Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Oulton Hotels > Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
58 Bridge Road Oulton Broad, Lowestoft, NR32 3 LR
Winelodge Hotel Suites are stylish, Modern Apartments in Lowestoft (Oulton Broad). Enjoy stylish, fully equipped kitchens and Flat Screen TVs.

In the Oulton Broad area of Lowestoft, Winelodge Hotel Suites have Standard Hotel Style Rooms and also Serviced Apartments with designer fitted kitchens, spacious living/dining areas, power showers and some terraces/balconies.

Winelodge Accommodation offer adjustable central heating, some with cinema surround-sound systems, DVD players
and iPod docking stations.

Contemporary Wine Bar & Restaurant offers a fantastic social evening with great value food.

Parking for 55 Cars on site

Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments in Lowestoft has 40 rooms.
Picture of Winelodge Hotel Suites & Apartments, Lowestoft at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 197 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing like the website
After viewing our first room (a cupboard) the very helpful staff member showed us a second room which was a little better but still very small, in the end the member of check in staff very kindly found us a free room with a kitchen and lounge area. One thing which really threw us was the hall ways in between the room, it took about 2 mins for the lights to turn on so more often than not we were walking around in the dark. The staff were fantastic but I have to say the winelodge website severely miss represents the standard double room!!!! it doesn't look anything like what we were offered originally! Sad to say I wouldn't stay with winelodge again ..... especially in Lowestoft.

Reviewed by
L Townsend

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but with a luxury look. The young men running the bar in the afternoon seemed very nervous and we're perhaps new to the job but willing to help all the same. The ladies working in the early evening were great and helped us book a taxi after we'd requested one ourselves to the wrong hotel! Overall the hotel is clean and convenient and served it's purpose for our quick overnight stay. The bar food is average but very good value, as we're the drinks. Breakfast is available at a cafe/bar a one minute walk down the road. Again very good value buffet at only £5.

Reviewed by
Matthew F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & Cheap But ...
Unlike many other reviewers we found the room clean. Though there were many other things we were less happy about.
The decor bland & weirdly appointed as if a teenage boy had been sent to IKEA with a small budget. Cheap black flatpack & leatherette. The bathroom was ok. Shower worked. Bed tolerably comfortable. Pillows a bit thin. But it was £50 for an 'Executive Suite' (2 rooms + bathroom). It was functional.
Our room 1101 was rear facing & furthest from the bar/club so we didn't hear the revellers.
However, we did have a man rummaging loudly in the bins under our window til 11pm.
We also had a broken gutter banging on the glass all night.
There was also a storm which set off the fire alarm at 5 am. Nobody's fault of course but this was when we discovered the hotel is unstaffed overnight. So all guests outside in the rain with no idea what was going on & nobody to ask. Eventually a guest called the fire brigade who turned up & switched it off.
There was no fire info or assembly point info anywhere & no sign of extinguishers.
There were still no staff when we checked out & we saw another guest making off with a duvet.
I really couldn't recommend this place unless you're likely to be out til 3am yourself & sleep isn't a priority for you.
The man that checked us in (in the bar) was nice enough though.

Reviewed by
Alison D

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs re thinking.
The shared bathroom was very inconvienant as the apartment next to it had the door left open all the time and the two males laid out facing the door. In the morning, they were in it all morning. It was free from about ten, it would be a major problem for people suffering from weak bladders. The bathroom floor was left covered in water. Lovely kitchen, but only one mug, a rota for cups of tea is not fun. My personal opinion would be half the kitchen and install at least a toilet. We also experienced a fire drill at 5 am, not the hotels fault, but sadly, the building isn't linked to the fire department and there were no staff on site or turned up to sort things out. It was left down to us, one of the other people staying phoned 999, not acceptable, there should be a port of call, a member of staff there at all times in case of emergencies.

Reviewed by
L Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break away
It was the massive discount we stumbled upon that made us book a stay at the Winelodge. It was only after completing the booking I read some less than positive comments. I was then concerned about the places we had booked to stay. On arriving we were greeted by Emma who was helpful and assisted us with the check in and we even managed to get an upgrade to an en-suite room (our previous room would have had a shared bathroom). The room itself was clean, in need of a little TLC in places and obviously had been decorated recently as there were paint marks in cupboards. We had a lovely 1 bed apartment with kitchen/ lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Kitchen could benefit from some more cooking dishes etc and maybe some more glasses too, although equipped for two we were washing up a lot for drinks and plates. And there were not baking trays, just a grill tray or dishes to do a pasta bake etc. On the whole it served us well just a couple of pointers. Lounge area was comfortable, and clean, tv, and plenty of plug sockets throughout which was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom was functional and had a good shower- not one where you run round trying to find some water. The bedroom was also comfortable, the bed not a standard double (a little smaller) was comfortable and linen was clean. On that note nice size towels also provided, not a silly little cloth to protect your modesty, again a big tick from me!! Lots of storage in the bedroom, and again plea nth of plug sockets too. Our one complaint about the room would be that the blinds are next to useless, we were both awake at about 5:15 both mornings and struggled to get a few more hours due to the light coming through. We improvised on night two by pegging a towel up on the blind to offer some darkness, we managed to sleep till 6 that morning! Black out blinds would be a massive improvement and would have made our stay more comfortable. We both appreciate it was very warm when we stayed, but that also could be looked in to as well. Maybe a fan or something? All in all a nice hotel, brilliant location and I'm pleased we had a view out the back and not on to the main road, even though we didn't spend long they. Our general consensus was that it was worth what we paid but not worth what we should have paid before we found the deal. We'd stay again if we had a similar deal on the room.

Reviewed by
Jenny C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I won't be staying here again.
The pictures on the website give a very different view to what you actually receive. The pictures make the hotel look professional, sleek, clean. However our stay did not match up with that.
On arrival a note at reception told us to go to the bar to book in, the smell and stickiness of the floors was like that of a club the morning after.
The room itself was simple and relatively clean. But the shared bathroom and thin walls left something to be desired.
The main failing of the hotels website was the lack of information that would inform you that it has a club attached to the building and the constant loud music and drunken people would keep you awake until 2am at the earliest. Worse still was that the hotel turned into a seedy attachment of the club as drunken revellers made their way upstairs to a room and began to engage in some drunken bedroom related activity. Maybe not a problem if the walls were not so thin.
We had no contact with staff whatsoever other than the booking in at the bar.
Please do not be fooled and taken in by the "professional" look that the website gives. Your experience will not even get close to that portrayal. Needless to say I will not be staying here again.

Reviewed by
J Durrant

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winelodge Standard Room with shared bathroom
We arrived at 1pm and were able to check in straighaway (check in time usually 3pm). Room was nice, basic, but better than other hotels in this price bracket. Bathroom is a separate room and shared with 2 other rooms (so 6 people/ bathroom in total when full occupancy). Despite this, we never had to wait to use the bathroom because of another guest. The hotel had free parking available at the entrance, and it was never difficult to find a space. The location is near a semi-busy road which is noisy at times, but fine as long as you keep the window shut. We kept the window open a fair amount as it did get a little stuffy in the room, and I'm never sure how to work hotel thermostats. As a result, our nights sleep could have been a little better, but I could see myself having a better nights sleep there in different weather conditions (it happened to be very stormy and windy on our visit). The food in the winelodge bar downstairs was excellent and very good value for money. It is similar to a wetherspoons in that you can get beer and a burger deals, as well as many other offers each day of the week (eg tuesday curry night). There are also many other great places to eat in the area such as the tides restaurant near nicholas everitt park. There is a cashpoint and a conviniece store within 20m if needed. Overall fantastic value for money, and would definitely stay here again (hopefully with better weather!).

Reviewed by
T Haworth

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful Recption Desk, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was a good size.
The corridors were dark, the restaurant was not open at breakfast.

Reviewed by
sallie M

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with out stay, hotel was lovely and would recommended and stay again.

Reviewed by
B Martin

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay July 2014
We sat on the bed and noticed a big dip. We took the mattress off and noticed the poor quality duvan was broken on one half causing the dip so we had to change it around so the dip was at the bottom so we couldn't feel it. There was no fitted sheet on the mattress; there was rubbish on the floor, tea/coffee stains up the walls; one of the mugs was disgustingly filthy inside. No spoons for making tea/coffee. For one night we made do, but we contemplated asking to be moved. If we had paid any more than £29 or were staying for longer, we would have definitely asked to be moved.

Reviewed by
lyanne m

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next