The Moorings Hotel

3

97 Hitchen Hatch Lane, Sevenoaks, TN13 3BE

Price From 124.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (29)

28% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Inman

  • April 2015

Unless it's your only option

I'm going to keep this short, unless this is the only place you have to stay don't stay here, worst experience of my life and I stay in approx 40 hotels a year and this by far one of the worst.

  • C JONES

  • December 2014

Read the reviews

For some reason, I didn't read the reviews on this one - I should have.

I'm not very demanding but I won't be going back here. The hotel initially appears very worn and a little grubby,so it's a pleasant surprise when you get in the room and it's well presented and clean. Very basic but perfectly ok for a 1 night stay. Breakfast was a disappointment being cold apart from the eggs which were obviously cooked to order. I never got any tea or toast - I know that I could have requested it but the quality of the food that I did get didn't inspire me. It was almost like they didn't want you to go back. A little like a double glazing salesman - take the money and run. Not that I'd buy double glazing from them either - the (large) window in my room wouldn't close. Apart from safety issues, it also resulted in the draught of a December night breeze all night. I didn't mind that too much, it was the frequent waft of cigarette smoke that it brought that I struggled with. Avoid.

  • N Scott

  • November 2014

The Moorings Hotel

Pleasant, clean and warm room (upgraded from single to double room free of charge).

Had an initial issue with toilet cistern which was fixed within 15 minutes of reporting it. Very enjoyable breakfast using good quality produce. The only piece of constructive criticism I can offer is that the shower cubicle could do with some attention regarding a small amount of black mould on the shower door frame. Other than that, I had a good night sleep prior to a job interview.

  • ann s

  • November 2014

friendly place

staff was good and helpfully at all times,would stay again .

  • Duncan P

  • October 2014

Hotel stuck in the 1990s!

A really disappointing hotel stuck in the 1990s.

The room was outdated and unpleasant to stay in. (Although the shower did have excellent power for a top floor shower!). They didn't have my booking so charged me an extra £15 to allow me to stay and the man at the desk was extremely unhelpful in resolving the issue. Next time I will be booking a slightly more expensive hotel if necessary. This was not what I expected for almost £70 per night.

  • Sharon P

  • October 2014

The worst night's sleep

Positives: - polite lady in dining room - room slept four, larger than the double we'd booked - tea making facilities in the room Negatives: - the gentleman on reception was miserable and moody - kitchen staff didn't speak English so couldn't explain dietary requirements - room very tired - room was cold, no heating except for electric heater - motion sensor security light came on as people returned late at night.

No curtains at all windows so kept getting woken up by the bright light

- no sound proofing, big house rather than purpose built hotel. Unfortunately the noise from other rooms and the hallway travelled.

- no shower gel in room

The list goes on, but the upshot is it was the worst hotel stay I've experienced in a long time.

  • G Michie

  • October 2014

Convenient & comfortable

Although I only stayed for one night this was a pleasant stay.

The hotel is convenient for major roads and right next to the train station and there's plenty of car parking space. The trains are frequent and only takes 30mins to London Bridge, Waterloo East and Charing X. The owner/manager was very pleasant and quite a character. The room was clean, comfortable and there was tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom could do with being updated.

  • Joanna C

  • September 2014

Cheap but not Cheerful

Cheapest hotel about but not very Cheerful

  • amanda g

  • August 2014

WORST PLACE EVER.....DATED....DIRTY.......TIRED

Hotel Staff, slow unhappy and unwelcoming.

Stayed in room 8 out the back of the building. Water leaking from the over spill outside the room, splashing onto the wall, floor and guests as they walked by. On entering the room in complete darkness, no accessable light switch. Had to work your way across the room to find switch low down between the beds on a 3 way gang switch. Broken-roller blind mechanism, so could not close without pulling from the centre, which meant this could not be retracted in the morning, Window-metal bar inside frame work bent up, so could not close. Bathroom, Plenty of wild life in the form of spiders, counted 4 webs in bathroom alone. Radiator, rusty, bath panel, paint coming off and not fitted. Shower,too hot could not adjust setting, cold tap broken on bath(styling = 4 prongs, one prong broken off). Sockets not easily accessible in bedroom had move bed away from wall as could not move the desk (could of done with a good vacuum). Bed double, very uncomfortable, lumpy, soft mattress. Room smelly. The linen was clean, used one towel to cover chair when sitting in front of the mirror!!. We did opt for breakfast, wish I had not bothered. Tables slow to be cleared, not enough seating, felt like you were on top of each other. No saucers for the cups, Breakfast cereal kept in containers that looked dirty, One member of staff came out of the kitchen in her anorak/coat, flies down on her trousers and flip flops on her feet... did not want to order a breakfast, based on seeing the appearance of the staff. What was the kitchen like, goodness only knows. All this cost £90 for room, £5 each for breakfast, we only had a machine coffee and slice of toast (good rate for the hotel owners). On top of this there was a charge for parking. The hotel is very dated tired and a miss-match of furniture and styles......Looked so promising from the picture,

  • Leigh B

  • July 2014

Just Awful.

I recently stayed at the moorings hotel, seven oaks.

once booked the hotel manager first rang up demanding an extra £35 on top of £64.99 that was advertised on later rooms.com because it was a weekend not a weekday, once that was sort he then said I would have to have a smaller room because of this. On arriving the hotel manager said I could only pay by cash, I thought it was a little odd but didn't think anything of it as the policy on late rooms read that the payment was sorted between myself and the hotel not via late rooms. myself and my partner paid half when we arrived and then paid the outstanding balance when we left in the morning. waking up on monday morning and checking my account balance the hotel (The moorings) have debited my account with another £64.99 after I had already paid them in full by cash. The hotel claims to have debited and credited my account on the same day we checked in of 64.99. which is a little strange as we had already paid the amount in cash. I am still awaiting a refund.

Now onto the hotel itself the entrance seemed pleasant enough, once checked in we were shown our room, it was down a dingy hall way and the hall way carpet was filthy and stained. On Entering the room, the smell was an awful dampness/dog and the carpet was again filthy. myself and my partner had to go out and by some febreeze for the room as the smell was that bad. The room was extremely tiny especially as there was two of us stopping. The bathroom was ok, but we were only given one towel for two people. When I went out to check for a staff member for an extra towel, I wasn't able to find anyone. Sleeping wasn't the comfiest, the bed sheets felt damp but I was too tired from the travelling to care at this point. If I had known the state of the room before arriving I would of changed hotels but it was took late in the evening. Its embarrassing to think that someone thinks its acceptable for people to sleep here especially when they are asking for nearly £70 + a night. I definitely won't be stopping here again and believe that Late rooms should re check their policy about paying for a hotel, they should take the money themselves to avoid this situation happening to anyone in the future. I just hope my refund will come through soon as I am now £129.98 down