Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Hotels > Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
58 Bridge Road Oulton Broad, Lowestoft, NR32 3 LR
Winelodge Hotel Suites are stylish, Modern Apartments in Lowestoft (Oulton Broad). Enjoy stylish, fully equipped kitchens and Flat Screen TVs.

In the Oulton Broad area of Lowestoft, Winelodge Hotel Suites have Standard Hotel Style Rooms and also Serviced Apartments with designer fitted kitchens, spacious living/dining areas, power showers and some terraces/balconies.

Winelodge Accommodation offer adjustable central heating, some with cinema surround-sound systems, DVD players
and iPod docking stations.

Contemporary Wine Bar & Restaurant offers a fantastic social evening with great value food.

Parking for 55 Cars on site

Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments in Lowestoft has 40 rooms.
Picture of Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments, Lowestoft at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break away
It was the massive discount we stumbled upon that made us book a stay at the Winelodge. It was only after completing the booking I read some less than positive comments. I was then concerned about the places we had booked to stay. On arriving we were greeted by Emma who was helpful and assisted us with the check in and we even managed to get an upgrade to an en-suite room (our previous room would have had a shared bathroom). The room itself was clean, in need of a little TLC in places and obviously had been decorated recently as there were paint marks in cupboards. We had a lovely 1 bed apartment with kitchen/ lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Kitchen could benefit from some more cooking dishes etc and maybe some more glasses too, although equipped for two we were washing up a lot for drinks and plates. And there were not baking trays, just a grill tray or dishes to do a pasta bake etc. On the whole it served us well just a couple of pointers. Lounge area was comfortable, and clean, tv, and plenty of plug sockets throughout which was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom was functional and had a good shower- not one where you run round trying to find some water. The bedroom was also comfortable, the bed not a standard double (a little smaller) was comfortable and linen was clean. On that note nice size towels also provided, not a silly little cloth to protect your modesty, again a big tick from me!! Lots of storage in the bedroom, and again plea nth of plug sockets too. Our one complaint about the room would be that the blinds are next to useless, we were both awake at about 5:15 both mornings and struggled to get a few more hours due to the light coming through. We improvised on night two by pegging a towel up on the blind to offer some darkness, we managed to sleep till 6 that morning! Black out blinds would be a massive improvement and would have made our stay more comfortable. We both appreciate it was very warm when we stayed, but that also could be looked in to as well. Maybe a fan or something? All in all a nice hotel, brilliant location and I'm pleased we had a view out the back and not on to the main road, even though we didn't spend long they. Our general consensus was that it was worth what we paid but not worth what we should have paid before we found the deal. We'd stay again if we had a similar deal on the room.

Reviewed by
Jenny C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I won't be staying here again.
The pictures on the website give a very different view to what you actually receive. The pictures make the hotel look professional, sleek, clean. However our stay did not match up with that.
On arrival a note at reception told us to go to the bar to book in, the smell and stickiness of the floors was like that of a club the morning after.
The room itself was simple and relatively clean. But the shared bathroom and thin walls left something to be desired.
The main failing of the hotels website was the lack of information that would inform you that it has a club attached to the building and the constant loud music and drunken people would keep you awake until 2am at the earliest. Worse still was that the hotel turned into a seedy attachment of the club as drunken revellers made their way upstairs to a room and began to engage in some drunken bedroom related activity. Maybe not a problem if the walls were not so thin.
We had no contact with staff whatsoever other than the booking in at the bar.
Please do not be fooled and taken in by the "professional" look that the website gives. Your experience will not even get close to that portrayal. Needless to say I will not be staying here again.

Reviewed by
J Durrant

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winelodge Standard Room with shared bathroom
We arrived at 1pm and were able to check in straighaway (check in time usually 3pm). Room was nice, basic, but better than other hotels in this price bracket. Bathroom is a separate room and shared with 2 other rooms (so 6 people/ bathroom in total when full occupancy). Despite this, we never had to wait to use the bathroom because of another guest. The hotel had free parking available at the entrance, and it was never difficult to find a space. The location is near a semi-busy road which is noisy at times, but fine as long as you keep the window shut. We kept the window open a fair amount as it did get a little stuffy in the room, and I'm never sure how to work hotel thermostats. As a result, our nights sleep could have been a little better, but I could see myself having a better nights sleep there in different weather conditions (it happened to be very stormy and windy on our visit). The food in the winelodge bar downstairs was excellent and very good value for money. It is similar to a wetherspoons in that you can get beer and a burger deals, as well as many other offers each day of the week (eg tuesday curry night). There are also many other great places to eat in the area such as the tides restaurant near nicholas everitt park. There is a cashpoint and a conviniece store within 20m if needed. Overall fantastic value for money, and would definitely stay here again (hopefully with better weather!).

Reviewed by
T Haworth

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful Recption Desk, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was a good size.
The corridors were dark, the restaurant was not open at breakfast.

Reviewed by
sallie M

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with out stay, hotel was lovely and would recommended and stay again.

Reviewed by
B Martin

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay July 2014
We sat on the bed and noticed a big dip. We took the mattress off and noticed the poor quality duvan was broken on one half causing the dip so we had to change it around so the dip was at the bottom so we couldn't feel it. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress; there was rubbish on the floor, tea/coffee stains up the walls; one of the mugs was disgustingly filthy inside. No spoons for making tea/coffee. For one night we made do, but we contemplated asking to be moved. If we had paid any more than £29 or were staying for longer, we would have definitely asked to be moved.

Reviewed by
lyanne m

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

large apartment above a night club = nightmare
Stayed one Saturday night but was not told it was attached to a nightclub with thumping music on till 2 in the morning. Could not sleep whole apartment shock from base of music. Was total mental cruelty until it stopped at 2 am. Was not told about music going to be so loud. Should be a law against it thank god I had no children with me.

Reviewed by
Carole C

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for Groups
Stayed here for 2 nights while we went out partying in Lowestoft. The night club was closed when we got back so we had no issues with that.
Food in the club was ok and a good price. The breakfast down the road (1 minute walk) was very very good.
My room was large, basic but clean, small TV. Walls were thin and the shared bath room was adequate.
Not the sort of place I would go with the family but ok for a weekend away with mates

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winelodge
Was a lovely place, views were ace and food was amazing. I've just got 1 little niggle about our stay, the bed and kitchen area were fine but the television was about 10 inches big and could only be seen if you were ridiculously close to it and there wasn't anywhere for me and my partner to sit together (sounds silly but if we're watching television/a movie together I like to sit next to him, not on the other side of the room) there were 2 dining room chairs and 1 living room chair. in the end we ended up moving the bed into the middle of the room and the same with the tele.
I probably would stay here again but at a request of a bigger tele and preferably a double settee as you can see on their website.

Reviewed by
R Fryer

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
On arrival, no-one on reception, just a note instructing us to check-in at the bar. Noisy and unwelcoming, a member of bar staff checked us in. On entering the hotel, it was smelly and unpleasant. The room also had an awful smell (combination of vomit and cheap air freshener) and a smoke alarm that intermittently beeped loudly all night. Not that sleep was very likely, as the disco / nightclub below our window, with drunken foul-mouthed people kept us awake until after 3.30am. Our room was supposed to be an 'executive suite' - I failed to experience anything executive about it - even the view was of a rubbish strewn car park and eye-sore machinery units. I would never stay here again and had no adequate response to my complaints from two members of staff. My husband was so disgusted that he wanted to drive the 175 miles home rather than stay there.

Reviewed by
SAMANTHA D

From HULL, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next