, but the owner is a great character and the top flat was a Rigsby throw-back in all the right ways

Reviewed by
nigel e

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Alexandra Mesaros

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next